校友会分会

金门分会:与 GIA 研究宝石学家 Renee Newman(芮妮·纽曼)一起探讨珍珠的相关信息

星期日, 十月 8, 2017
下午 1:00

加利福尼亚州旧金山

珍珠需求量的增大导致了珍珠和仿品珍珠供应链中新技能和新工艺的出现。 由于养殖方法的改进,淡水珍珠的大小一直都在增加,品质也得到了提升,同时形状变得更为丰富多样。 淡水珍珠往往需要在美观程度及大小上和大溪地及澳大利亚养殖南洋珍珠一争高下。

专家 Renée Newman(芮妮·纽曼)将解释有何有这么多不同类型的人工养殖淡水珍珠(与 20 年前相比),并将用实例展示设计师如何使用人工养殖淡水珍珠、Akoya 珍珠、南洋珍珠及大溪地珍珠打造独一无二的珠宝。

她还将讨论:

  • 未经漂白的天然颜色养殖 Akoya 珍珠。
  • 珍珠仿品和经处理的珍珠,以及如何对其进行检测。
  • 产自大溪地和科尔特斯海的天然颜色养殖“黑珍珠”,其颜色在过去 10 年变得更加丰富多彩。
  • 产自牡蛎、贻贝、鲍鱼、蛤蜊、扇贝和海螺体内的天然珍珠。
  • 在动手实践环节,Renée(芮妮)将引导您完成对三种不同类型珍珠的检验。

Newman(纽曼)的演讲结束后,“珍珠女神”和“King’s Ransom”(金的救赎)所有者、特别嘉宾 Betty Sue King(贝蒂·苏·金)将展示自己收藏的各种珍珠。 您也将有机会亲手检验并鉴定这些珍珠 — 带上您的放大镜。

获得 GIA 研究宝石学家文凭后,Newman(纽曼)在一家钻石批发公司找到了一份宝石学家的工作,这家公司同时也拥有大量珍珠库存。 意识到需要阅读大量有关如何鉴定宝石品质的书籍后,过去 25 年来,她一直在撰写关于宝石和珠宝的书籍,并不断研究以确保提供最新知识。 她撰写的“Pearl Buying Guide”(《珍珠购买指南》)第一版于 1992 年出版,第六版已于今年年初出版。

Newman(纽曼)将在她的书上签名,并以每本 15 美元的优惠价(含销售税)出售。 请带现金或支票。 如需其他信息,请访问 www.ReneeNewman.com

King(金)女士拥有 35 年以上的珍珠买家经验。 作为一名珍珠专家,她和行业杂志的编辑和作家们一起在多个讲座(包括在 AGTA Tucson GemFair™(美国图森矿物珠宝展)上和珠宝评估师协会 (NAJA))的活动)与大家分享她的见解和专业知识。 她曾为几个出版物,如 GIA 的《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 和《现代珠宝商》(Modern Jeweler) 撰稿,而她的摄影作品还被刊登在各种杂志、书籍和网站上。

活动预告

商贸展
十月
27
慕尼黑展览会

2017 年 10 月 27-29
德国慕尼黑

校友会分会
查看全部

您或许还会喜欢

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
了解更多 (用英语)

Alumni Chapter

Golden Gate Chapter: Pearls with Renée Newman, GIA GG

Sunday, October 8, 2017
1:00 p.m.

San Francisco, CA

A greater demand in the pearl world has resulted in new techniques and technology in the pearl and imitation pearl supply chain. Thanks to improved cultivation methods, the size of freshwater pearls has been increasing, their quality has improved, and their shapes have become more varied. Freshwater pearls often compete with Tahitian and Australian cultured South Sea pearls in terms of beauty and size.

Expert Renée Newman will explain why there are so many different types of cultured freshwater pearls (compared to 20 years ago) and will show examples of how designers are using cultured freshwater, Akoya, South Sea and Tahitian pearls to create unique jewelry.

She will also discuss:

  • Unbleached natural-color cultured Akoya pearls.
  • Pearl imitations and treatments, and how they can be detected.
  • Natural-color cultured “black pearls” from Tahiti and the Sea of Cortez, which have become more colorful in the past 10 years.
  • Natural pearls from oysters, mussels, abalone, clams, scallops and conch snails.
  • During the hands-on session, Renée will guide you through the examination of three different types of pearls.

Special guest Betty Sue King, the “Pearl Goddess” and owner of King’s Ransom, will show examples of various types of pearls from her collection after Newman’s talk. You will also have an opportunity to examine and identify the pearls firsthand - bring your loupe.

After Newman received her GIA GG, she worked as a gemologist at a wholesale diamond company that also had a large inventory of pearls. Realizing there was a need for books on how to determine gem quality, she has spent the past 25 years writing gem and jewelry books and doing continual research to keep them updated. The first edition of her book, “Pearl Buying Guide,” was published in 1992 and the sixth edition was released earlier this year.

Newman will autograph her books and have them available for purchase at a discounted price of $15 each, including sales tax. Please bring cash or a check. Additional information is available at www.ReneeNewman.com.

King has more than 35 years of experience as a pearl buyer. She shares her insights and expertise as a pearl specialist for lectures – including at the AGTA Tucson GemFair™ and for the National Association of Jewelry Appraisers (NAJA) – and with editors and writers for trade journals. She has contributed to several publications such as GIA’s Gems & Gemology and Modern Jeweler and her photography has been published in magazines, books and websites.

Upcoming Events

Alumni Chapter
Oct
24
Alumni Chapter
See All

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more