在线直播研讨会

实验室制造钻石高级研讨会



Jun Rui

向 GIA 研究人员学习最新的实验室制造钻石鉴定技术。

在线直播研讨会现已推出。 

实验室制造钻石(有时也称为人造钻石或合成钻石)技术正在快速发展,随着市场上提供的实验室制造钻石越来越多,宝石和珠宝行业需要利用各种工具和技术来帮助他们区分天然钻石与实验室制造钻石。

立即报名


本次为期两天的研讨会,是在 GIA 60 余年对天然钻石、经处理的钻石和实验室制造钻石的科学研究成果,以及 GIA 90 年来领先行业的宝石学教育项目基础上开展。与会者将深入了解先进的钻石鉴定技术,包括近距离观察实验室制造钻石当前制造方式和最新的检测技术。

GIA 宝石学讲师和研究人员将引导与会者,了解实验室制造钻石材料的相关专业知识,包括这类钻石的鉴定、宝石学特征,以及 GIA 鉴定所区分这类钻石与天然钻石的流程。研讨会将借助插图、图像、视频和现场演示等工具,让与会者看到我们的专家在鉴定天然钻石和实验室制造钻石时,他们在显微镜下看到的真实情景。与会者可在研讨会上与讲师交流互动,并将收到数字版指南和其他有用的参考资料。

主题包括

  • 天然和实验室制造钻石的形成、钻石缺陷及其分析(包括光谱学基本原理)

  • 化学蒸气沉淀法 (CVD) 和高压高温法 (HPHT) 生长的实验室制造钻石的宝石学性质

  • 实验室制造钻石的生长后处理

  • 鉴定所用于鉴定实验室制造钻石的分析仪器

  • 天然和实验室制造钻石的样品检验实践

  • 鉴定技术和鉴定仪器,包括 GIA iD100™、GIA DiamondCheck™ 和带观察箱的 GIA 紫外灯。

其他信息

  • GIA 校友可享受九折优惠。所有全球 GIA 校友在注册参加此研讨会时均可使用这项会员福利。注册时请告知您的校友身份以便确认。

  • 参与者最好参加过宝石学培训和/或具备相关经验。

研讨会举办情况

每场在线研讨会持续两天,分为多个小节。时间安排:上午 8:00 至下午 4:00 (太平洋时间)

为保证与会者和讲师的最佳体验,我们将限制与会者的人数。全年均可增加新的日期和地点。

2021 年

在线研讨会
2 月 9 日 - 10 日(为期两天的研讨会);研究人员:Ulrika D’Haenens-Johansson(乌尔丽卡·德哈恩斯-约翰森)博士和 Evan Smith(埃文·史密斯)博士
费用:$955(GIA 校友享受九折优惠)

报名

请填写在线报名。报名信息确认后,您将收到有关如何访问平台的信息。

 

 

研究人员简介

Mike Breeding(麦克·布里丁)博士是 GIA 加利福尼亚州卡尔斯巴德鉴定所的资深研究科学家兼钻石分析部经理。他的研究领域和专长是天然和实验室制造钻石的缺陷、处理方法及颜色成因。Breeding(布里丁)博士于 2004 年获得耶鲁大学地质学博士学位,并于 2005 年获得 GIA 研究宝石学家文凭。

Ulrika F.S. D’Haenens-Johansson(乌尔丽卡·F.S.德哈恩斯-约翰森)博士是 GIA 纽约鉴定所的资深研究科学家。她运用光学和 EPR 光谱,专门研究天然钻石、经处理钻石和实验室制造钻石材料缺陷的物理性质。她于 2007 年获得了英国华威大学的物理学硕士学位,并于 2011 年获得同一所大学的物理学博士学位。D’Haenens-Johansson(德哈恩斯-约翰森)博士的论文题目是“Optical and Magnetic Resonance Studies of Point Defects in CVD Diamond”(《CVD 钻石中点缺陷的光学和磁共振研究》)。

