尖晶石的历史与知识


Placeholder Alt Text
芝加哥菲尔得自然历史博物馆的这颗宝石上雕刻着 noor jahan,意为“宇宙之光”。- “宝石与宝石学:矿物世界的永恒自然之美”,Lance Grande 与 Allison Augustyn,2009 年, 芝加哥大学出版社。
“历史上最怀才不遇的宝石”非尖晶石莫属。一些古老的矿场曾为罗马和中国的宫廷提供尖晶石,但却通常与红宝石和蓝宝石等较知名的宝石相混淆。

在古代,中亚和东南亚的矿山盛产非常大的尖晶石晶体。 这些精美的宝石被称为巴拉斯红宝石,其中一些成为帝王的珍贵财产,常常作为战利品经手多人。 故此一些世界上最著名的“红宝石”实际上是尖晶石。

其中一个最著名的例子就是所谓的“黑王子红宝石”。这颗历史悠久的深红色宝石被镶嵌在英国的帝国之冠上,展示于伦敦塔。 宝石打磨光滑,并大致呈八角形,可能产自阿富汗的群山。 据历史记载,它最早出现在十四世纪的西班牙,曾隶属于摩尔人和西班牙国王。1367 年,威尔士亲王爱德华(“黑王子”)作为战争的胜利品而将其收入囊中。

从那时起,许多其他英国帝王,包括亨利八世,都曾非常珍爱过这颗宝石。 这颗宝石为他们带来了好运,令其从火灾、盗窃及二战空袭中幸存下来,与英格兰皇冠珠宝的中心之作光之山钻石 (Koh-I-Noor Diamond) 齐名。

另一颗较大的皇冠珠宝尖晶石,“铁木尔红宝石”,重量超过 350 克拉。 它也有一段曲折的历史。 宝石上雕刻的拥有者标记印证了它的悠久历史。

从大众角度,现代技术并没有帮助尖晶石摆脱令人困惑的窘境。 这主要是由于合成尖晶石作为许多其他宝石的仿品而广泛使用。 大多数客户甚至不知道还有天然的尖晶石。

Spinel History and Lore

Inscribed Spinel
This gem at the Chicago Field Museum of Natural History is inscribed with noor jahan, or “light of the universe.” - Courtesy "Gems and Gemstones:Timeless Natural Beauty of the Mineral World" by Lance Grande and Allison Augustyn, 2009. University of Chicago Press.
Spinel is a good candidate for the title of “History’s Most Underappreciated Gem.” Some ancient mines that supplied gems for royal courts from Rome to China produced spinel, but it was usually confused with better-known stones like ruby and sapphire.

In ancient times, the mines of central and southeast Asia yielded exceptionally large spinel crystals. These fine stones became known as Balas rubies, and some of them were the treasured property of kings and emperors, often passing through many hands as spoils of war. As a result, some of the world’s most illustrious “rubies” are actually spinel.

One of the most famous examples is the so-called “Black Prince’s ruby.” This historic crimson-red gem is set in England’s Imperial State Crown and displayed in the Tower of London. Smoothly polished and roughly octagonal in shape, it was probably mined in the mountains of Afghanistan. It first appeared in the historical records of fourteenth-century Spain, and was owned by a succession of Moorish and Spanish Kings before Edward, Prince of Wales—the “Black Prince”— received the stone in 1367 as payment for a battle victory.

Since then, many other English monarchs—including Henry VIII—have cherished the gem. It’s outlasted them all, surviving fires, attempted theft, and World War II bombing raids, to become—with the Koh-i-Noor diamond—one of the centerpieces of England’s Crown Jewels.

Another large spinel in the Crown Jewels, the “Timur ruby,” weighs over 350 carats. It, too, has a checkered history. Several Persian inscriptions carved into the gem testify to its age.

Modern technology hasn’t helped spinel’s confused identity as far as the general public is concerned. This is due largely to the widespread use of synthetic spinel as an imitation for many other gems. Most customers aren’t even aware that there’s a natural version of the stone.

Learn More About Spinel

Why We Love
Explore spinel history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
Read More

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Summer 2016 Edition
Learn more