“充满奇迹”的生活:宝石学家对 30 年哥伦比亚祖母绿贸易的深思


Placeholder Alt Text
Ron Ringsrud(罗恩·林斯鲁德)是一个资深的有色宝石独立交易商,在哥伦比亚博亚卡 Coscuez(科斯凯茨)矿附近的 El Chacaro 采购祖母绿。 照片由 Ron Ringsrud(罗恩·林斯鲁德)友情提供,由 Montgomery Chitty(蒙哥马利·奇蒂)拍摄。

Ron Ringsrud(罗恩·林斯鲁德)作为批发祖母绿进口商的三十年从业经验,及其最后爬上 Muzo International(木佐国际,从哥伦比亚木佐矿采购祖母绿的公司)运营和销售总监的奋斗历程 — 是国际企业、黄金机会、老式好时机和企业家忙碌奔波的完美融合。

这一切可以用一句话来形容“Yo vivo de milagro en milagro”,Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)将这句哥伦比亚祖母绿经销商的用语翻译为:“我的生活每一天都是奇迹。”

Ringsrud(林斯鲁德),受欢迎的讲师、现场指导,2009 年发表的“Emeralds: A Passionate Guide”(《祖母绿之狂热指南》)的作者,以绝对不起眼的方式开始了一个“任性地自发选择”的职业:阅读分类广告。 1980 年,作为中西部本土和年轻的大学毕业生,他翻阅 Santa Monica Evening Outlook(圣莫尼卡晚报展望)报纸,寻找在洛杉矶的工作机会,他注意到一则广告 —“仓库工作,宝石研究院”。他对宝石学一无所知,但还是去应聘并获得了这份工作。

每一个十年里的金融、经济状况都有其独特之处,不管是增长还是不增长...... 当前景光明时,这种感觉真的很棒...... 这是有色宝石经销商的陶醉状态……你能感受到这份狂热之情。
Ron Ringsrud(罗恩·林斯鲁德)
“我在 GIA 学会的第一件事是,世界上最好的祖母绿产自哥伦比亚,”Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)说。他流利的西班牙语和大学学业结束后前往波哥大旅游的经历让他对 1981 年《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 关于这个话题的封面故事产生了兴趣。 他报名参加了GIA 远程教育课程,下班后就在家中热切地学习。不久,他明确了自己的职业抱负。

“我想成为一名宝石学家,”Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)说,他当时就开始积攒假期准备前往哥伦比亚。 “我真的投入了。”

主管们注意到他的驱动力,便将这位新员工调到研究院的宝石仪器部门。在那里,他渐渐被来自斯里兰卡、澳大利亚和南美的有色宝石经销商及其讲述的故事所迷住。

“开始像感染了一种传染病一样,”他说。 “我开始疑惑,‘我能做到这一点吗,也许?’”

Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)是一位研究宝石学家 (GG),也是一位喜欢谈论“有色宝石的无法量化、不可言喻之美”的科学家。对于祖母绿,他说,“不仅仅是折射率和比重的问题。”拍摄:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/ GIA
Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)作为一位初露头角的宝石学家在感恩节假期开始了他对哥伦比亚的短暂访问之旅。 他访问了那些他在宝石仪器部门所收到的名片上的经销商,与他们有了新的接触,并购买了他的第一颗祖母绿。

“我在那里的那段时间,了解了祖母绿的切割、处理方式,以及一点点关于油提升程序的知识,”他说。 “早在 1981 年,那还是一个大谜团。”

当 Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)还在仓库工作时,他和《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 的总编辑 Alice Keller(爱丽丝·凯勒)进行了聊天,当时她正上楼去给复印机进行每两周一次的添纸,所以他知道她可能会对油提升的信息感兴趣。

“最后,我走进 Alice Keller(爱丽丝·凯勒)的办公室,拿着一篇用打字机打好的关于波哥大祖母绿油提升的五页纸文章,”Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)说。 “祖母绿是一个令人感兴趣的话题,而(油增)是一个新话题,所以我讲述了一些背景知识和油增过程的物理学。”

Keller(凯勒)很高兴 Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)一直在研究宝石学,但她说她对他一直努力在杂志上发表文章毫不知情。

“他说他想给我一个惊喜,而他做到了!”她说。 “当我读了手稿,我发现 Ron(罗恩)不仅写得很好,他还对科学论文所需的细节和研究程度有很好的理解,这让我很钦佩。”

经过艰苦的编辑过程后,Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)的文章终于准备要出版了。 这篇文章首次刊登在《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 1983 年秋季刊,获得了行业的认可和嘉奖。

