钻石描述


Placeholder Alt Text
宝石级钻石由原石晶体形成,但它们拥有其他宝石无法匹敌的亮度、闪烁、火彩和纯净都组合。 — Jeff Scovil (Barker & Co.) 友情提供
钻石独特的化学组成和晶体结构使它成为矿物王国独一无二的成员。

钻石是唯一一种由单一元素(碳)构成的宝石:其中的碳含量高达 99.95%。 另外 0.05% 可能是一种或一种以上的微量元素,这些原子不属于钻石的基本化学结构。 一些微量元素可以影响它的颜色或晶体形状。

钻石的相似之处
无论是打磨的或是原石,无论形状如何,所有的钻石都具有相同的化学组成和内部晶体结构。
了解矿物的形成方式有助于确定其身份。 钻石只在地球表面之下特定深度(大约 100 英里)的高温和高压条件下形成。 钻石的晶体结构是等距的,这意味着无论在哪个方向,碳原子的键合结构一致。 另一种矿物,石墨,同样也仅含碳元素,但其形成过程和晶体结构却大不相同。 石墨十分柔软您可以用它写字,而钻石则十分坚硬,两块钻石相刻仅仅产生刮痕。

八面体钻石
宝石级钻石最常见的原石形状为八面体,它看起来像两个背靠背的金字塔。 近乎完美的形状和透明度的晶体被称为玻璃种宝石。
如果缺乏以上任何一个因素,钻石可能成为其他一种矿物质。 但幸运的是,化学组成、晶体结构和形成过程的完美组合为钻石赋予了独一无二的品质。

成色等级为 D 的钻石
这颗钻石的成色等级为 D,具有卓越的化学纯度。 — Lazare Kaplan 钻石公司友情提供
在几乎所有现代生日石列表中,钻石被公认为四月的生日石。 钻石也是象征着 60周年 和 75 周年结婚纪念日的宝石。

金刚光泽
钻石具有独一无二的光学和物理特性,因而其光泽是任何透明宝石所无法比拟的。 这就是人们所说的金刚光泽,来源希腊单词 Adamas,意思是钻石般的。 — 周大福珠宝有限公司友情提供

Diamond Description

Diamond
However gem quality diamonds are fashioned from the original crystal shape they possess a combination of brightness, sparkle, fire, and sense of purity not matched by other gems. - Jeff Scovil, courtesy Barker & Co.
Diamond’s characteristic chemical composition and crystal structure make it a unique member of the mineral kingdom.

Diamond is the only gem made of a single element: It is typically about 99.95 percent carbon. The other 0.05 percent can include one or more trace elements, which are atoms that aren’t part of the diamond’s essential chemistry. Some trace elements can influence its color or crystal shape.

Diamond Similarities
Whether fashioned or rough, and no matter what their shape, all diamonds have the same chemical composition and internal crystal structure.
The way a mineral forms helps determine its identity. Diamond forms under high temperature and pressure conditions that exist only within a specific depth range (about 100 miles) beneath the earth’s surface. Diamond’s crystal structure is isometric, which means the carbon atoms are bonded in essentially the same way in all directions. Another mineral, graphite, also contains only carbon, but its formation process and crystal structure are very different. The result is that graphite is so soft that you can write with it, while diamond is so hard that you can only scratch it with another diamond.

Octahedron Shaped Diamond
The most common shape for rough gem quality diamond is the octahedron, which looks like two pyramids back to back. Crystals that are almost perfect in shape and transparency are called glassies.
Without any one of these factors, diamond might be just another mineral. Fortunately, though, this special combination of chemical composition, crystal structure, and formation process gives diamonds the qualities that make them extraordinary.

D Color Grade Diamond
This diamond is a D color grade and has exceptional chemical purity. - Courtesy Lazare Kaplan Diamonds
On almost all modern birthstone lists, diamond is recognized today as the birthstone for April. Diamond is also the gem that marks the 60th and 75th wedding anniversaries.

Adamantine Luster
Diamond’s unique optical and physical properties give it the highest possible luster of any transparent gemstone. This is called adamantine luster after the Greek word Adamas meaning diamond-like. - Courtesy Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Co.

Learn More About Diamond

Why We Love
Explore diamond history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

Diamond Formation

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Spring 2016 Edition
Learn more