Sally Magaña(莎莉·马加纳)博士是 GIA 加利福尼亚州卡尔斯巴德鉴定所的资深研究科学家。她的研究领域和专长是钻石物理学、钻石处理方法和实验室制造钻石。2003 年,她获得了美国俄亥俄州凯斯西储大学的化学工程博士学位。她的博士论文研究了化学蒸气沉淀法生长的实验室制造钻石中所掺杂的硼和硫造成的影响。Magaña(马格纳)博士曾在华盛顿特区的 Naval Research Laboratory(海军研究实验室)进行博士后研究。自 2006 年以来,马加纳博士一直在 GIA 任职。

Karen Smit(卡伦·斯密特)博士是 GIA 纽约鉴定所的研究科学家,其研究领域和专长是钻石地质学。自 2014 年加入 GIA 以来,她一直积极参与天然钻石产地及颜色处理方面的研究工作。她对产自世界各地矿场的天然钻石进行了研究,包括澳大利亚埃伦代尔、塞拉利昂兹密、津巴布韦马兰吉以及加拿大维克多。2008 年,Smit(斯密特)博士获得了南非开普敦大学的地球化学硕士学位,2013 年获得了加拿大阿尔伯塔大学的地质学博士学位。

Evan Smith(埃文·史密斯)博士是 GIA 纽约鉴定所的研究科学家,他的研究领域和专业是钻石地质学,包括对稀有钻石内含物特征进行系统性描述。 

Smith(史密斯)对安哥拉出产的一颗 400 克拉钻石的研究便是 Science(《科学》)杂志 2016 年十二月刊的封面文章。他获得了皇后大学的应用科学学士学位和工程学硕士学位,以及 不列颠哥伦比亚大学地质学博士学位。2015 年,他在 GIA 进行博士后研究。

Wuyi Wang(王五一)博士是 GIA 的研发副总裁,在钻石地质化学以及钻石和其他宝石材料处理方面拥有超过 20 年的研究经验。他拥有 日本筑波大学的矿物学、实验岩石学及地质化学博士学位及中国北京大学地质学学士学位。

日期、课程内容和参与研究人员可能会有所变化。

GIA 继续教育产品具有业余或休闲性质,不作为个人获得初级职位的准备项目。这类项目不含学分,不会获得 GIA 学历证书。此外,这类项目也不可申请州、联邦的学生经济援助计划,也不在职业学院认证委员会 (ACCSC) 或远程教育认证委员会 (DEAC) 认可范围内。

You are being redirected to GIA Alumni Association, LLC.

5

Live Online Seminar

Advanced Laboratory-Grown Diamond Seminar



Jun Rui

Learn the Latest Techniques to Identify Laboratory-Grown Diamonds from GIA Researchers

Now available as a live online seminar. 

Laboratory-grown diamond (also sometimes referred to as man-made or synthetic diamond) technology is moving quickly, and with more laboratory-grown diamonds available in the market, the gem and jewelry trade needs to be prepared with tools and techniques that will help them distinguish natural from laboratory-grown diamonds.

Register Now


This two-day seminar builds on GIA’s more than 60 years of scientific research into natural, treated and laboratory-grown diamonds and 90 years of GIA’s industry-leading gemological education programs. Participants will gain in-depth knowledge of advanced diamond identification techniques, including an up-close examination of current production of laboratory-grown diamonds and the latest detection technology.

Participants will be guided by a GIA gemology instructor and a researcher with expert knowledge of laboratory-grown diamonds as a material, its identification and gemological characteristics, along with the processes used by GIA’s laboratories to separate laboratory-grown diamonds from natural diamonds. Learn from illustrations, images, video and live demonstrations that let you see exactly what our experts see as they examine natural and laboratory-grown diamonds, under a microscope. Participants can interact with the instructor during the seminar, and will receive a digital guidebook and other useful reference material.

Topics Include

  • Natural and laboratory-grown diamond formation, diamond defects and their analysis, (including the basic principles of spectroscopy)

  • The gemological properties of chemical vapor deposition (CVD) and high-pressure, high-temperature (HPHT) grown laboratory-grown diamonds

  • Post-growth treatment of laboratory-grown diamond

  • The analytical instrumentation used by laboratories to identify laboratory-grown diamonds

  • Hands-on sample examination of natural and laboratory-grown diamonds

  • Technologies and instruments used for identification including the GIA iD100™, GIA DiamondCheck™ and the GIA UV Lamp with Viewing Cabinet.