“我们每个人身体里都住着一个狂野的东西,特别是我,这个东西特别渴望冲出牢笼,”他说。 他很快就辞掉了在 GIA 的全职工作,成为一位独立的有色宝石经销商。

Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)著书“Emeralds: A Passionate Guide”(《祖母绿之狂热指南》)于 2009 年出版。 发表 Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)关于哥伦比亚祖母绿的首篇文章的《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 前总编辑 Alice Keller(爱丽丝·凯勒)对他的作品评价道:“凭借他的书和后续文章的发表 — 他在 1986 年的《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 上发表的关于科斯凯茨祖母绿的文章堪称经典 — Ron(罗恩)已经确立了自己既是高水平的宝石学家,又是受人尊敬的研究员的地位。”本书封面由 Ron Ringsrud(罗恩·林斯鲁德)友情提供。 本书封面内容由波哥大 Editorial Maremagnum 的 Cristina Lopez(克里斯蒂娜·洛佩兹)设计
时机“不能再好了”

Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)说,他选择的时机其实是偶然的。 虽然他已经错过了 20 世纪 70 年代钻石、红宝石、蓝宝石和祖母绿处于高价位的鼎盛时期,但市场仍旧充满活力,80 年代是“开始宝石生意的好时机。”

在很大程度上,Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)归因于如今数十亿美元钻石切割行业的诞生,当印度的切割师发现能在南非便宜购得大量较小、“得体”的原石作为工业钻石后,这个行业进入兴旺期。

“我曾在洛杉矶市中心工作,我会借一些在那里寄售的浅褐色钻石 — 也许价值三万美元 — 然后带着它们到哥伦比亚,用来交换祖母绿,或直接出售钻石,买入祖母绿,”他说。 “我回到洛杉矶,利用剩余的 70-80 天时间来出售祖母绿,然后向钻石经销商还款,并再次开始循环这种业务模式。 20 世纪 80 年代,我的业务就是以这种方式由印度钻石行业资助的。”

在接下来的几十年,虽然大体上是成功的,但这过程充满了坎坷:Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)说,这就是作为一个独立有色宝石经销商的工作本质。

“每一个十年里的金融、经济状况都有其独特之处,不管是增长还是不增长 — 我们必须经历这一切。 就像生活在悬崖边,但却有着吸引人的地方,“Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)说。在那段时期,他结婚了并有了两个孩子。

“当前景光明时,这种感觉真的很棒。 当然,当形势变坏,这一切都要靠你自己了。 这就是有色宝石经销商的陶醉状态,你能感觉到 — 你可以感受到这份狂热之情。 因为除了可以带来经济利益,你正在处理的是人们热爱和与地球相联结的产品。“

虽然 Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)说他享受这种“陶醉”,但是他难以拒绝在 Muzo International(木佐国际)工作的机会,因为这个公司在过去六年一直在拥有 500 年历史的 Muzo(木佐)矿区采矿。 该公司要求 Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)管理其国际运营和销售,很快就全权负责管理整个矿区。

Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)的陶工坊拥有六名员工,为当地年轻人提供有关环保、以可替代形式建造的培训,是哥伦比亚农村地区流离失所者的家园。 工人们为一栋位于哥伦比亚萨赛马(距离波哥大北部两个小时路程)的建筑的土坯墙和瓜多竹(“大竹子”)屋顶支撑建造一个混凝土支架。 拍摄:Ron Ringsrud(罗恩·林斯鲁德)
祖母绿矿业的未来

Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)在加利福尼亚州和波哥大分别拥有一个住处,在波哥大的住处离祖母绿地区有六个街区远,他说:“他们将技术引入到 Muzo(木佐)矿区,并引进 21 世纪的安全和技术标准。”

在他入职 Muzo International(木佐国际)前夕,Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)成立了一个非营利性的陶土坊,将资金从美国引入哥伦比亚的农村地区。他说,那里有大批流离失所的难民 — 仅次于叙利亚,无家可归。 陶土坊为这些地区的可替代性建筑提供支持,为年轻人提供有关传统、更环保建筑形式的现代版本的培训, 如土坯、 压土和竹子技术。 他们不必支付职业培训或住宿费,但他们必须以做好事为回报,帮助那些在自己社区努力奋斗的人建房子。

