研讨会

GIA 合成钻石高级研讨会



Jun Rui

向 GIA 研究人员学习最新的合成钻石鉴定技术-名额有限。

合成钻石技术正在快速发展,随着市场上提供的合成钻石越来越多,宝石和珠宝行业需要利用各种工具和技术来帮助他们区分天然和合成钻石。

在 GIA 合成钻石高级研讨会上,与会者将深入了解先进的钻石鉴定技术,其中包括亲身体验目前生产的合成钻石和最新的检测技术。

这些研讨会为期一到两天(时长可能会因地点而异),GIA 对天然、经处理或合成钻石开展了 60 多年的科学研究,并在行业领先的宝石学教育项目领域拥有 80 年的丰富经验,这些都是研讨会得以进行的基础。

研讨会充分利用 GIA 研究科学家的专业知识和 GIA 导师的教育技巧及丰富经验,以讲座和实验相结合的方式呈现。主持研讨会的 GIA 研究科学家将介绍合成钻石的专业知识,讲解相关的材料、鉴定和宝石学特征,以及 GIA 鉴定所用于区分合成钻石与天然钻石的流程。

主题包括

  • 天然和合成钻石的形成、钻石缺陷及其分析(包括光谱学基本原理)

  • 化学蒸气沉淀法 (CVD) 和高压高温法 (HPHT) 生长的合成钻石的宝石学性质

  • 合成钻石的生长后处理

  • 鉴定所用于鉴定合成钻石的分析仪器

  • 天然和合成钻石的样品检验实践

  • 动手操作 GIA 仪器,包括 GIA iD100™、GIA DiamondCheck™ 和带观察箱的 GIA 紫外灯。

其他信息

  • GIA 校友可享受九折优惠。所有全球 GIA 校友在注册参加此研讨会时均可使用这项会员福利。注册时请告知您的校友身份以便确认。

  • 参与者最好参加过宝石学培训和/或具备相关经验。

研讨会举办情况

全年均可增加新的日期和地点。参与者名额限制在 20 人以下(具体取决于地点)。

对于研讨会费用、问题或注册, 请填写下面的表格或拨打所列地点的相应垂询电话。

卡尔斯巴德
电话:+1 760 603 4001 或 +1 800 421 7250 转分机 4001
讲师:GIA 卡尔斯巴德校区宝石学讲师
2019 年
6 月 4 日至 5 日 (为期两天的研讨会);研究人员:Mike Breeding(麦克·布里丁)博士和 Sally Magaña(莎莉·马加尼亚)博士
9 月 5 日至 6 日(为期两天的研讨会);研究人员:Mike Breeding(麦克·布里丁)博士和 Sally Magaña(莎莉·马加尼亚)博士

迪拜
电话:+971 4 2754500
讲师:迪拜校区宝石学讲师
2019 年
3 月 17 日 - 研究人员: Karen Smit(卡伦·斯密特)博士和 Mike Breeding(麦克·布里丁)博士
3 月 18 日 - 研究人员: Karen Smit(卡伦·斯密特)博士和 Mike Breeding(麦克·布里丁)博士
 
香港
电话:+852 3166 7001
讲师:GIA 香港校区宝石学讲师
2019 年
3 月 5 日 - 研究人员:Wuyi Wang(王五一)博士和 Ulrika F.S. D’Haenens-Johansson(乌尔丽卡·德汉宁·约翰逊)

伦敦
电话:+44 20 7813 4321
讲师:GIA 伦敦校区宝石学讲师
2019 年
5 月 28 日至 29 日(为期两天的研讨会);研究人员:Ulrika F.S. D’Haenens-Johansson(乌尔丽卡·德汉宁·约翰逊)和 Evan Smith(埃文·史密斯)博士
9 月 9 日至 10 日(为期两天的研讨会);研究人员:Mike Breeding(麦克·布里丁)博士和 Karen Smit(卡伦·斯密特)博士
 
孟买
电话:+1 800 41 999 14
讲师:GIA 孟买校区宝石学讲师
2019 年
1 月 21 日 - 研究人员:Sally Magaña(莎莉·马加纳)博士和 Evan Smith(埃文·史密斯)博士
1 月 22 日 - 研究人员:Sally Magaña(莎莉·马加纳)博士和 Evan Smith(埃文·史密斯)博士
8 月 19 日 - 研究人员:Sally Magaña(莎莉·马加纳)博士和 Evan Smith(埃文·史密斯)博士
8 月 20 日 - 研究人员:Sally Magaña(莎莉·马加纳)博士和 Evan Smith(埃文·史密斯)博士
 
纽约
电话:+ 1 212 944 5900
讲师:GIA 纽约校区宝石学讲师
2019 年
6月 24-25 日(为期两天的研讨会);研究人员:Karen Smit(卡伦•斯密特)博士和 Ulrika D'Haenens-Johansson(乌尔丽卡•德哈恩斯-约翰森)博士
10 月 15-16 日(为期两天的研讨会);研究人员:Karen Smit(卡伦•斯密特)博士和 Ulrika D'Haenens-Johansson(乌尔丽卡•德哈恩斯-约翰森)博士

