拓帕石描述


Placeholder Alt Text
这些精选宝石产自巴西的欧鲁普雷图和俄罗斯的乌拉尔山脉,呈现出贵重拓帕石的金橙色到略带粉色的红色范围。 宝石重量从 7.61 到 14.33 克拉不等。
许多消费者只知道拓帕石是一种廉价的蓝色宝石。 而完全不知蓝色并非其自然色:几乎都是经过处理后才有的。 他们可能还会惊讶于拓帕石的其他缤纷色彩,足供宝石爱好者选择,其中包括粉红色和紫色。这两种颜色可媲美最优质的彩色蓝宝石。

红紫色梨形拓帕石
产自巴西卡庞矿的这颗优质红紫色梨形拓帕石拥有顶级的色彩。 - Wagner Colombarolli 博士友情提供
拓帕石具有它色性,其原因是除了基本化学组成元素,宝石还含杂质元素或晶体结构中存在缺陷。 铬元素会使拓帕石呈现自然的粉红色、红色,靛色至紫色。 拓帕石晶体结构的原子缺陷可产生黄色、褐色和蓝色。 褐色拓帕石十分常见,有时会被误称为“烟水晶”。

帝王拓帕石
到目前为止,商业帝王拓帕石矿藏仅存在于一个区域:巴西的欧鲁普雷图。 6.00 克拉梨形和 3.82 克拉复古式切工展现出宝石颜色的细微差别。 - Suwa & Son 友情提供
拓帕石晶体
逆光时,这种晶体的色域和高净度尤为显著。 经过雕琢打磨·,它或许可以成为一颗独特的宝石。 - Wagner Colombarolli 友情提供
实际上,拓帕石拥有非常广泛的颜色范围,除褐色外,还包括各种色调和色度的蓝色、绿色、黄色、橙色、红色、粉红色和紫色。 无色拓帕石产量众多,通常会将其处理成蓝色。

拓帕石晶体
拓帕石晶体通常较为细长,带有平行于长边的凹槽。 因为这个原因,它们通常被切磨成长椭圆形或梨形的形状。 这些晶体显示出橙色、粉红色和褐色。 - Eric Welch/美国宝石研究院 (GIA)
有色品种往往简单地通过其颜色命名 - 蓝色拓帕石、粉色拓帕石等等,但其中也不乏有专门行业名称的拓帕石。 帝王拓帕石的颜色为中等偏红橙色至橙红色。 这颗是最昂贵的宝石颜色之一。 雪莉拓帕石 - 根据雪莉酒而命名 - 是一种黄褐色或褐黄色至橙色的宝石。 在这个色彩范围的宝石通常被称为尊贵的拓帕石,以区分具有同样颜色但更便宜的黄水晶和烟水晶。

拓帕石也具有多向色性,这意味着,这种宝石能在不同的晶体方向呈现不同的色彩。

Topaz Description

Topaz
This selection of gems from Ouro Prêto, Brazil, and Russia's Ural Mountains, displays the golden orange to pinkish red color range of precious topaz. The gems range from 7.61 to 14.33 carats in size.
Many consumers know topaz as simply an inexpensive blue gem. They’re surprised to learn that its blue color is hardly ever natural: It’s almost always caused by treatment. They might also be surprised to know that topaz has so many more colors to offer gem lovers, including pinks and purples that rival the finest fancy sapphires.

Reddish Purple Pear-shaped Topaz
This superb reddish purple pear-shaped topaz from Brazil's Capão mine displays the gem’s top color. - Courtesy Dr. Wagner Colombarolli
Topaz is allochromatic, which means that its color is caused by impurity elements or defects in its crystal structure rather than by an element of its basic chemical composition. The element chromium causes natural pink, red, and violet-to-purple colors in topaz. Imperfections at the atomic level in topaz crystal structure can cause yellow, brown, and blue color. Brown is a common topaz color, and the gem is sometimes mistakenly called “smoky quartz.”

Imperial Topaz
So far, commercial deposits of imperial topaz are found in a single area of the world: Ouro Prêto in Brazil. The 6.00-carat pear shape and 3.82-carat antique cut display nuances of the gem's color. - Courtesy Suwa & Son
Topaz Crystal
Against the light, this crystal's color zones and high clarity stand out clearly. It might be possible to fashion a unique gem from this piece. - Courtesy Dr. Wagner Colombarolli
Topaz actually has an exceptionally wide color range that, besides brown, includes various tones and saturations of blue, green, yellow, orange, red, pink, and purple. Colorless topaz is plentiful, and is often treated to give it a blue color.

Topaz Crystals
Topaz crystals are typically elongated, with grooves parallel to their lengths. For this reason, they're commonly cut into long oval or pear shapes. These crystals show orange, pink, and brown colors. - Eric Welch/GIA
The color varieties are often identified simply by hue name—blue topaz, pink topaz, and so forth—but there are also a couple of special trade names. Imperial topaz is a medium reddish orange to orange-red. This is one of the gem’s most expensive colors. Sherry topaz—named after the sherry wine—is a yellowish brown or brownish yellow to orange. Stones in this color range are often called precious topaz to help distinguish them from the similarly colored but less expensive citrine and smoky quartz.

Topaz is also pleochroic, meaning that the gem can show different colors in different crystal directions.

Learn More About Topaz

Topaz
Explore topaz history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

Topaz Description

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Summer 2016 Edition
Learn more