Ringsrud(林斯鲁德)对最初引发其想象力的宝石仍然情有独钟,他说,需要新一代初露头角的宝石学家加入祖母绿交易中。

“如果你凝视着一块晶体,你会看到非常深刻和亲近自然的鬼斧神工,”他说。 “我认为这是我们迷恋宝石的一部分原因。 美丽、诱惑、永恒,都是主观和难以量化的。 然而,晶体形成的过程是另一个谜:晶胞的堆叠井然有序;展现超凡的连贯性和智慧。 我们需要激发、分享和歌颂对这些宝石的热爱。

“我对年轻人的建议是保持痴迷,”他说。 “如果在你面前有一条道路,它会打开,它会发生。 如果你能坐上有色宝石的过山车,这将是相当精彩的一程。 拿出冲劲,勇往直前吧。”

 

Jaime Kautsky(杰米·考茨基)是撰稿人,拥有 GIA 钻石文凭和 GIA 专业珠宝家证书,曾多年担任 The Loupe(《放大镜》)杂志副编辑。

Living ‘Miracle to Miracle’: Gemologist Reflects on 30 Years in the Colombian Emerald Trade


Placeholder Alt Text
Ron Ringsrud, a longtime independent colored stone dealer, buys emeralds in El Chacaro, near the Coscuez mine in Boyacá, Colombia. Photo courtesy of Ron Ringsrud, photographed by Montgomery Chitty.

Ron Ringsrud’s three decades as a wholesale emerald importer − and his eventual ascent to operations and sales director at Muzo International, which sources emeralds from Colombia’s Muzo mine − are a heady mix of international business, golden opportunity, old-fashioned good timing and an entrepreneur’s hustle.

That’s all with a dash of “Yo vivo de milagro en milagro,” or, as Ringsrud translates the Colombian emerald dealer expression: “I live from miracle to miracle.”

Ringsrud, a popular lecturer, field guide and author of 2009’s “Emeralds: A Passionate Guide,” began a career of “capricious spontaneity” in a decidedly unremarkable way: reading the classifieds. In 1980, as the Midwest native and young college graduate thumbed through the pages of the Santa Monica Evening Outlook newspaper looking for work in Los Angeles, he noticed an ad – “Warehouse Work, Gemological Institute.” He knew nothing about gemology, but applied and got the job.

Every decade is unique in its realities of finance, economics, growth or non-growth ... When it goes great, it feels really great ... That’s the intoxication that colored stone dealers have … you can feel the passion.
Ron Ringsrud
“The first thing I learned at GIA was that the best emeralds in the world come from Colombia,” says Ringsrud, whose fluency in Spanish and post-college trip to Bogotá helped pique his interest in a 1981 Gems & Gemology cover story on the subject. He signed up for GIA Distance Education courses, fervently studying at home after work, and before long, his career aspirations crystallized.

“I wanted to become a gemologist,” says Ringsrud, who had already begun collecting vacation days for a trip to Colombia. “I was into it.”

Supervisors noticed his drive and moved the new hire to the Institute’s Gem Instruments department, where he grew fascinated with the colored stone dealers he met from Sri Lanka, Australia and South America – and the stories they told.

“It started getting kind of infectious,” he says. “I started wondering, ‘Can I do that, maybe?’”

Ringsrud, GG, is a scientist who also likes to talk about the “unquantifiable, non-verbal beauty of the colored stone.” With emeralds, he says, “there is much more than just the refractive index and specific gravity.” Photo by Robert Weldon/GIA
Ringsrud took his first short visit to Colombia as a budding gemologist over Thanksgiving break. He knocked on the doors of those whose business cards he’d collected in Gem Instruments, made new contacts and bought his first emerald.

“In my time down there, I learned how emeralds are cut, how they’re processed, and a little bit about the oil-enhancement procedures,” he says. “Back in 1981, that was a big mystery.”

Ringsrud had chatted with Gems & Gemology editor-in-chief Alice Keller on biweekly trips upstairs to refill her copier paper when he worked in the warehouse, so he knew she might be interested in information about oil enhancements.

“Finally, I walked into Alice Keller’s office with a typed, five-page article about the oil enhancement of emeralds in Bogota,” says Ringsrud. “Emeralds were a subject of interest and (enhancement was) a new subject, so I gave some of the background and the physics of the enhancement process.”

Keller, who was pleased that Ringsrud had been studying gemology, says she had no idea he had been working on an article for the journal.

“He said he wanted to surprise me, and he did!” she says. “I was impressed when I read the manuscript and saw that not only did Ron write well, but he also had a good grasp on the level of detail and research necessary for a scientific article.”

