美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 宝石项目



关于 Edward J. Gübelin(爱德华 J. 古柏林) 博士的宝石藏品

Edward Gübelin (爱德华 古柏林)博士专注于宝石及其内含物的研究长达六十多年,他的研究成果彻底改变了宝石学。 他从瑞士卢塞恩家中的实验室出发,走遍了五大洲的宝石产地,采集各式样本并精心记录。 2005 年 3 月 Edward J. Gübelin(爱德华 J. 古柏林)博士辞世之后,GIA 获得了他的全部收藏品。 他收藏的资料包括225 不同的矿物的约 2,800 个宝石。 Gübelin 藏品如今已成为 GIA 博物馆的一部分,被用于研究、教育和展示。

Edward J. Gübelin(爱德华 J. 古柏林)博士藏品研究

从早些年开始,GIA 就收购宝石样品,用于教育和研究任务。 其中大部分可用来作鉴定,但缺乏详细的产地信息,而且有些看上去并不具有特别的吸引力。

2005 年,收购来自瑞士卢塞恩已故 Edward J. Gübelin(爱德华 J. 古柏林)博士的藏品后,这一状况终于得以改变。 Gübelin(古柏林)博士的藏品包括 2800 多种样品,囊括 225 种矿物和宝石材料,均从世界各地的主要产地采集而来。 许多宝石在颜色、重量和特点上极具代表性,对于提高 GIA 的宝石教育和展示能力具有深远的影响。

Gübelin(古柏林) 博士是世界上最杰出的宝石学家之一,60 多年来积累了这些重要的藏品。 他终身致力于宝石内含物的研究,彻底改变了宝石学,且他的作品为各类宝石的显微鉴定奠定了基础。 如需了解更多有关 Gübelin(古柏林)博士的信息,请参阅 Gems & Gemology(《宝石与宝石学》)2005 年冬季刊上的介绍。

从 2007 年开始,GIA 就承揽了汇总 Edward J. Gübelin(爱德华 J. 古柏林)藏品宝石特征的一个项目。 该项目有两个主要目标:利用各种技术系统记录这些宝石,并将 GIA 网站上的研究结果作为宝贵资源提供给学生、宝石学家、研究人员以及任何对宝石材料感兴趣的人士。 使用了标准的数据采集程序,且每种宝石上都体现了各种技术。 因为所得数据均来自同一种宝石,因此该数据库可供感兴趣的研究人员查看,比如,不同产地某一特定宝石可能存在的不同宝石学特性。 这些信息是消失在传统出版代表编译的宝石学信息的来源。

该项目数据库将为每种类型的宝石提供以下信息:

1. 宝石照片。

2. GIA 宝石藏品编号。

3. 宝石名以及必要时提供组别名称和类别名称。

4. 产地信息、报道国家、省或州(区或县)和镇(矿山名称),采用 Gübelin( 古柏林) 博士藏品记录使用的格式。

5. 有关宝石的基本信息,如刻面形状(记录为标准形状名称)、克拉重量(精确到小数点后两位)(1 克拉= 0.2 克)、尺寸(以毫米为单位,精确到小数点后三位)、透明度(透明、半透明或不透明)、根据 GIA 有色宝石术语进行的颜色描述。

6. 展示宝石俯视图、侧视图和仰视图上所示宝石形状和刻面排列的图表。 这些图是根据 Sarin DiaVision 系统所得比例测量数据而制定的。 并不适用于切割成凸圆面或其他非刻面形状的宝石。

7. 对标准宝石学性质进行了总结,包括光学特征(正或负单轴)、折射率值(使用折射仪从宝石桌面获得的最大和最小折射率值)、计算双折射值、、计算比重值、多向色性描述、光泽、长短波紫外线荧光(和磷光)反应、吸收光谱和任何的光学现象(如色变或星光)。 还提供了刻面排列图,将宝石放于显微镜和玻璃球(用作聚光镜)下,如果可以确定光轴方向,则可从图中找到光轴的大致位置。 在这种排列中,使用交叉偏振滤波器,将宝石进行旋转,直到在玻璃球中可以看中心光轴干涉图。 在某些情况下,使用这种方法我们无法用肉眼找到宝石的光轴。

8. 使用标准放大镜(10 倍至 100 倍)可以看到的内外特征的简要描述。 用显微镜拍摄了许多内部特征,并为所得的显微照片设置了标题。 宝石缺乏显著内部特征的就不会被拍摄显微照片。

