丹泉石保养和清洁指南


Placeholder Alt Text
丹泉石可以镶嵌在各种款式的首饰上,但应对丹泉石进行适当的保养,避免重击。 - Tanzanite Foundation ™ 友情提供
硬度和韧度
以莫氏硬度衡量宝石和矿物的硬度。 这些数值基于一种矿物可被其他物品划伤的相对难易程度得出。 但莫氏硬度易产生误导。 矿物之间的等级差距并不相等。 举例来说,钻石仅比刚玉高一个等级,但其却比刚玉坚硬许多倍。
莫氏硬度
丹泉石在莫氏硬度中排 6~7 级。
黝帘石(丹泉石)在莫氏硬度中为 6〜7 级。 它韧度较差,具有劈裂特性,即敲打时很容易破裂。 虽然丹泉石不如蓝宝石坚硬、有韧性,但在适当的预防措施下,避免粗暴穿戴和强烈碰撞,仍然可以与所有类型的珠宝搭配穿戴。

稳定性
在正常佩戴的情况下,丹泉石耐热、耐光、耐受一般化学品,性质稳定。 即使如此,丹泉石不可经受高温度或温度的突然变化。 丹泉石接触盐酸和氢氟酸会受损。

清洁
干净的温水、肥皂水始终可确保安全。 不推荐使用超声波和蒸汽清洁丹泉石

处理方法和坚固性考虑
丹泉石通过常规加热处理来改变其颜色,将其由棕色为主的外观加热至蓝紫色为主。 处理起来较稳定,无需担心坚固性的问题。

已经有用涂层改变丹泉石颜色的实例。 但一般很少这样做,因为涂层并不是永久性的,而且正常佩戴会划伤或损坏其表面。

与其他透明的宝石一样,有裂缝的丹泉石可以进行填补处理,以提高外观清晰度。但很少用这种方法处理丹泉石。 宝石裂缝处的填充材料随着时间的推移会改变宝石外观。

Tanzanite Care and Cleaning Guide

Tanzanite Ring
With proper care to avoid hard blows, tanzanite can be worn in all styles of jewelry. - Courtesy Tanzanite Foundation ™
Hardness and toughness
Gem and mineral hardness is measured on the Mohs scale. The numbers are based on the relative ease or difficulty with which one mineral can be scratched by another. But the Mohs scale is deceptive. The steps between the minerals are not evenly spaced. For example, diamond is only one number away, but it’s many times harder than gems in the corundum family.
Mohs Scale
Tanzanite ranks 6 to 7 on the Mohs scale.
Zoisite (tanzanite) is 6 to 7 on the Mohs scale. It has fair to poor toughness and a property called cleavage, which is a tendency to break when struck. While tanzanite is not as hard or as tough as a stone like sapphire, it still can be worn in all types of jewelry with proper precautions against rough wearing or hard blows.

Stability
Tanzanite is stable under normal wearing conditions, which means it’s resistant to the effects of heat, light, and common chemicals. Even so, tanzanite should not be subjected to very high temperatures or sudden temperature changes. It can be attacked by exposure to hydrochloric and hydrofluoric acids.

Cleaning
Warm, soapy water is always safe. Ultrasonic and steam cleaners are never recommended for tanzanite

Treatment and durability considerations
Tanzanite is routinely heat-treated to modify its color from a predominately brownish appearance to a predominately blue to purple appearance. The treatment is stable with no additional durability concerns.

There have been instances where tanzanite was coated to modify the color. Although rarely done, the coatings are not permanent and can be scratched or damaged through normal wear.

Like other transparent gemstones, tanzanite can be fracture filled to improve apparent clarity, although this is an uncommon tanzanite treatment method. The materials used to fill fractures in gemstones can alter in appearance over time.

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Fall 2016 Edition
Learn more