摄影技巧:展现宝石最完美的一面


Placeholder Alt Text
这枚赤柱石源自巴西米纳斯吉拉斯州,重 2.87 克拉。 此图(左)所示为直射光拍摄效果,未能完美地呈现此款透明宝石所蕴含的丰富多色性特质。 相反,采用直射光似乎令宝石更为暗淡,且在某些切面边缘产生了多个“热点”。 采用漫射光拍摄则更有利于呈现出赤柱石的多色性特质(右)。 摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA

相信所有人都会认同,拍摄宝石或珠宝时应考虑的首要因素便是曝光和对焦。 但如需进一步提升拍摄效果,还要注意另外两个方面:拍摄宝石或珠宝时的布光和定位。 做到第一点便可确保拍出成功的照片。 而如能到第二点,便可拍出颇有生趣的作品 - 甚至呈现出引人注目的摄影效果。

布光

  • 直射光最适合装饰材料的拍摄,偶尔也能在透明宝石中产生色散效果。 有时会采用直射光来呈现宝石的一些光学效应,如星光(一种星光效应)或猫晴光(一种猫眼效应)等。
  • 如需展现宝石的最佳色泽,应使用的漫射光而非直射光。 可在光源和宝石之间放置半透明白玻璃、塑料或布料来实现。
  • 利用直射光和漫射光相结合的方法,可为透明宝石增添一些闪光或色散效果,从而使拍摄作品更具吸引力,同时也能呈现出宝石的最佳色泽。
  • 拍摄高度抛光的金属时,发光面对拍摄而言具有一定的挑战性,尤其是在使用直射光拍摄时更是如此。 一般而言,漫射光能较好地展现金属柔和色调的层次感,并突出金属制品的设计工艺。
这款由蓝色拓帕石、满天星式切磨蓝宝石和钻石制成的戒指无论从哪个角度欣赏都极具美感。 鉴于人眼更欣赏对称结构,故选取“直入”式拍摄角度(左)。 但若选取更高、倾斜度更大的拍摄角度(右),则更能体现戒指中心的宝石,彰显出非比寻常的双戒圈设计,并为观众呈现更具整体感的视图。 摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA
定位
  • 宝石切割和设计以展示其最佳色泽为目的,这一点在垂直于宝石桌面俯视时得以体现。 若为凸圆面切割宝石(圆形、无切面、表面抛光的宝石),且带星光效应(光线射入宝石时产生六角星光),则最佳的布光方式是聚光于宝石中间的星形区域。 就雕刻材料而言,其拍摄角度的选择更为自由,不过即便如此,拍摄时仍应明确艺术家创作此作品的主要目的。 所以,拍摄前有必要与切割师或设计师进行交流。
  • 确定珠宝的拍摄角度时,必须考虑珠宝最为突出的特点:其核心是钻石还是有色宝石?是否能通过所选的拍摄角度及镜头与珠宝的相对位置观察到设计者的用心?
  • 拍摄角度也可被用作摄影的辅助工具:对于拍摄纪实风格的照片而言,“单刀直入式”的摄影手法有着重要意义。 但为俘获观者的想象力,可能需要将拍摄对象转动,或使拍摄角度倾斜,以达到令人印象深刻的拍摄效果。

GIA 卡尔斯巴德校区的摄影和视觉传播部经理 Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登),为本文的撰写提供了专业意见和知识。

Photography Tips: A Gem’s Best Face Forward

10/2/2015
This andalusite from Minas Gerais, Brazil weighs 2.87 ct. This image (left) shows direct lighting, which is not ideal for bringing out the transparent gemstone's rich pleochroic colors. Instead, the direct lighting seems to darken the stone and creates "hot spots" along some of the facets. Diffused lighting for the gem, helps bring out the andalusite's pleochroic colors (right). Photo by Robert Weldon/GIA

Everyone would agree that exposure and focus are the most critical aspects to consider when photographing gems or jewelry. But there are two other practices that take this kind of photography even further: lighting and positioning of the gem or jewel. The first component ensures a successful photograph. The second makes a picture interesting – or even compelling.

Lighting

  • Direct lighting works best for ornamental materials, and occasionally to provoke dispersion in a transparent gem. It is also sometimes used to bring out gemstone phenomena such as asterism (a star effect) or chatoyancy (a cat’s eye effect).
  • To exhibit a gemstone’s best color, lighting should be diffused rather than direct. This can be achieved by placing a translucent white glass, plastic, or cloth between the light source and the gem.
  • A mix of direct and diffused lighting can add drama to a photograph by adding some sparkle or dispersion to a transparent gem, while also bringing out its finest colors.
  • When photographing highly polished metal, the shiny surfaces can be challenging, especially with direct lighting. Diffused lighting often works well to exhibit soft tonal gradients in the metals, and highlight the designed metalwork.
This blue topaz, briolette sapphire, and diamond ring looks good in all directions. The human eye likes symmetry, so the "straight-on" look works (left). But a more elevated and angled view of the ring (right) shows more of the center stone, accentuates the unusual double-shank design, and gives the viewer a more holistic view of it. Photo by Robert Weldon/GIA
Positioning
  • Gemstones are cut and fashioned to show their best colors when looking straight down at them, perpendicular to the table of the gem. If the gems are cut as cabochons (a gem with a rounded, unfaceted, polished surface) and have asterism (a six-rayed star created when light hits inclusions in the gemstone), it is best to light them in a way that centers the star in the middle of the stone. With carved materials, there is much more latitude with the direction in which a piece can be photographed, but even there it is important to discern what the artist’s principal objective is. Talking to the cutter or designer is important.
  • When positioning jewelry, it is important to consider the jewel’s salient characteristics: is a diamond or a colored gemstone the centerpiece? Can you observe the designer’s intentions through the way you position the jewel, and the camera relative to it?
  • The camera angle may also be used as a tool: photographing “straight on” is important for documentary style photographs. To captivate a viewer’s imagination, the subject may be turned, or the camera angle skewed, to obtain dramatic results.
View Gallery

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Spring 2016 Edition
Learn more