隐私权政策



隐私权政策

最后更新时间:2015 年 12 月 22 日

跳转至:

适用范围
我们收集到的有关您的信息
我们使用有关您的信息
分享您的信息
取消订阅
互联网商务
链接
Cookie 和其他跟踪设备
儿童隐私
非美国居民请注意——我们会储存和传送您的个人信息
访问权限和修改
用户生成内容
联系 GIA

美国宝石研究院(Gemological Institute of America, Inc.,以下简称为“GIA”)尊重您的隐私。 GIA 网站隐私政策旨在告知您,我们通过我们的网站,即 www.gia.edu(以下简称“本网站”),来收集和使用可识别您个人身份的信息(例如,您的姓名、电子邮件地址、家庭/邮寄地址、电话号码、购物历史和信用卡信息)方面所采取的保密措施。 使用本网站、本网站提供的产品和服务以及移动应用程序(以下简称“应用程序”),即表示您同意我们依照本网站的隐私政策,对您的信息(包括您的个人信息)进行相关操作。隐私政策包含在我们的服务条款参考附录中。 如果您不同意或接受本隐私政策的条款,请不要使用本网站或我们的应用程序。

适用范围

您在访问本网站和使用我们的产品及服务,以及下载和使用我们的移动应用程序(以下统称为“服务”)的过程中,我们所收集到的有关您的信息均属于本隐私权政策的适用范围。 您的信息同样还受到其他政策的保护,例如,学生的信息不仅受 GIA 教育隐私政策保护,还应遵守美国联邦法律《家庭教育权和隐私权法案》(FERPA) 的相关条例。 您可以与 GIA 教育档案部联系以了解该政策。 想了解更多信息,请参阅第 59 页“学业政策和程序”部分的“学业成绩”教育目录。 如果本隐私权政策与 FERPA 政策(或我们可能不时提供的其他教育类政策)相冲突,则以后者为准,而不是本隐私权政策。

我们收集到的有关您的信息

我们直接收集到的信息:当您创建帐户,报名参加我们的在线课程,从我们这里索要信息,购买我们的产品,或者在我们的网站上参与互动和使用服务时,我们会直接收集您的信息,包括您的个人信息。 我们收集到的信息类别,会因您与我们网站的具体互动而有所不同,其中可能包括:您的姓名、电子邮件地址、家庭/邮寄地址、电话号码、(视情况而定)付款信息,还有与您的教育背景相关的信息等。 请注意,您的教育帐户不可用于在本网站购买特定物品/其他用途,您需要另外注册一个帐户方可使用。

第三方。 在本网站上,您可以通过电子邮件向朋友分享您认为有意思的服务。 我们将收集您和您朋友的姓名和电子邮件地址。 我们利用从您这里收集到的信息来满足您的要求,但我们不会将这些信息用于今后的营销推广。

我们自动收集的信息:

  • 通过我们的网站:我们可能会使用 Cookie、网站信标及其他自动设备,来收集您的相关信息,包括您的 IP 地址、浏览器类型、访客域名、进站前链接网页(访问过的页面)、之后的页面以及您是否第一次访问页面。 我们可能会使用统计后的数据和内容,还可能会结合这些信息与收集到的您的个人信息。
  • 通过我们的移动应用程序:
    • iPhone 和 iPad 版 GIA 4C 指南(英文和简体中文):GIA 收集与使用移动应用程序相关的匿名信息,从而为客户提供最出色的体验。 如果您不想参加我们的分析数据收集服务 Flurry Analytics,请按照 www.flurry.com 网站上的提示以取消订阅。
    • iPad 版《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology):GIA 使用 Google Analytics(谷歌分析)来收集有关使用 iPad 版《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 应用程序的匿名信息。 该工具可帮助我们发现任何重复发生的技术问题,并为读者提供最友好的体验。 要阻止 Google Analytics 捕获您的使用信息,唯一的方法是断开设备与互联网的连接后再阅读。 但是,这样做可能会对该应用程序的性能产生不利影响,妨碍它像预期的那样发挥功能。

