亚历山大变石描述


Placeholder Alt Text
这颗 7.19 克拉的亚历山大变石利用切工突显了颜色变化的魅力。 在日光下宝石呈蓝绿色,而放到白炽灯下则变成了红紫色。
亚历山大变石具有变色龙般的特质,是一种稀有的金绿玉矿物。 在日光或荧光灯下它呈现为可爱的绿色,而在白炽灯下则呈褐色或紫红色。 这源于矿物吸收光的复杂过程。

亚历山大变石的戏剧性颜色变化有时被描述为“白天的祖母绿,夜晚的红宝石。”其他宝石也会因光源改变而发生颜色改变,但这种宝石的转换是如此惊人,这种现象通常被称为“亚历山大变石现象“

70.94 克拉亚历山大变石原石
即使是原石,70.94 克拉亚历山大变石的颜色变化也具有吸引力。
亚历山大变石也具备强烈的多向色性,从不同的方向看,它呈现出的颜色各不相同。 通常情况下,它的多向色呈现为三种颜色,即绿色,橙色,紫红色。 然而,亚历山大变石强烈的颜色变化并不是由其多向色性产生的,而是从它不同寻常的光吸收特性而来。

由于亚历山大变石十分稀有,而大尺寸的更为罕见,因此它是金绿玉家族中比较昂贵的宝石。 亚历山大变石和养殖珍珠及月光石一样,都是六月生日石。

Alexandrite Description

Color Change in Alexandrite
This 7.19-carat alexandrite was cut to feature its beautiful color change. When the light source changes from daylight to incandescent light, the gem’s color changes from bluish green to reddish purple.
Alexandrite, with its chameleon-like qualities, is a rare variety of the mineral chrysoberyl. Its color can be a lovely green in daylight or fluorescent light, changing to brownish or purplish red in the incandescent light from a lamp or candle flame. This is a result of the complex way the mineral absorbs light.

Alexandrite’s dramatic color change is sometimes described as “emerald by day, ruby by night.” Other gems also change color in response to a light-source change, but this gem’s transformation is so striking that the phenomenon itself is often called “the alexandrite effect.”

70.94-carat Alexandrite Rough
Even in its rough form, this 70.94-carat alexandrite shows attractive color change.
Alexandrite is also a strongly pleochroic gem, which means it can show different colors when viewed from different directions. Typically, its three pleochroic colors are green, orange, and purple-red. However, the striking color change doesn’t arise from the gem’s pleochroism, but rather from the mineral’s unusual light-absorbing properties.

Because of its scarcity, especially in larger sizes, alexandrite is a relatively expensive member of the chrysoberyl family. It shares its status as a June birthstone with cultured pearl and moonstone.

Learn More About Alexandrite

Why We Love Alexandrite
Explore alexandrite history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

Alexandrite's Color Change

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more