Additional Information

  • GIA Alumni receive a 10% discount. This member benefit is available to all global GIA Alumni when registering for this seminar. Please communicate your alumni status for validation when registering.

  • Previous gemological training and/or experience recommended.

SEMINAR AVAILABILITY

Each online seminar consists of multiple sessions over two days from 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. (Pacific Time)

The number of attendees will be limited to ensure the best experience for attendees and instructors. New dates and locations may be added throughout the year.

2021

Online Seminar
Apr 14-15; Researchers (subject to change): Mike Breeding and Sally Magana; Instructor: Kate Waterman
Jul 21-22; Researchers (subject to change): Mike Breeding and Sally Magana; Instructor: To Be Determined
Cost: $995 (GIA Alumni receive a 10% discount)

Registration

Please complete the online registration form. You will be provided with information about how to access the platform after your registration is confirmed.

 

 

RESEARCHER BIOGRAPHIES

Dr. Mike Breeding is a senior research scientist and manager, diamond analytical, at the GIA laboratory in Carlsbad, California. His area of research and expertise is in natural and laboratory-grown diamond defects, treatments and color origins. Dr. Breeding earned a doctorate in geology at Yale University, in 2004 and earned his GIA Graduate Gemologist credential in 2005.

Dr. Ulrika F.S. D’Haenens-Johansson is a senior research scientist at the GIA laboratory in New York. Her area of research and expertise is the defect physics of natural, treated and laboratory-grown diamond materials using optical and EPR spectroscopy. She earned a master’s in physics with honors at the University of Warwick, United Kingdom in 2007 and a doctorate in physics, also at the University of Warwick, in 2011. Dr. D’Haenens-Johansson’s thesis was Optical and Magnetic Resonance Studies of Point Defects in CVD Diamond.

Dr. Sally Magaña is a senior research scientist at the GIA laboratory in Carlsbad, California. Her area of research and expertise is in diamond physics, treatments and laboratory-grown diamonds. She earned a doctorate in chemical engineering at Case Western Reserve University in Ohio, USA in 2003. Her doctoral dissertation was studying the effects of boron and sulfur co-doping in laboratory-grown diamond grown by chemical vapor deposition. Dr. Magaña's post-doctoral fellowship was at the Naval Research Laboratory in Washington D.C. Dr. Magaña has been with GIA since 2006.

Dr. Karen Smit is a research scientist at the GIA laboratory in New York. Her area of research and expertise is diamond geology and since joining GIA in 2014, she has been closely involved in researching the origin of natural diamonds and their color treatments. She has studied natural diamonds from deposits around the world, including Ellendale, Australia; Zimmi, Sierra Leone; Marange, Zimbabwe; and Victor, Canada. Dr. Smit earned a master’s in geochemistry from the University of Cape Town, South Africa in 2008 and a PhD in geology from the University of Alberta, Canada in 2013.

Dr. Evan Smith is a research scientist at the GIA laboratory in New York. His area of research and expertise is diamond geology, including methodically characterizing the inclusions found in rare diamonds. 

Dr. Smith’s study on a 400 ct diamond found in Angola was the December 2016 cover story of Science magazine. He received his bachelor of applied science and master of engineering from Queens University and a Ph.D. in geology from the University of British Columbia. He performed his postdoctoral research fellowship at GIA in 2015.

Dr. Wuyi Wang is Vice President of Research and Development at GIA and has more than 20 years of research experience in diamond geochemistry and the treatments of diamonds and other gem materials. He holds a Ph.D. in mineralogy, experimental petrology, and geochemistry from the University of Tsukuba in Japan and a bachelor’s degree in geology from the Beijing University.

Dates, course content and participating researcher are subject to change.

GIA’s continuing education offerings are considered avocational or recreational in nature and are not intended to prepare individuals for entry-level employment. They are non-credit bearing and do not lead to a GIA academic credential. They are not eligible for state or federal student financial aid programs and do not fall under the approval of the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC) or the Distance Education Accrediting Commission (DEAC).

You are being redirected to GIA Alumni Association, LLC.

5