请参阅“Cookie 和其他跟踪设备”部分,深入了解我们使用 Cookie 的详情。

我们使用有关您的信息

我们使用收集到的您的相关信息:

  • 为您提供所需的产品和服务,包括参与我们的在线学习课程,回复您的询问以及其他涉及客户服务的用途;
  • 优化 GIA 网站的使用体验;
  • 开展市场营销和广告宣传,比如,向您发送电子邮件,告知您可能感兴趣的产品和服务;
  • 与您沟通入学事宜,包括通知您可能感兴趣的、即将开课的课程;
  • 募集捐款;
  • 开展研究;
  • 更好地了解用户如何访问及使用我们的网站和网站服务,我们会基于总体和个人两方面情况进行了解。
  • 改善我们的网站和服务;
  • 增进您与 GIA 的关系。

GIA 可能会利用第三方的数据来补充或合并您的个人信息,以便更好地向您推广 GIA 的产品或服务。

分享您的信息

我们不会为了非附属第三方的营销目的,而向他们透露您的个人信息。 但是,我们会分享您的信息,包括您的个人信息(以下统称“信息”),以帮助我们更好地为您提供服务,目的如下:

给学生的特别通知。 如果您参加了我们的在线学习,我们为学生提供相互交流的机会。 您发布作为课程内容的相关信息可能会向其他学生和教职人员提供。

  • 服务提供商。 我们可能会向第三方供应商、服务提供商、承包商、专业顾问或代理披露我们收集到的有关您的信息,上述第三方可代表我们履行相关职能(以下统称“服务提供商”)。 根据合同要求,这些服务提供商必须保护您的信息。
  • 附属机构。 我们将与附属机构共享您的信息(如需要),以优化您在 GIA 的体验。 比如,如果您参与了我们的在线学习,我们会将您的信息共享给您居住地的附属机构(如需要),及/或能够根据您的教育背景为您提供最佳课程的附属机构。 我们的附属机构会在法律允许的情况下,不时向您发送电子邮件和/或信件,根据您的学习进度,向您介绍可能感兴趣的产品和服务(包括课程和活动),除非您要求我们停止这么做。
  • 企业转让。 如果我们公司被收购或是与另一家企业合并,或者我们公司开始走破产程序,而使我们的资产几乎全部转让给另一家企业,我们可能会将收集到有关您的信息转移给收购企业。
  • 按照法律程序行事。 出于法律规定、司法程序、法院命令或其他法律程序的需要,我们也可能会披露所收集的有关您的信息,比如在传讯时便是如此。
  • 保护自身和他人。 当我们认为需要进行调查,预防或打击非法活动、涉嫌欺诈以及对个人安全构成潜在威胁或违背我们的使用条款及本政策的情形时,我们也会披露收集到的信息。

汇总信息和匿名信息。 我们可能会与第三方共享汇总信息或匿名信息,用于营销、广告、研究或类似用途。

取消订阅

我们可能会定期向您发送有关 GIA 的各种产品、服务、新闻稿或常规更新的电子通讯。 您可以使用“取消订阅”选项或发送请求至 privacy@gia.edu,以取消订阅部分或全部电子通讯。 如果您拒收我们的营销宣传信息,我们会一如既往地继续通过电子邮件告知您的学习情况,以及客服相关事项(例如,通知您购买我们商品的进度情况)。

互联网商务

您与 GIA 的在线交易都经过专门设计,在您的信用卡信息和其他任何个人信息的隐私方面为您提供多种选择。 GIA 致力于确保从本网站收集的个人信息的数据安全。 如果您希望购物,但不想在线提供个人信用卡信息,则可以通过电话联系 GIA 代表。

链接

为了您的方便,GIA 可能会提供指向某些第三方网站的链接,或者向您推介某些第三方产品或服务。 如果您选择访问第三方的网站或使用其产品或服务,请注意是由该第三方的隐私政策(而不是 GIA 的隐私政策)管理您的活动以及您在与第三方交互时提供的任何信息。

