丹泉石的历史与知识


Placeholder Alt Text
这颗 122.70 克拉的丹泉石收藏在史密森尼国家自然历史博物馆。- Chip Clark(奇普·克拉克),由史密森学会友情提供
丹泉石是有色宝石系相对较新的成员。随着最常见的丹泉石采矿热潮的发展,1967 年马赛部落成员在坦桑尼亚北部地区的 Merelani 偶然发现了一簇因泥土风化而突出的晶体,它们高度透明,呈现出鲜艳的紫蓝色。他提醒了名为 Manuel d’Souza 的当地寻宝人,其迅速登记了四项采矿权。

D’Souza 希望可以发现新的蓝宝石矿床。相反,该矿床含有世界上最新的宝石之一。

丹泉石戒指
虽然丹泉石是宝石行业的新成员,但却迅速成为最受欢迎的彩色宝石之一。- 由 Richard Krementz Gemstones 友情提供
在很短的时间内,还在同一个面积为 20 平方英里的区域内取得了 90 多项采矿权。没有人能够确定这种美丽的晶体是什么,但每个人都想争得采矿权,从而获得稳稳当当的收益。这种新宝石最终被称为丹泉石,而其知名度有时可以与三巨头相匹敌。

蒂芙尼公司认识到其作为国际畅销品的潜力,并达成了成为其主要分销商的协议。蒂芙尼以其原产国来命名该宝石,并于 1968 年对其展开大规模宣传。几乎在一夜之间,丹泉石就受到顶级珠宝设计师和其他宝石专业人士,以及对美丽且非凡的宝石有鉴赏能力的客户的热捧。

这种透明的蓝紫色宝石迅速流行起来,这与其鲜艳的颜色、高净度以及可以切磨成大颗宝石密切相关。

Tanzanite History and Lore

122.70-carat Tanzanite
This 122.70-carat tanzanite is in the collection of the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History. - Chip Clark, courtesy Smithsonian Institution
Tanzanite is relatively new to the colored stone galaxy. As the most common story of the tanzanite mining boom goes, in 1967 a Masai tribesman stumbled upon a cluster of highly transparent, intense blue crystals weathering out of the earth in Merelani, an area of northern Tanzania. He alerted a local fortune hunter named Manuel d’Souza, who quickly registered four mining claims.

D’Souza hoped that he’d been shown a new sapphire deposit. Instead, the deposit contained one of the newest of the world’s gems.

Tanzanite Ring
Although it’s a newcomer to the gemstone industry, tanzanite has quickly become one of the most popular colored gemstones. - Courtesy Richard Krementz Gemstones
Within a short time, 90 more claims appeared in the same 20-square-mile area. No one was quite sure what the beautiful crystals were, but everyone wanted to lay claim to the profits they were certain to produce. The new gem would eventually be known as tanzanite, and it would, at times, rival the Big 3 in popularity.

Tiffany & Company recognized its potential as an international seller and made a deal to become its main distributor. Tiffany named the gem after the country it came from, and promoted it with a big publicity campaign in 1968. Almost overnight, tanzanite was popular with leading jewelry designers and other gem professionals, as well as with customers who had an eye for beautiful and unusual gems.

The instant popularity of this transparent blue to violet to purple gem was tied to its vivid color, high clarity, and potential for large cut stones.

Learn More About Tanzanite

Why We Love
Explore tanzanite history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Fall 2016 Edition
Learn more