上海
电话:+021 52585880 或 +886 2 27719391
讲师:GIA 台北校区宝石学讲师
2019 年
日期待公布

 

研究人员简介

Mike Breeding(麦克·布里丁)博士是 GIA 加利福尼亚州卡尔斯巴德鉴定所的资深研究科学家兼钻石分析部经理。他的研究领域和专长是天然和合成钻石缺陷、处理方法及颜色成因。Breeding(布里丁)博士于 2004 年获得了耶鲁大学地质学博士学位,并于 2005 年获得了 GIA 研究宝石学家文凭。

Ulrika F.S. D’Haenens-Johansson(乌尔丽卡·德哈恩斯-约翰森)博士是 GIA 纽约鉴定所的资深研究科学家。她运用光学和 EPR 光谱,专门研究天然钻石、经处理钻石和合成钻石材料中缺陷的物理性质。她于 2007 年获得了英国华威大学的物理学硕士学位,并于 2011 年获得同一所大学的物理学博士学位。D’Haenens-Johansson(德哈恩斯-约翰森)博士的论文题目是“Optical and Magnetic Resonance Studies of Point Defects in CVD Diamond”(《CVD 钻石中点缺陷的光学和磁共振研究》)。

Sally Magaña(莎莉·马加纳)博士是 GIA 加利福尼亚州卡尔斯巴德鉴定所的资深研究科学家。她的研究领域和专长是钻石物理学、钻石处理方法和钻石合成。2003 年,她获得了美国俄亥俄州凯斯西储大学的化学工程博士学位。她的博士论文研究了化学蒸气沉淀法生长的合成钻石中所掺杂的硼和硫造成的影响。Magaña(马格纳)博士曾在华盛顿特区的 Naval Research Laboratory(海军研究实验室)进行博士后研究。自 2006 年以来,马加纳博士一直在 GIA 任职。

Karen Smit(卡伦·斯密特)博士是 GIA 纽约鉴定所的研究科学家,其研究领域和专长是钻石地质学。自 2014 年加入 GIA 以来,她一直积极参与天然钻石产地及颜色处理方面的研究工作。她对产自世界各地矿场的天然钻石进行了研究,包括澳大利亚埃伦代尔、塞拉利昂兹密、津巴布韦马兰吉以及加拿大维克多。2008 年,Smit(史密斯)博士获得了南非开普敦大学的地球化学硕士学位,2013 年获得了加拿大阿尔伯塔大学的地质学博士学位。

Evan Smith(埃文·史密斯)博士是 GIA 纽约鉴定所的研究科学家,他的研究领域和专业是钻石地质学,包括对稀有钻石内含物特征进行系统性描述。 
Smith(史密斯)对安哥拉出产的一颗 400 克拉钻石的研究便是 Science(《科学》)杂志 2016 年十二月刊的封面文章。他获得了皇后大学的应用科学学士学位和工程学硕士学位,以及 不列颠哥伦比亚大学地质学博士学位。2015 年,他与 GIA 合作进行博士后研究。

Wuyi Wang(王五一)博士是 GIA 的研发副总裁,在钻石地质化学以及钻石和其他宝石材料处理方面拥有超过 20 年的研究经验。他拥有 日本筑波大学的矿物学、实验岩石学及地质化学博士学位及中国北京大学地质学学士学位。

日期、课程内容和参与研究人员可能会有所变化。

Seminar

GIA Advanced Synthetic Diamond Seminar



Jun Rui

Learn the Latest Techniques to Identify Synthetic Diamonds from GIA Researchers – Seating is Limited.

Synthetic diamond technology is moving quickly, and with more synthetic diamonds available in the market, the gem and jewelry trade needs to be prepared with tools and techniques that will help them distinguish natural from synthetic diamonds.

In the GIA Advanced Synthetic Diamond Seminar, participants will gain in-depth knowledge of advanced diamond identification techniques, including hands-on experience with current production synthetic diamonds and the latest detection technology.

These one- to two-day seminars (length may vary by location) build on GIA’s more than 60 years of scientific research into natural, treated and synthetic diamonds and 80 years of GIA’s industry-leading gemological education programs.

The seminars are a combination of lecture and lab that leverages the expertise of GIA research scientists and the education skills and experience of GIA instructors. The GIA research scientist presenting the seminar will have expert knowledge of synthetic diamond as a material, its identification and gemological characteristics, along with the processes used by GIA’s laboratories to separate synthetic from natural diamonds.

Topics Include

  • Natural and synthetic diamond formation, diamond defects and their analysis, (including the basic principles of spectroscopy)

  • The gemological properties of chemical vapor deposition (CVD) and high-pressure, high-temperature (HPHT) grown synthetic diamonds

  • Post-growth treatment of synthetic diamond

  • The analytical instrumentation used by laboratories to identify synthetic diamonds

  • Hands-on sample examination of natural and synthetic diamonds

  • Hands-on operation of GIA instruments including the GIA iD100™, GIA DiamondCheck™ and the GIA UV Lamp with Viewing Cabinet.