Cookie 和其他跟踪设备

我们利用网页 cookie、网站信标(包括清晰的 GIF 图片)、Flash LSO(本地共享对象)和类似技术来跟踪用户活动、收集网址和移动应用程序数据。 我们会将这些数据与收集到的个人数据合并。

您的同意。 如果您继续使用本网站,即表示您同意我们将 cookie 植入您的电脑或便携式电子设备,以便分析您使用本网站的方式。 请仔细阅读本 cookie 部分,深入了解我们在您使用本网站时所收集信息的详情。

如果您不希望我们在您浏览本网站时使用 cookie,请立即停止浏览本网站。

Cookie。 有了 Cookie,网页服务器就能传输数据至电脑,以留作记录或用于其他目的。 我们和第三方服务提供商在网站上使用 cookie 和专为移动应用设计的类似设备,旨在利用量身定制的信息更好地为您提供服务,方便您访问和使用本网站。 Cookie 有两种类型:会话型 Cookie 和永久性 Cookie。

  • 会话型 Cookie。 会话型 cookie 只存在于在线会话中。 当您关闭浏览器或关闭电脑时,它们就会从您的电脑中消失。 我们使用会话型 cookie,这样系统就能识别出您正处在会话中,还是您登录了我们的网站。 这样,当您登入本网站并在站内浏览时,我们就能处理您的在线交易和要求,并核实您的身份。
  • 永久性 cookie。 在您关闭浏览器或电脑后,永久性 Cookie 仍会留在电脑上。 我们通过永久性 cookie 来跟踪用户活动的相关汇总和统计信息,我们可能会将其与其他用户信息合并。

禁用 Cookie。 大部分网络浏览器自动接受 cookie,但是,如果您想今后拦截 cookie,可以编辑您的浏览器选项。 大多数浏览器工具栏的“帮助”部分会告诉您如何在电脑上拦截新 cookie,当您收到新 cookie 时如何让浏览器通知您,以及如何禁用所有 cookie。 网站访客如果禁止浏览器使用 cookie,仍可浏览本网站;但是,很多网站功能无法正常使用,例如购物车。

本地存储对象。 我们可能会利用 Flash 本地存储对象(“Flash LSO”),来保存您使用网站的偏好,并支持个性化应用。 Flash LSO 与浏览器 cookie 在存储数据的数量和种类上均有所不同。 此外,您无法通过浏览器控制、删除或禁止接受 Flash LSO。 如需关于 Flash LSO 的更多详情,或是了解如何管理您的 Flash cookie 设置,请访问 Adobe Flash Player 帮助页面,选择“全球存储设置面板”,并按照指示进行操作。 要查看电脑当前的 Flash LSO,请选择“网站存储设置面板”,按照指示进行查看,或选择删除特定的 Flash LSO。

网络信标、像素标签和其他技术。 我们的第三方服务提供商会在发给客户的网页电子邮件中使用网络信标,以帮助我们跟踪电子邮件回复率,衡量营销活动的成效,掌握邮件被查看的时间以及跟踪邮件是否被转发。

网站分析。 我们与第三方服务提供商合作,他们利用本节中描述的技术手段进行网站分析,以帮助我们跟踪和了解访客是如何使用我们的网站和移动应用程序的。 例如,我们使用多种第三方网络分析法,帮助我们优化网站和移动应用程序的性能和用户体验。

针对欧盟访客的特别提示。 撤销同意。 一旦您同意我们使用 cookie,我们将在您的电脑或设备上存储 cookie,方便下次执行同一操作。 这一许可会定期失效。 如果您想在任何时间撤销同意,需要在 Internet 浏览器设置中删除 Cookie。
想了解更多关于 cookie 的内容,比如如何查看已设置的 cookie 以及如何管理并删除它们,请访问 www.aboutcookies.org www.allaboutcookies.org

