堇青石描述


精优品质的堇青石颜色有时可与蓝宝石或丹泉石媲美。 – Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)
首次发现丹泉石时,宝石学家最初怀疑它可能是堇青石 — 一种数千年来为人所知的晶莹剔透、具有多向色性、呈紫蓝色的宝石。 今天,堇青石(cordierite,以地质学家 Pierre Cordier 命名)的商品名 iolite更加为人熟知,名字源于希腊语"ios",意为“紫罗兰”。

堇青石有很强的多向色性,要通过切磨呈现最佳颜色成为棘手的事。 对于希望将这种诱人又头痛的宝石作为实惠的蓝色宝石向零售商推广的生产商和买手,这一特性构成持续的挑战。

在熟练的切割师手中,可以完美地展现堇青石之美。
铝、铁、镁中所含的硅酸盐具备两个鲜明的特点:源于铁的淡蓝色色调而呈鲜艳的淡蓝色,以及肉眼显著可见的多向色性。 其多向色性颜色随着体色的变化而变化。 带紫罗兰色的堇青石呈现浅紫罗兰色、深紫罗兰色、黄-褐色的多向色性颜色。 偏蓝色的堇青石呈现无色至黄色、蓝-灰色及深紫罗兰色的多向色性颜色。 从某些角度来看,偏蓝色的堇青石实际上可以呈现完全无色或黄色,而偏紫罗兰色的堇青石可以呈现褐色。

堇青石通常进行刻面,也经常切磨成凸圆面。

成品堇青石从 1 克拉至 10 克拉不等。 超过 5 克拉的优质堇青石较为罕见。

堇青石在莫氏硬度表上的硬度为 7 至 7.5,但考虑到其具有一个明显的劈裂方向,因此韧度一般。 因此,当将堇青石镶在戒指或其他日常容易磨损的镶座中时,堇青石容易断裂。

与丹泉石不同,堇青石很少进行处理。 优质堇青石天然呈美丽的蓝色和紫罗兰色。 当客户考虑到大多数蓝色宝石(从价廉的蓝色托帕石到优质蓝宝石)常常需要进行处理,堇青石只需一般切磨、无需优化的特征无疑是一大卖点。


堇青石通常不经过处理,对某些消费者而言此特征富有吸引力。 - Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登), 由 Max Faulkner 友情提供
当然,并非所有堇青石均呈现绚丽的颜色。 某些宝石的外观呈灰色或接近无色。 假如行业内能够将这些次级堇青石处理成更佳更畅销的颜色,那么早就这样做了。 然而,堇青石的化学性质不允许这样做。 有趣的是,一些堇青石呈深蓝色的原因被认为与蓝宝石呈蓝色的原因相同(铁钛电荷转移)。 然而,与蓝宝石不同的是,堇青石不能通过热处理来增强其蓝色,因为它的熔点较低,不能承受刚玉通常承受的高温。

由于堇青石较硬,因此堇青石通常出现在冲积矿床中。 除了斯里兰卡的宝石砾石外,堇青石还出现在非洲的一些地区,包括肯尼亚和坦桑尼亚中部。 其他堇青石产地国包括印度、巴西和挪威。 1994 年在马达加斯加发现一处较大的堇青石矿床。

堇青石尚未像丹泉石在 20 世纪 70 年代和 80 年代那样戏剧性地赢得零售商青睐。 为何未被重视?专家认为,珠宝设计师和零售商尚未看到持续大量、统一优质的堇青石供应面世,因此在为其工坊和商店广泛选购材料时缺乏信心。

Iolite Description


Placeholder Alt Text
The color of fine-quality iolite can sometimes rival that of sapphire or tanzanite. – Robert Weldon
When tanzanite was first discovered, gemologists initially suspected it might be cordierite, a transparent, pleochroic, violet-blue gem known for thousands of years. Today, cordierite (named after geologist Pierre Cordier) is better known by its trade name, iolite, which comes from the Greek word “ios,” meaning “violet.”

Iolite’s strong pleochroism makes the gem tricky to cut for best color. This in turn continues to pose challenges to producers and buyers interested in promoting the attractive yet problematic gem to retailers as an affordable blue-gem alternative.

In the hands of a skilled cutter, iolite’s beauty can be revealed.
This silicate of aluminum, iron, and magnesium has two distinctive features—a beautiful, violetish blue through slightly violetish blue hue derived from iron and a striking, eye-visible pleochroism. Its pleochroic colors differ with its bodycolor. Iolites that appear violet display light violet, dark violet, and yellow-brown pleochroic colors. Bluish iolites display colorless to yellow, blue-gray, and dark violet pleochroic colors. From some angles, then, a bluish iolite can actually appear completely colorless or yellow, and a violetish iolite can look brown.

Iolites are usually cut as faceted gems, but they are also frequently cut into cabochons.

The size range for a fashioned iolite is anywhere from 1 to 10 carats. Fine iolites over 5 carats are rare.

Iolite falls at 7 to 7.5 on the Mohs hardness scale, but given that it has distinct cleavage in one direction, its toughness is only fair. This makes iolite vulnerable to breakage when set in a ring or other setting exposed to rough daily wear.

Unlike tanzanite, iolite is rarely treated. Fine iolite comes by its beautiful blues and violets naturally. Its freedom from enhancement other than normal cutting and polishing is a selling point when customers consider that most blue gems, from inexpensive blue topaz to fine sapphire, receive routine treatment of one type or another.


Iolite is not routinely treated, which is an attractive feature for some consumers. – Robert Weldon, courtesy Max Faulkner
Of course, not all iolite shows fine color. Some gems can look grayish or nearly colorless. If the trade were able to treat these less desirable iolites to produce a better, more salable color, it would. However, iolite’s chemistry won’t allow it. Interestingly, the deep blues of some iolites are thought to have the same cause (an iron-titanium charge transfer) as the blue in sapphire. Unlike sapphire, however, iolite can’t be heat-treated to intensify its blue color because its low melting point won’t tolerate the high temperatures to which corundum is routinely subjected.

Because iolite is fairly hard it’s often found in alluvial deposits. In addition to the gem gravels of Sri Lanka, iolite occurs in several areas of Africa, including Kenya and central Tanzania. Other iolite source countries include India, Brazil, and Norway. A significant iolite deposit was discovered in Madagascar in 1994.

Iolite has yet to catch on with retailers as dramatically as tanzanite did in the 1970s and 1980s. Why not? Experts believe that jewelry designers and retailers have yet to see a consistent enough supply of iolite in uniform fine quality to feel confident in ordering a broad and deep selection of the material for their workshops and stores.