After a strenuous editing process, Ringsrud’s article was finally ready for publication. It debuted in the fall 1983 issue of Gems & Gemology, garnering industry recognition and awards.

“This wild thing that lives inside all of us – especially me – was eager to get out,” he says. He soon left full-time work at GIA to become an independent colored stone dealer.

Ringsrud’s book, “Emeralds: A Passionate Guide,” was published in 2009. Former Gems & Gemology Editor-in-Chief Alice Keller, who published Ringsrud’s first article on Colombian emeralds, says of his work: “With his book and subsequent articles – his 1986 G&G piece on Coscuez emeralds is a classic – Ron has established himself as both a fine gemologist and a respected researcher.” Book cover courtesy of Ron Ringsrud. Book cover art by Cristina Lopez of Editorial Maremagnum, Bogotá
Timing ‘Could Not Have Been Better’

His timing, Ringsrud says, turned out to be fortuitous. Though he’d missed out on the high-priced, 1970s heyday of diamonds, rubies, sapphires and emeralds, the market was vibrant and the ‘80s were “a good time to start a gem business.”

In large part, Ringsrud attributes that to the birth of the now-multi-billion-dollar diamond cutting industry, which blossomed when cutters in India noticed an opportunity with a substantial amount of smaller, “decent” rough being sold inexpensively from South Africa as industrial diamond.

“I worked in downtown Los Angeles, and I would borrow top light brown diamonds on consignment there – maybe $30,000 worth – and take them to Colombia and trade them for emeralds, or sell the diamonds outright and buy emeralds,” he says. “I’d come back and still have 70-80 days to sell the emeralds, pay back the diamond dealers and start the cycle again. My business was financed by the Indian diamond industry in the 1980s this way.”

The following decades, though mostly successful, were full of ups and downs: Ringsrud says it’s the nature of working as an independent colored stone dealer.

“Every decade is unique in its realities of finance, economics, growth or non-growth – we have to live through it all. It’s kind of living on the edge, and there’s an attraction to that,” says Ringsrud, who married and had two children during that time.

“When it goes great, it feels really great. Of course when it goes badly, it’s all on you. That’s the intoxication that colored stone dealers have, and you can sense that – you can feel the passion. Because besides living on the financial edge, you’re dealing with a product that people love and associate with a connection to the earth.”

Though Ringsrud says he enjoyed that “intoxication,” it was hard to turn down the opportunity at Muzo International, which has operated the concession at the 500-year-old Muzo mine for the last six years. The company asked Ringsrud to direct its international operations and sales shortly before gaining responsibility for 100 percent of the mine.

Ringsrud’s Clayhands, which has six employees, provides homes for the many displaced people in Colombia’s rural areas by training young, local men in earth-friendly, alternative forms of construction. Workers construct a concrete support for an adobe wall and guadua (“large bamboo”) roof supports for a building in Sasaima, Colombia, two hours north of Bogotá. Photo by Ron Ringsrud
The Future of Emerald Mining

Ringsrud, who maintains a home in California and one in Bogotá six blocks from the emerald district, says “they are putting technology into the Muzo mine and bringing it up to 21st century standards of safety and technology.”

Just prior to assuming his position with Muzo International, Ringsrud founded a nonprofit, Clayhands, that focuses on bringing funds from the United States to the rural areas of Colombia, where large numbers of displaced people – second only to Syria, he says – live without shelter. Clayhands supports alternative construction in these areas, training young people in modernized versions of traditional, earth-friendlier forms of construction such as adobe, pressed earth and bamboo techniques. They don’t have to pay for the vocational training or their homes, but they do have to pay a favor in return, helping build houses for others struggling in their communities.

Still fascinated with the stones that initially captured his imagination, Ringsrud says there is a need for a new generation of budding gemologists to join the emerald trade.

“If you gaze into a crystal, you’re looking at something very deep and intimate to nature’s most intricate workings,” he says. “I think that is part of our fascination with gemstones. There is beauty, allure, timelessness, all subjective and unquantifiable. And yet the process of crystal formation is another mystery: There is great orderliness in the stacking of the unit cells; great coherence and intelligence. We need to bring out, share and celebrate the passion of these stones.

“My advice to young people is to stay fascinated,” he says. “If there is a path in front of you, it will open up, it will happen. If you can get on the colored stone roller coaster, it’s quite a ride. Do whatever you can to get on it.”

 

Jaime Kautsky, a contributing writer, is a GIA Diamonds Graduate and GIA Accredited Jewelry Professional and was an associate editor of The Loupe magazine.