Additional Information

  • GIA Alumni receive a 10% discount. This member benefit is available to all global GIA Alumni when registering for this seminar. Please communicate your alumni status for validation when registering.

  • Previous gemological training and/or experience recommended.

SEMINAR AVAILABILITY

New dates and locations may be added throughout the year. Seating is limited to less than 20 participants (depending on location).

For seminar costs, questions or to enroll, please complete the form below or call the telephone number listed for each location.

Carlsbad
T: +1 760 603 4001 or +1 800 421 7250 ext. 4001
Instructor: GIA Carlsbad campus gemology instructor
2019
Dates to be announced
 
Dubai
T: +971 4 2754500
Instructor: Dubai location gemology instructor
2019
March 17 – Researchers: Dr. Karen Smit and Dr. Mike Breeding
March 18 – Researchers: Dr. Karen Smit and Dr. Mike Breeding
 
Hong Kong
T: +852 3166 7001
Instructor: GIA Hong Kong campus gemology instructor
2019
March 5 – Researchers: Dr. Wuyi Wang and Dr. Ulrika F.S. D’Haenens-Johansson

London
T: +44 20 7813 4321
Instructor: GIA London campus gemology instructor
2019
May 28-29 (two-day seminar); Researchers: Dr. Ulrika F.S. D’Haenens-Johansson and Dr. Evan Smith
September 9-10 (two-day seminar); Researchers: Dr. Mike Breeding and Dr. Karen Smit
 
Mumbai
T: +1 800 41 999 14
Instructor: GIA Mumbai campus gemology instructor
2019
January 21 –  Researcher: Dr. Sally Magaña and Dr. Evan Smith
January 22 – Researcher: Dr. Sally Magaña and Dr. Evan Smith
August 19 – Researcher: Dr. Sally Magaña and Dr. Evan Smith
August 20 – Researchers Researcher: Dr. Sally Magaña and Dr. Evan Smith
 
Shanghai
T: +021 52585880 or +886 2 27719391
Instructor: GIA Taipei campus gemology instructor
2018
November 1-2 (two-day seminar); Researcher: Dr. Wuyi Wang

 

RESEARCHER BIOGRAPHIES

Dr. Mike Breeding is a senior research scientist and manager, diamond analytical, at the GIA laboratory in Carlsbad, California. His area of research and expertise is in natural and synthetic diamond defects, treatments and color origins. Dr. Breeding earned a doctorate in geology at Yale University, in 2004 and earned his GIA Graduate Gemologist credential in 2005.

Dr. Ulrika F.S. D’Haenens-Johansson is a senior research scientist at the GIA laboratory in New York. Her area of research and expertise is the defect physics of natural, treated and synthetic diamond materials using optical and EPR spectroscopy. She earned a master’s in physics with honors at the University of Warwick, United Kingdom in 2007 and a doctorate in physics, also at the University of Warwick, in 2011. Dr. D’Haenens-Johansson’s thesis was Optical and Magnetic Resonance Studies of Point Defects in CVD Diamond.

Dr. Sally Magaña is a senior research scientist at the GIA laboratory in Carlsbad, California. Her area of research and expertise is in diamond physics, treatments and synthetics. She earned a doctorate in chemical engineering at Case Western Reserve University in Ohio, USA in 2003. Her doctoral dissertation was studying the effects of boron and sulfur co-doping in synthetic diamond grown by chemical vapor deposition. Dr. Magaña  post-doctoral fellowship was at the Naval Research Laboratory in Washington D.C. Dr. Magaña has been with GIA since 2006.

Dr. Karen Smit is a research scientist at the GIA laboratory in New York. Her area of research and expertise is diamond geology and since joining GIA in 2014, she has been closely involved in researching the origin of natural diamonds and their color treatments. She has studied natural diamonds from deposits around the world, including Ellendale, Australia; Zimmi, Sierra Leone; Marange, Zimbabwe; and Victor, Canada. Dr. Smit earned a master’s in geochemistry from the University of Cape Town, South Africa in 2008 and a PhD in geology from the University of Alberta, Canada in 2013.

Dr. Evan Smith is a research scientist at the GIA laboratory in New York. His area of research and expertise is diamond geology, including methodically characterizing the inclusions found in rare diamonds. 
Dr. Smith’s study on a 400 ct diamond found in Angola was the December 2016 cover story of Science magazine. He received his bachelor of applied science and master of engineering from Queens University and a Ph.D. in geology from the University of British Columbia. He performed his postdoctoral research fellowship at GIA in 2015.

Dr. Wuyi Wang is Vice President of Research and Development at GIA and has more than 20 years of research experience in diamond geochemistry and the treatments of diamonds and other gem materials. He holds a Ph.D. in mineralogy, experimental petrology, and geochemistry from the University of Tsukuba in Japan and a bachelor’s degree in geology from the Beijing University.

Dates, course content and participating researcher are subject to change.