红宝石品质要素


Placeholder Alt Text
这颗产自缅甸、优质颜色、肉眼干净(无肉眼可见的内含物)、重 11.01 克拉的红宝石极为罕见,价值不菲。 - Jan Goodman 公司友情提供
红宝石可能比任何其他有色宝石的价格都高。  优质品质的红宝石每克拉的价格一直持续上涨,多次打破拍卖纪录。

对于品质更好的材料,色彩的细微差别会造成巨大的差价。 如果颜色顶级的红宝石不含肉眼可见的内含物,其价格上涨幅度更大。

随着尺寸的增加,每克拉红宝石的价格可显著增加,特别是对于优质红宝石。
 
颜色

未经处理和热处理的红宝石
这些未经处理和高温处理后的红宝石呈现出更深、更亮的红色。
颜色是影响红宝石价值最重要的因素。 最优质的红宝石呈现出纯正鲜艳的红色至弱紫红色。 随着颜色变得太橙或偏紫,红宝石的品质随之下降。 最优质的红宝石具有鲜艳的色度。

中至中深的色调最佳。 如果颜色太深,会降低宝石的亮度。 在另一个极端,如果颜色太浅,即使色度高,也会被认定为粉红色蓝宝石。

一些宝石经销商就红宝石和粉红色蓝宝石之间的边界这个话题争论不休。 从历史上看,红宝石这个词指深浅不一的红色,严格意义上也包括粉红色。 在诠释红宝石与粉红色蓝宝石时,也存在文化差异。 在某些宝石生产国如斯里兰卡,粉红色的也一向被认为红宝石,而在许多消费国则被归类为粉红色蓝宝石。

GIA 鉴定所采用比色石以判定刚玉应为红宝石、粉红色蓝宝石、紫色蓝宝石或橙色蓝宝石。 鉴定所比色石运用的原则是,占支配地位的色彩必须是红色才可以称为红宝石。 尽管如此,在宝石行业,对占支配地位的色彩的判别因个人感观不同而异。

鲜血是红宝石颜色的另​​一个象征。 人们常将红宝石比作“来自右心室的鲜血”或刚被宰杀的鸽子所流的前两滴鲜血。 历史上,术语“鸽血红”描述的是颜色呈现略带紫或粉红的红色、并且带有柔和闪亮的红色荧光的红宝石。

这些迷人字眼有它挑起遐想的功能,业内人士也常用此描述颜色。 但是,在实际叙述宝石颜色上,并不精确且可能会造成误解。

商业术语常与某些宝石产的特定颜色和品质有所关联。 可能代表产地典型品质或代表产地最好的宝石。

但单一产地肯定不会只出产颜色和品质完全相同的宝石。 事实上,描述性术语可能代表产地的一小部分宝石。 来自某一产地的宝石外观往往随时间不同而不断变化。因此当时出产的原料可能与该产地原有宝石的品质不相符。

新产地出产的红宝石可能与经典产地相似,也可能在外观上稍有不同,但同样美丽。 

净度

丝状物
矿物金红石中的交叉针状物为红宝石中常见的内含物,称为丝状物。 如果它们完整无损,则证明红宝石未经过高温处理。 但有可能经过低温热处理。
业内人士认为红宝石不可避免会含有内含物,因为没有内含物的红宝石绝无仅有。 红宝石的价值取决于内含物的可见程度。 红宝石有明显的内含物,或内含物降低了宝石亮度或透明度,则会显著降低其价值。
 
如果有大而明显的内内含物位于台面下方,则会大大降低宝石的透明度、亮光和价值。 内含物也可以影响红宝石的坚固性。 触及表面的明显断裂可能降低宝石的坚固性。

红宝石典型的净度特征是细的矿物内含物决定,称为针状物。 金红石交织的针状物,被称为丝状物。 针状物可短,可长而纤细,看上去好像紧密地交织在一起。

红宝石有时也含由其他矿物组成的针状物、小晶体、区域于指纹状内含物。

实际上,某些内含物可能对宝石的外观起到正面的影响。 金红石丝状物可散射光线,使某些原来太暗的刻面变亮。 也增添了色彩的柔和度,并将颜色更均匀地分布在整个红宝石冠部上。