9. 大多数情况下,一颗宝石会有几种光谱图,包括红外线光谱、见光光谱、拉曼光谱和光致发光光谱。 对于检测到的主要元素和微量因素,还提供有 X-射线荧光光谱图。

最初的数据收集主要从1,000 颗刚玉、尖晶石、柘榴石、绿柱石和碧玺中所获的结果。 当前项目旨在提供宝石的基本特征。 项目数据中不包含两类重要的科学信息 - 有关宝石中主要和微量元素的浓度的定量化学分析,以及使用 X 射线衍射分析法所得的晶胞大小。 要收集大颗刻面宝石的这类信息,还存在技术难题,希望以后能将这些信息加入数据库。

目前,PDF 文件中提供了首组宝石的相关信息,这组宝石共 50 颗,包括刚玉、尖晶石、绿柱石、柘榴石、碧玺等宝石材料。 以后,有了在线数据库,浏览研究 Edward J. Gübelin(爱德华 J. 古柏林)藏品中的重要宝石就容易多了。 美国宝石研究院还计划在 GIA 藏品中加入其它宝石,可能包括其他藏品中具有历史意义的重要宝石,以扩大数据库。

项目贡献者

博物馆:
     收藏品馆长Terri Ottaway(特里·奥塔维)

鉴定所:
     研究科学家 Mike Breeding(麦克·布里丁)
     宝石学家的工作人员 Karen Chadwick(凯伦·查德威克)
     分析专家 Emily Dubinsky(艾米丽·杜宾斯基)
     度量衡监事 John Hall(约翰·豪)
     鉴定技术员 Dylan Hand(迪伦·汉德)
     鉴定技师 John Innis(约翰·英尼斯)
     分析显微镜工作者 John Koivula(约翰·科伊乌拉)
     计量学家 David Nelson(大卫·尼尔森)
     分析专家 Nathan Renfro(南森·伦芙洛)
     研究科学家 Andy Shen(安迪·森)

教育:
     实地宝石学经理 Andy Lucas(安迪·卢卡斯)

图书馆:
     视觉资源编目员 Sharon Bohannon(莎伦·博汉农)
     图书馆研究分析师兼协调员 Caroline Nelms(卡罗琳·奈姆)
     摄影和视觉传播经理 Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)

研究:
     切工研究项目经理Al Gilbertson(阿尔·吉尔伯特森)
     高级研究数据专家 Brooke Goedert(布鲁克·歌德特)
     研究助理 Scott Hemphill(斯科特·恒普希尔)
     特聘研究员 James Shigley(詹姆斯·希格力)

您或许还会喜欢

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
了解更多 (用英语)

GIA Gem Project



About the Dr. Edward J. Gübelin Gem Collection

Dr. Edward Gübelin's study of gemstones and their inclusions extended over a professional career of more than six decades, and his work revolutionized the science of gemology. From his home laboratory in Lucerne, Switzerland, he traveled to gem localities on five continents to collect samples that he then meticulously documented. After his death in March 2005, his comprehensive collection was acquired by the GIA. The collection consists of approximately 2,800 gems representing 225 different minerals. It now forms part of the GIA Gem Collection, where it is being used for research, education, and display.

Edward J Gübelin The Collection

Play

Studying the Dr. Edward J. Gübelin Gem Collection

Since its early years, GIA has acquired gemstone samples to support its educational and research missions. Most of these were useful for identification purposes but lacked detailed locality information, and some were not particularly attractive.

This all changed in 2005 with the purchase of the collection belonging to the late Edward J. Gübelin of Lucerne, Switzerland. It consists of more than 2,800 samples representing 225 minerals and gem materials obtained from major localities worldwide. Many of the gemstones are extraordinary examples in terms of color, weight, and phenomena, and they significantly enhance the educational and display potential of GIA’s gem collection.

As one of the world’s preeminent gemologists, Dr. Gübelin assembled this important collection over more than 60 years. His lifelong study of inclusions in gemstones revolutionized the science of gemology, and his work helped form the basis of microscopically identifying gems of all kinds. For more on Dr. Gübelin, please see the profile in the Winter 2005 issue of Gems & Gemology.

