偏光器安全召回



GIA Illuminator Polariscope(照明器偏光器)翻新改进

产品安全召回 - 2008 年 8 月 28 日推出的产品

GIA 带照明装置的偏光器

Illuminator Polariscope(照明器偏光器);SKU:415000

GIA 了解到,曾有几个人报道在使用“415000 型 Illuminator Polariscope(照明器偏光器)”时有过短暂的静电般的触电感觉。无人受伤或受损,1995 年至 2007 年 7 月间共售出 8000 多台这一型号的偏光器,尚未发现这类情况。 然而,为了保护所有学生及客户,GIA 协同 美国消费者产品安全委员会,于 2008 年 8 月自愿开始实施立即召回方案并对这些仪器进行翻新改进。 虽然 GIA 认为再次出现此类电击情况的风险微乎其微,但研究院将其学生和客户的安全和保障放在第一位,因此采取了此项预防措施。

Illuminator Polariscope 415000 机型见上图。 这是一款白色偏光器,其电线上设有两个插脚。 通过 GIA 召回和翻新改进计划,我们将为偏光器增加一条地线,并返回给客户,不收取任何翻新改进费用或运费。

从 2008 年 8 月 28 日开始,GIA 向其学生和购买此款偏光器的客户寄送了产品安全召回函件。 函件随附为客户提供的三部分《回修授权》表,以供客户提供相关信息,并向客户提供寄送偏光器至 GIA 的详细信息。 《回修授权》编号将充当客户的偏光器识别码,以供追踪。

我们将竭力尽快将 Illuminator Polariscope(照明器偏光器)返还给您。

如果您拥有白色 Illuminator Polariscope(型号为 415000,于 1995 年至 2007 年 7 月间售出,配有两个插脚),但并未收到 GIA 的品安全召回函,请填写此表格。GIA 将会对此做出回复,并启动翻新改进流程。

对此给您带来任何不便,我们深感抱歉。 如果您有任何疑问,请通过以下方式联系 GIA:发送电子邮件至 gemteam@gia.edu 或拨打免费电话 800 421 8161 联系客户服务部(太平洋时间周一至周五上午 8 点至下午 4 点)。

感谢您的耐心等待以及对我们的关注。

Polariscope Safety Recall

GIA's Illuminator Polariscope Gets a Retrofit

PRODUCT SAFETY RECALL - Launched August 28, 2008

GIA Illuminator Polariscope

Illuminator Polariscope, SKU: 415000

GIA learned that several people had reported experiencing a brief, static-like shock sensation when using its "Illuminator Polariscope, Model 415000." No one was hurt or injured, and of the over 8,000 such Polariscopes sold between 1995 and July 2007, no other such instances have been reported. Nonetheless, to protect all its students and clients, GIA, in cooperation with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, voluntarily instituted an immediate recall and retrofit program for these instruments in August 2008. While GIA believes the risk of any such shock happening again is very remote, the Institute places the safety and security of its students and customers first, and therefore took this precautionary measure.

The Illuminator Polariscope 415000 model is pictured above. It is a white Polariscope, and will have two prongs on its electrical cord. Through the GIA recall and retrofit program, we will add a ground wire to the Polariscope and return the instrument to customers at no charge for either the retrofitting or shipping.

Starting August 28, 2008, GIA mailed a product safety recall letter to its students and clients who bought this Polariscope model. The letter included a three-part "Return Authorization" form for the customer to supply his or her information, while giving the client details for shipping the Polariscope to GIA. The "Return Authorization" number serves as the identification number for the customer's polariscope and can be referenced for tracking purposes.

We will make every effort to return your Illuminator Polariscope to you as soon as possible.

If you own a white Illuminator Polariscope (model 415000, sold from 1995 to July of 2007, with two prongs), and did not receive a product safety recall letter from GIA, please fill out the form  Doing so will generate a response from GIA and initiate the retrofit process.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you. If you have any questions, please contact GIA by email at gemteam@gia.edu or call customer service toll-free at 800 421 8161 between 8:00am and 4:00pm PT Monday through Friday.

Thank you for your patience and attention.

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Starry Night Sapphire
Learn More
G&G Summer 2014 Edition
Learn more