当宝石切磨成弧形穹顶, 交叉的针状物会引起星光效应,称为星芒。

星光效果
宝石被切磨为凸圆面时,相交织的长形矿物内含物会产生星光效应。 - Hussain Rezayee,Rare Gems & Minerals 友情提供
切工

红宝石的各种切工
红宝石通常切磨成椭圆形和垫型。 - Edward Boehm 友情提供
市场上红宝石的切工和比例受许多因素的影响。 红宝石的晶体形状决定其是否适合特定的切割。 最常见的形状为扁平六边形,但一些产地的红宝石晶体有拉长形的柱状。

考虑到这些晶体的形状,红宝石最常切磨成采用明亮式切工的冠部,和梯式切磨的底部的椭圆形和垫形。

除此之外,还有圆形、三角形、祖母绿式切割、梨形和马眼形红宝石。 但这些形状的大颗高品质红宝石却非常罕见。

红宝石原石是非常珍贵,所以切磨师会充分利用,尽量保留原石重量。 人们会将扁平的红宝石原石切磨成很浅的成品宝石,造成光线由很浅的亭部漏出,造成不太美观的透视区域,称为漏窗。

多向色性 - 不同晶体方向外观会呈现不同的颜色。这是影响切磨的另一因素。 红色宝石晶体通常从某方向呈现红色至紫红色,另一方向呈现橙红色。 切割师将宝石桌面定向为垂直于晶体长度方向时,可最大程度减少橙色的成分。 即便如此,并不是每一次都允许切割师按获得最佳颜色的目标对宝石进行定向,因为这样做可能会损失太多的重量。

尺寸和重量

产自缅甸的红宝石
这些红宝石产自缅甸。 这颗刻面宝石重 11.55 克拉,宝石原石重 16.65 至 278.50 克拉。
重量超过 1 克拉且品质优质的红宝石是非常罕见的,而商用级品质的红宝石通常有各种尺寸可供选择。 对于红宝石,每克拉价格会随尺寸的增加而大幅上涨。

例如:一颗商用级品质、重 5 克拉的红宝石的每克拉售价可能是相同品质的 1 克拉红宝石的 2 倍(即总价的 10 倍)。而一颗优质品质、重 5 克拉的红宝石的每克拉售价为相同品质的 1 克拉红宝石的 5 倍(即总价的 25 倍)。
 
举这些例子的目的不是提供价格指导,而是想说明随着尺寸和品质的提高,每克拉价格的提升潜力。

Ruby Quality Factors


Placeholder Alt Text
Fine-color, large, and eye-clean (lacking visible inclusions) rubies like this 11.01carat (ct) stone from Myanmar (formerly known as Burma) are extremely rare and valuable. – Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA. Courtesy: Jan Goodman Co

Ruby can command the highest prices of any colored gemstone.  The per-carat prices of fine-quality rubies have been rising consistently, many times breaking auction records.

For better-quality material, slight differences in color can make significant differences in value. For top-color ruby that’s also free of eye-visible inclusions, the price rises even more.

The per-carat price of ruby can also increase dramatically as size increases, especially for better-quality stones.

The Color of Ruby


Untreated and Heat-treated Rubies
The mixture of these untreated and heat-treated rubies show a range of darker and brighter red colors. Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA. Courtesy: Tommy Wu, Shire Trading Ltd., Hong Kong

Color is the most significant factor affecting a ruby’s value. The finest ruby has a pure, vibrant red to slightly purplish red color. In most markets, pure red colors command the highest prices and ruby with overtones of orange and purple are less valued. The color must be neither too dark nor too light to be considered finest quality. If the color is too dark, it has a negative effect on the stone’s brightness. At the other extreme, if the color is too light, the stone may be considered to be a pink sapphire, even if color strength or intensity is high. That said, pink sapphires enjoy a following, at a far more competitive prices than rubies. Ultimately, the most desirable color of ruby is the one you prefer the most.

The Difference Between Pink Sapphire and Ruby

Some gem dealers debate the borderline between ruby and pink sapphire. Historically, the word ruby referred to shades of red, which technically included pink. There are also cultural differences in the interpretation of ruby versus pink sapphire. In some gem-producing nations such as Sri Lanka, pink colors were always considered ruby, while in many consuming countries it is classified as pink sapphire.

