丹泉石描述


Placeholder Alt Text
丹泉石可能呈现浓郁而深邃的紫蓝色。
丹泉石是紫蓝色到蓝紫色的矿物黝帘石类别。世界上只有一个地区以商业规模开采丹泉石:坦桑尼亚(英文为 Tanzania)的 Merelani(梅勒拉尼)山,该宝石也因此而得名。

蓝色丹泉石晶体
20 世纪 60 年代,在坦桑尼亚首次发现这种蓝紫色晶体。没有人
能确定这种新晶体是什么。经过仔细的宝石学研究,确定
它们是一个透明黝帘石类别,这种宝石便是后来为人们所熟知的
丹泉石。- Jeff Scovil(杰夫·斯克维尔),由 Marcus Budil(马库斯·布帝尔)藏品友情提供
丹泉石的外观在很大程度上受到多向色性的影响,也就是在不同的晶体方向进行观察时宝石呈现出不同颜色的能力。发现丹泉石的多向色性之后不久,人们便在科学论文中记录了这一发现。1969 年,《American Mineralogist》(《美国矿物学家》) 杂志将宝石的多向色描述为“红紫色、深蓝色和黄绿色”。如今,大多数宝石都经过热处理,以消除或减少黄绿色或褐色多向色,增强蓝色和紫罗兰色。

最优质的丹泉石可以呈现出紫蓝色——类似于优质蓝宝石的颜色,或是以紫罗兰色为主的独特色调。一些宝石也可以呈现出偏紫的颜色,这取决于切磨师为成品宝石定向时如何选择。成品宝石被轻轻摆动和倾斜时,会呈现紫罗兰色和蓝色的多向色。这表示,每一颗丹泉石都是这些多向色的混合色。确切的正面颜色取决于各种因素:原石本来的颜色、尺寸、切磨师为成品宝石定向时选择的多向色,以及观察成型宝石时的光线。冷光(比如类似于日光的荧光)将会增强丹泉石的蓝色,而暖光(比如白炽光)令丹泉石呈现偏紫罗兰色到紫色的颜色。

与其他有色宝石一样,颜色鲜艳的丹泉石十分受欢迎。相较于颜色鲜艳且本身具备微妙吸引力的丹泉石,颜色较浅、色调柔和的丹泉石数量更多,价格也更便宜。

29.22 克拉丹泉石戒指
这颗 29.22 克拉的丹泉石为深紫蓝色,这种颜色有时被称为午夜蓝色。- 由 Tanzanite Foundation™(丹泉石基金会)友情提供

Tanzanite Description


Placeholder Alt Text
Tanzanite can have an intense and deep violetish blue color.
Tanzanite is the violet blue to blue violet variety of the mineral zoisite. It is mined commercially only in one area of the world: the Merelani Hills of Tanzania, which is where it gets its name.

Blue Tanzanite Crystals
When blue-to-violet crystals were first discovered in Tanzania in the 1960s, no one
was quite sure what the new crystals were. Careful gemological study determined
that they were a transparent variety of zoisite, and the gem came to be known as
tanzanite. - Jeff Scovil, courtesy Marcus Budil Collection
Tanzanite's appearance is influenced greatly by its pleochroism, which is the ability of a gemstone to show different colors when viewed in different crystal directions. Tanzanite's pleochroism was documented in scientific papers not long after its discovery. In 1969, American Mineralogist described the gem's pleochroic colors as `red-violet, deep blue, and yellow green.' Today, most gems are heat treated, which removes or reduces the yellow green or brownish pleochroic color, maximizing the blue and violet. 

Top-quality tanzanite can be violetish blue --similar to a fine sapphire color --or a unique, predominately violet hue all its own. Some stones might also appear more purplish depending on how the cutter chooses to orient the fashioned gem. Both the violet and blue pleochroic colors are readily visible in a fashioned stone when it is gently rocked and tilted. This means that every tanzanite is a blend of these pleochroic colors. The exact face-up color depends on the inherent color of the original rough, its size, the pleochroic colors the cutter favors when they orient the fashioned stone, and the light the finished gem is viewed  under. Cool lighting --like daylight equivalent fluorescent --will emphasize tanzanite's blue, while warm lighting --like incandescent --will make it appear more violet-to-purple. 

Just like other colored gemstones, vivid strongly-colored tanzanites are highly sought after. Lighter toned pastel hues are more plentiful and affordable than vivid colors and have a subtle appeal of their own.

29.22-carat Tanzanite Ring
This 29.22-carat tanzanite has a deep violetish blue color sometimes described as midnight blue. - Courtesy Tanzanite Foundation ™