Since 2007, GIA has undertaken a project to characterize gemstones from the Edward J. Gübelin collection. This project has two main goals: to systematically document these gemstones using a range of techniques, and to make the results available on the GIA website as a valuable resource for students, gemologists, researchers, and anyone interested in gem materials. Standard data collection procedures have been used, with each gemstone characterized by a range of techniques. Because the resulting data have been collected from the same individual gemstone, this database will enable interested researchers to view, for example, possible variations in gemological properties from one locality to another within a given species. This information is lost in traditional published sources that represent compilations of gemological information.

The project database will provide the following information on individual gemstones:

1. A photograph of the gemstone.

2. The GIA Gem Collection number.

3. A gem species name, and when appropriate, a group and a variety name.

4. Geographic Locality information, reported by Country, Province or State (District or County), and Town (Mine Name), as described in the collection records obtained from Dr. Gübelin.

5. Basic information on the gemstone, such as faceted shape (reported as standardized shape names); carat weight to two decimal places (1 ct = 0.2 g); dimensions in millimeters to three decimal places; diaphaneity (transparent, translucent, or opaque); and a description of the color according to the GIA terminology for colored gemstones.

6. Diagrams showing the shape and facet arrangement of the gemstone as seen from the top, side, and bottom views. These diagrams were created from proportion measurement data obtained by the Sarin DiaVision system. They were not produced for gemstones fashioned as cabochons or other non-faceted shapes.

7. A summary of standard gemological properties, including optic character (uniaxial positive or negative), refractive index value(s) (the maximum and minimum RI values obtained using the refractometer from the table facet of the gemstone), calculated birefringence value, a calculated specific gravity value, descriptions of any pleochroism, luster, long- and short-wave ultraviolet fluorescence (and phosphorescence) reactions, absorption spectra, and any optical phenomena (such as a color-change or asterism). A facet-arrangement diagram is provided that illustrates the approximate location(s) of the optic axis (axes) when the direction(s) could be determined using a microscope and a glass sphere (which acts as a condensing lens) positioned above the gemstone. In this configuration, and using crossed polarizing filters, the gemstone is rotated until a centered optic axis interference figure is seen with the sphere. In some cases, we were unable to visually locate the optic axis of a gemstone using this method.

8. A brief general description of the internal or external features that can be seen with standard magnification (10x to ~ 100x). Many internal features were photographed through the microscope, and the resulting photomicrographs are provided with captions. Photomicrographs were not taken for gemstones lacking significant internal features.

9. In most instances, several spectra are presented for a gemstone, including infrared, visible, Raman, and photoluminescence spectra. An X-ray fluorescence spectrum is also provided with the major and minor elements detected.

Initial data collection has focused on corundum, spinel, garnet, beryl, and tourmaline, with results obtained on approximately 1,000 gemstones. The current project is intended to provide a basic characterization. Two important types of scientific information – a quantitative chemical analysis showing the concentrations of the major and minor elements present in a gemstone, and unit-cell dimensions obtained by x-ray diffraction analysis – are not included in the project data. While there are technical challenges in gathering such information on large, faceted gemstones, we hope to add it in the future.

Information on an initial group of 50 stones (including corundum, spinel, beryl, garnet, tourmaline and other gem minerals) is presently available in PDF format. In the future, an online database will make it easier to browse and study the important gems in the Edward J. Gübelin collection. The Institute also plans to expand the database to include other stones in the GIA collection, and possibly historical and important gems from other collections.

Project Contributors

Museum:
     Terri Ottaway, Curator of Collections

Laboratory:
     Mike Breeding, Research Scientist
     Karen Chadwick, Staff Gemologist
     Emily Dubinsky, Analytical Specialist
     John Hall, Supervisor, Weights and Measures
     Dylan Hand, Identification Technician
     John Innis, Identification Technician
     John Koivula, Analytical Microscopist
     David Nelson, Metrologist
     Nathan Renfro, Analytical Specialist
     Andy Shen, Research Scientist

Education:
     Andy Lucas, Manager, Field Gemology

Library:
     Sharon Bohannon, Visual Resources Cataloger
     Caroline Nelms, Library Research Analyst & Coordinator
     Robert Weldon, Manager, Photography & Visual Communications

Research:
     Al Gilbertson, Project Manager, Cut Research
     Brooke Goedert, Senior Research Data Specialist
     Scott Hemphill, Research Associate
     James Shigley, Distinguished Research Fellow

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more