蓝宝石保养和清洁指南


Placeholder Alt Text
各种颜色的刚玉都十分坚固,在首饰中广泛使用。
- 加利福尼亚州卡尔斯巴德 Pauling Blue Fire Diamonds 友情提供
硬度和韧度
莫氏硬度用以衡量宝石和矿物的硬度。 这些数字基于一种矿物可被其他物品划伤的相对难易程度得出。 但莫氏硬可以产生误导。 矿物之间的硬度等级区分并不均匀。 举例来说,钻石仅比刚玉高一个等级,但其硬度却比刚玉坚硬许多倍。
 
刚玉(红宝石和蓝宝石)是比较硬的,莫氏硬度为 9。 它韧性好,无劈裂。劈裂是指宝石受力后沿一定方向断裂的特性。 这使其成为戒指以及其他日常佩戴首饰的绝佳之选。 

莫氏硬度
蓝宝石的莫氏硬度为 9。

稳定性 
在正常佩戴的情况下,刚玉十分稳定,这意味着它耐热、耐光、不受一般化学品的影响。 硼酸粉会腐蚀未经处理的宝石表面。 经裂缝填充、洞痕填充和染色处理的宝石会被酸损坏,即使是像柠檬汁这种轻微的酸。  

清洁
温肥皂水永远是安全的。 超声波和蒸汽清洗装置通常可以用于清洗未经处理、经热处理和晶格扩散处理的宝石。 经过裂缝填充、洞痕填充或染色处理的材料应使用湿布清洁。

处理方法和坚固性考虑
未经处理和经过均衡热处理的蓝宝石非常坚固。
 
经过晶格扩散处理的宝石会有不同程度的颜色渗透。 一些宝石中,处理后的颜色会渗透到整个宝石;而另一些的颜色渗透只在表面。 对于颜色仅渗透宝石表面的晶格扩散处理宝石,表面损伤或二次切削会移除颜色。
 
经过裂缝填充处理的宝石会有触及表面的裂缝,主要是用高铅含量的玻璃予以填充。  填料与多种化学品接触可致损坏。 即使是相对温和的物质,如柠檬汁,亦可引起高铅含量的玻璃的变化。
 
采用此填充方法的蓝宝石比红宝石少得多。 但在某些情况下,蓝宝石中玻璃填料的数量则相当广泛。 用这种方法处理的蓝宝石与未经处理、经热处理或晶格扩散处理的蓝宝石相比,需加倍小心护理。

Sapphire Care and Cleaning Guide

Ruby and Sapphire Jewelry
Corundum in all colors is a highly durable gemstone for use in jewelry.
- Courtesy Pauling Blue Fire Diamonds, Carlsbad, California
Hardness and toughness
Gem and mineral hardness is measured on the Mohs scale. The numbers are based on the relative ease or difficulty with which one mineral can be scratched by another. But the Mohs scale is deceptive. The steps between the minerals are not evenly spaced. For example, diamond is only one number away, but it’s many times harder than gems in the corundum family.
Corundum (ruby and sapphire) is relatively hard—9 on the Mohs scale. It has excellent toughness and no cleavage, which is a tendency to break when struck. This makes it a great choice for rings and other mountings subject to daily wear. 

Mohs Scale
Sapphire ranks 9 on the Mohs hardness scale.

Corundum is stable under normal wearing conditions, which means it’s resistant to the effects of heat, light, and common chemicals. Boric acid powder will etch the surface of even untreated stones. Fracture-filled, cavity-filled, and dyed stones can be damaged by even mild acids like lemon juice.  

Warm, soapy water is always safe. Ultrasonic and steam cleaners are usually safe for untreated, heat-treated, and lattice diffusion treated stones. Fracture-filled, cavity-filled, or dyed material should only be cleaned with a damp cloth.

Treatment and durability considerations
Untreated and even heat-treated sapphire is very durable.
Stones that have undergone lattice diffusion treatment have varying degrees of treated-color penetration. In some stones, the treated color penetrates the entire stone, while in others there’s very shallow penetration. Surface damage or re-cutting can remove the color from lattice diffusion treated stones with shallow color penetration.
Fracture-filled stones have surface-reaching fractures filled primarily with high-lead content glass.  The filler can be damaged through contact with a variety of chemicals. Even relatively mild substances like lemon juice can cause alteration of high-lead content glass.
The number of sapphires filled with high-lead content glass is much lower than the number of rubies. In some cases, the amount of glass filler in a sapphire can be quite extensive. Sapphires treated this way require greater care than untreated, heat-treated, or lattice diffusion treated sapphire.

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Summer 2016 Edition
Learn more