校友会

研究与鸡尾酒:钻石原产地


Photo courtesy of Diavik Diamond Mines Inc.

GIA 校友会邀请您加入我们,与 GIA 研究科学家 Karen Smit(卡伦·斯密特)博士和 GIA 全球业务发展总监 Matt Tratner(马修·特拉特纳)就 GIA 新发布的钻石原产地证书展开对话。 讨论会后将紧接着举行接待会。

Karen Smit(卡伦·斯密特)博士是 GIA 纽约鉴定所的研究科学家,其专业领域是钻石地质学。自 2014 年加入 GIA 以来,她一直积极参与天然钻石产地及颜色处理方面的研究工作。她对产自世界各地矿场的天然钻石进行了研究,包括澳大利亚埃伦代尔、塞拉利昂兹密、津巴布韦马兰吉以及加拿大维克多。2008 年,她获得了南非开普敦大学的地球化学硕士学位,2013 年获得了加拿大阿尔伯塔大学的地质学博士学位。

Matthew Tratner(马修·特拉特纳)目前担任 GIA 全球业务发展总监。他以前曾是美国珠宝商协会的会员与销售总监以及 National Jeweler(《国家珠宝商》)的发行人。Tratner(特拉特纳)进入珠宝行业已经超过 15 年了,经验涉及零售销售、制造、电子商务、出版以及营销。他获得了帝国州立学院的文学学士文凭以及 GIA 的专业珠宝家文凭 (AJP)。


回复

7 月 24 日前可购票,票价为 10 美元。
名额有限,请立即报名。
如有任何问题,请联系我们。请务必在您发给我们的信息中注明您所咨询的活动。

Alumni Association

Research & Cocktails: Diamond Origin


Photo courtesy of Diavik Diamond Mines Inc.

The GIA Alumni Association invites you to join us for a conversation with Dr. Karen Smit, research scientist at GIA, and Matt Tratner, director of global business development at GIA, on GIA’s newly launched Diamond Origin Report. A reception will immediately follow the discussion.

Dr. Karen Smit is a research scientist at the GIA laboratory in New York. Her area of expertise is diamond geology and since joining GIA in 2014, she has been closely involved in researching the origin of natural diamonds and their color treatments. She has studied natural diamonds from deposits around the world, including Ellendale (Australia), Zimmi (Sierra Leone), Marange (Zimbabwe) and Victor (Canada). She earned a MSc in geochemistry from the University of Cape Town (South Africa) in 2008 and a PhD in geology from the University of Alberta (Canada) in 2013.

Matthew Tratner currently serves as director of global business development for GIA. His previous positions include director of membership and sales at Jewelers of America and publisher of National Jeweler. Tratner has over 15 years of jewelry industry experience that spans retail sales, manufacturing, e-commerce, publishing and marketing. He earned a Bachelor of Arts from Empire State College and an Accredited Jewelry Professional diploma (AJP) from GIA.


RSVP

Tickets can be purchased for $10 until July 22.
Spots are limited, register now.
Contact us if you have any questions. Please be sure to mention the event you are inquiring about in your message to us.