丹泉石质量要素


Placeholder Alt Text
丹泉石是世界上最受欢迎的有色宝石之一。- 由 Tanzanite Foundation™(丹泉石基金会)友情提供
丹泉石是一种功能多样的宝石,也有多种尺寸和切工样式可选。尽管它是在 20 世纪 60 年代后期才被发现的,但它很快成为世界上首屈一指的宝石之一。

颜色
丹泉石是一种具有多向色性的宝石,这意味着,在不同的晶体方向观察时,可以呈现不同的颜色。在切磨宝石并镶嵌于珠宝之中时,这种性质成为决定消费者所看到颜色的关键因素。

蓝色丹泉石
丹泉石可能呈现出非常明亮、浓郁的蓝色。
非比寻常的丹泉石呈现浓郁的靛蓝色,并从宝石内部反射出多向色性的红色闪光。由于宝石具有强大的多向色性,成型的宝石通常会在各种不同色调中显现出蓝色和紫罗兰色的混合色。与大多数有色宝石一样,丹泉石颜色越淡,价格越实惠。

丹泉石晶体
在这个晶体方向,这颗丹泉石的紫罗兰色到紫色的多向色性颜色十分明显。- Jeff Scovil(杰夫·斯卡维尔)
未经处理的丹泉石通常呈褐色。市场上出售的大多数蓝色丹泉石都是经过热处理,才呈现出现有的颜色,这种热处理可以让宝石呈现出迷人的多向色性蓝色和紫罗兰色。马赛部落最初发现的蓝色晶体是一个例外,因为它们很可能接触到地球内部某个位置的天然热源。

业内专业人士认为,市场上的大多数丹泉石都经过某种方式的热处理,但这种处理对宝石的价格几乎没有影响。很多情况下,宝石鉴定所很难确定一颗丹泉石是否经过热处理。

净度
珠宝市场中的丹泉石大部分具有内含物,仅在放大镜下可见,因此,任何肉眼可见的内含物都会导致其价值降低。此外,内含物可能导致出现坚固性问题(如裂缝),因此大大降低了丹泉石的价值。

肉眼干净的刻面丹泉石
大多数用于制作珠宝首饰的刻面丹泉石都不含肉眼可见的内含物。- 由 Tanzanite Foundation™(丹泉石基金会)友情提供
猫眼丹泉石
丹泉石的内含物形成猫眼效果,十分罕见。
切工
切工对于呈现丹泉石的颜色起到重要的作用。因为它具有多向色性,从不同的晶体方向观看时,能够呈现不同的颜色——切磨方向决定了宝石正面的整体颜色。

赢得奖项的项链
这件屡获殊荣的珠宝饰有两颗背对镶嵌的三角形丹泉石。人们从合适的方向、以恰当的比例切磨宝石,让宝石最大程度地呈现出深邃的紫蓝色。- 由 Tanzanite Foundation™(丹泉石基金会)友情提供
切磨师在决定如何切磨丹泉石时,会考虑财务方面的现实状况。与其他宝石一样,重量损失就是利润损失。与呈现紫蓝色的切磨方式相比,以突显紫罗兰色到紫色的切磨方式来切磨丹泉石,通常可减少原石浪费。这就是正面为紫罗兰色到紫色的丹泉石比深蓝色丹泉石样本数量更多的原因。

9.62 克拉 丹泉石
丹泉石有时被切磨成设计师幻象式风格。- 由 Mark Schneider 友情提供
但是这种决定必须确保更精美的紫蓝色丹泉石能带来更高的单位克拉价格。从本质上来说,切磨师会在最高颜色的小颗宝石和紫色的大颗宝石之间做出选择。