The GIA Laboratory uses a controlled set of comparison stones called masterstones to determine if corundum is ruby The laboratory grades its masterstones on the principle that red must be the dominant hue before a stone can be called a ruby. In the gem trade, though, pinpointing the dominant hue is subject to personal perception.

Burmese Pigeon Blood Ruby

Historically, the term “pigeon’s blood” described the red to slightly purplish or pinkish red color of rubies with a soft, glowing, red fluorescence.

Traditional descriptions like these are useful for evoking images and describing color among professionals. But they can be subject to misinterpretation when used to describe a ruby’s actual color.

Over time and years of experience trade terms can conjure up perceptions of certain colors and qualities that are associated with a stone’s source. However, the qualities might be typical of that source or they might represent the finest stones from that source.

A single source never yields gems that are all the same color and quality. In fact, the descriptive trade term might represent only a small, yet highly desired percentage of stones from that source. 

New sources can produce material very similar to rubies from classical localities or present a slightly different appearance, but remain just as beautiful. 

Ruby Clarity

Silk
Intersecting needles of the mineral rutile create a common ruby inclusion called silk. When they are intact, they prove the ruby was not heat-treated at very high temperatures. It’s still possible that lower-temperature heat treatment might have occurred. Photo: John I. Koivula, GIA.

People in the trade expect rubies to have at least some inclusions because inclusion-free rubies are practically nonexistent. Ruby value can depend on how visible the inclusions are. Obvious inclusions, or inclusions that reduce transparency or brightness, lower a ruby’s value dramatically.
 
If large and prominent inclusions are located under the table facet, they greatly diminish the transparency, brilliance, and value of the stone. Inclusions can also limit a ruby’s durability. Significant surface-reaching fractures can pose durability threats.

Typical ruby clarity characteristics include thin mineral inclusions called needles. When the mineral is rutile and needles are present in intersecting groups, it is called silk. Needles might be short or long and slender, and they might appear to be woven tightly together.

Ruby can also contain needles composed of other minerals, small crystals, zones of color variation, or inclusions that resemble fingerprints.

Some inclusions can actually contribute positively to a gem’s appearance. The presence of rutile silk causes light to scatter across facets that might otherwise be too dark. This adds softness to the color and spreads the color more evenly across the ruby’s crown.

Needles that intersect can also cause the star effect, called asterism, when the stone is cut with a curved upper surface, called a cabochon cut.


The Star Effect
Long mineral inclusions that intersect can create the star effect when stones are cut as cabochons. - Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA. Courtesy: Hussain Rezayee, Rare Gems & Minerals

Ruby Cut


Various Cuts of Rubies
Rubies are commonly cut into oval and cushion shapes. – Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA. Rough: Gift of William F. Larson. Cut stone: Courtesy: Edward Boehm.

Several factors affect the cut and proportion of rubies on the market. A ruby’s crystal shape dictates its suitability for certain cuts. The most common shape is a flat tabular hexagonal shape, but ruby crystals from some sources can be elongated.

To accommodate these crystal shapes, the most common shapes of fashioned rubies are ovals and cushions, with brilliant-cut crowns of kite-shaped and triangular facets, and step-cut pavilions with concentric rows of rectangular or square facets.

Round, triangular, emerald-cut, pear, and marquise rubies are also available. But these shapes are rare in larger sizes and higher qualities.

Ruby rough is very expensive, so many cutters try to conserve as much weight as possible. They might fashion flattened ruby rough into shallow stones, even though light escapes through flattened pavilions, causing an unattractive see-through area in the stone called a window.

Pleochroism—the appearance of different colors in different crystal directions—is another factor that influences cut. In ruby it typically appears as red to purplish red in one crystal direction and orangy red in the other. Cutters can minimize the orangy red color by orienting the table facet perpendicular to the long crystal direction. Even so, it’s not always possible to orient a ruby for ideal color return because the potential loss of weight would be too great.

Ruby Size and Weight

Rubies from Myanmar
These rubies were all mined in Myanmar (formerly known as Burma). The faceted stone weighs 11.55 carats and the rough stones weigh between 16.65 carats and 278.50 carats. Photo: Robert E. Kane/GIA.

Fine-quality rubies over one carat are very rare, but commercial-quality rubies are commonly available in a wide range of sizes. The price per carat goes up significantly for ruby as it increases in size.