克拉重量
丹泉石具有多种尺寸、形状和刻面设计。最优质宝石和最深色宝石的大小通常超过 5 克拉。较小的宝石往往色彩更淡。

37.07 克拉丹泉石
尺寸较大的丹泉石可用于制作珠宝。这是一颗 37.07 克拉的方形切工丹泉石 - 由 Robert Kane(罗伯特·凯恩,Fine Gems International)友情提供
丹泉石珠宝套装
这套丹泉石珠宝的总重量为 500 克拉。- 由 Intercolor 友情提供

Tanzanite Quality Factors

Tanzanite Ring
Tanzanite is one of the most popular colored gemstones in the world.- Courtesy Tanzanite Foundation ™
Tanzanite is a versatile gemstone that comes in a variety of sizes and cutting styles. Although once considered only as an alternative to sapphire, it has quickly established itself as one of the premier gemstones in the world.

In tanzanite, the most-prized color is a pure blue, similar to fine sapphire, or an intense violet-blue all its own. Tanzanite with a bluish purple bodycolor is also popular, but less valuable. In any shade, pale colors are less prized than saturated ones.

Blue Tanzanite
Tanzanite’s color can be a very bright, intense blue.
Tanzanite is a pleochroic gem, which means it can show different colors when viewed in different crystal directions. This makes cutting a crucial element in determining the color the consumer sees when the stone is cut and set in jewelry.

Tanzanite Crystal
In this crystal direction, this tanzanite’s purplish pleochroic color is evident. - Jeff Scovil
In some exceptional tanzanites, the color is predominately an intense violetish blue with red flashes of pleochroic color coming from within the stone.

Untreated, tanzanite is typically brownish. Most blue tanzanites for sale today owe their color to heat treatment, which is what reveals its attractive pleochroic blues and violets. The blue crystals originally discovered by Masai tribesmen were an exception because they’d probably been exposed to a natural heat source within the earth at some point.

Much of the tanzanite sold for jewelry has inclusions that can be seen only under magnification, so any eye-visible inclusions cause a drop in value.  Also, any inclusions that might pose durability problems, such as fractures, lower tanzanite value greatly.

Eye-clean Faceted Tanzanite
Most tanzanites cut as faceted gemstones for use in jewelry contain no inclusions that are visible to the eye. - Courtesy Tanzanite Foundation ™
Cat’s-eye Tanzanite
Rarely, tanzanite can contain inclusions that cause a cat’s-eye effect.
Cutting plays an important role in tanzanite’s color display. Because of its pleochroism—the ability to show different colors when viewed in different crystal directions—cutting direction determines the gem’s overall face-up color.

Award-winning Necklace
This award-winning jewelry piece features two triangular tanzanites set back to back.
The stones were cut with the proper orientation and proportions to allow maximum
enjoyment of their deep blue color. - Courtesy Tanzanite Foundation ™
Cutters consider financial realities when they decide how to cut tanzanite. As with other gems, weight lost is profit lost. Cutting a tanzanite to emphasize the bluish purple color usually wastes less rough than cutting it to get a pure blue or violetish blue color. That’s part of the reason face-up bluish purple tanzanites are more plentiful than pure blue specimens.

9.62-ct. Tanzanite
Tanzanite is sometimes cut in designer fantasy styles. - Courtesy Mark Schneider
But this decision must be balanced against the higher per-carat price that the finer blue or violetish blue color might bring. The cutter essentially makes a choice between a smaller top-color gem and a larger bluish purple one.

Carat Weight
Tanzanite is available in a wide variety of sizes, shapes, and faceting designs. The finest and deepest colors are usually seen in sizes over 5 carats. Smaller stones are often less intense in color.

37.07-carat Tanzanite
Tanzanite can be found in large sizes for jewelry use. This is a square-cut 37.07-carat stone - Courtesy Robert Kane, Fine Gems International
Suite of Tanzanite Jewelry
This suite of tanzanite jewelry has a total weight of 500 carats. - Courtesy Intercolor

Learn More About Tanzanite

Why We Love
Explore tanzanite history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
Read More

Tanzanite Quality Factors

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Summer 2016 Edition
Learn more