儿童隐私

GemKids 专为未成年人设计,不会获取个人数据。除此之外,本网站其他栏目都是为 18 岁以上用户而设计的。 GIA 致力于保护未满 18 岁未成年人的隐私。 我们不会故意收集未成年人的个人数据。 如果我们发现通过本网站的任何部分提交个人信息的用户是儿童,经查实后,我们会在实际允许的情况下,尽快删除此类个人信息。

非美国居民请注意 - 我们会储存和传输您的个人信息

我们可能会将所收集的有关您的信息(包括个人信息)传输到世界各地(如 GIA 设有办事处的国家或地区)。这些信息可能通过本网站、移动应用程序收集或由您亲自提供。 我们也可能将客户信息传输给第三方服务提供商,他们可能使用云解决方案并将数据储存于您的原生国之外的其他国家或地区(如美国)。 请注意,执法部门和其他政府机构也可能访问您的信息,如法律规定的相应司法管辖区内的法院和法庭。 GIA(及其附属机构)已制定相关的规程,以保护您的信息。

访问权限和修改

GIA 将采取合理措施,确保其所保留的个人信息准确、完整且为最新状态。 请务必定期检查您的帐户,确保您的相关个人资料的准确性。

您有权访问和修改自己的特定信息。 任何访问请求必须采用书面形式,且在法律允许的情况下,我们可能向您收取小额费用,作为我们为您提供我们所持有的关于您的信息详情的费用。 如有任何访问请求,或对我们的隐私惯例有任何疑问或意见,请通过以下联系方式告知我们。

用户生成内容

本网站的某些部分可能支持用户生成内容,如博客和论坛。 本网站的其他访客可能会看到您在公开的博客或论坛上发布的信息。 您通过我们的学生/教育博客提交的信息至少会被该项服务的其他注册用户看到。 对于您选择在本网站上发布的所有信息的隐私性,或上述发布内容的准确性,我们概不负责。 您所披露的任何信息将成为公开信息。 我们无法避免上述信息被其他人士用于违反本政策、法律或侵犯您的个人隐私权的用途。

联系 GIA

如果您想与我们联系,了解我们的隐私惯例的任何信息,请写信到以下地址:
收件人:Privacy Policy – MS 34
Gemological Institute of America
The Robert Mouawad Campus
5345 Armada Drive
Carlsbad,CA 92008

您可以将其发送到以上地址或发送电邮至 privacy@gia.edu,提交有关您个人信息的请求。

GIA 保留修改本隐私政策的权利,可能会在认为适当的时候不定期进行修改。 您可以访问 GIA 网站查看最新版本的隐私政策。 在您对 GIA 网站的后续使用过程中,必须遵守当时的隐私政策。 感谢您访问 GIA 网站。

©2017 Gemological Institute of America, Inc.(美国宝石研究院有限公司)

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 2016 年春季刊
了解更多 (用英语)

Privacy Policy

Privacy Policy

Last updated August 20, 2015

Jump To:

Information We Collect About You
Our Use Of Your Information
Sharing Your Information
Internet Commerce
Cookies and Other Tracking Devices
Children’s Privacy
Notice To Persons Residing Outside of The United States - Where We Store and Transfer Your Personal Information
Access Rights and Correction
User Generated Content
Contact GIA

Gemological Institute of America, Inc. (“GIA”) respects your privacy. GIA provides this website privacy policy to inform you of our privacy practices with respect to the collection and use of information that we collect about you, including any information that might personally identify you (e.g., your name, email address, home / mailing address, phone number, purchase history and credit card information),through our website, (this “Site”). By using this Site and our products and services available through this Site and our mobile applications (“Applications”), you agree that your information, including your personal information, will be handled as described in this Privacy Policy, which is incorporated by reference into our Terms of Service. Should you not agree with or accept the terms of this Privacy Policy, do not use this Site or our Applications


This Privacy Policy applies to information that we collect about you when you visit our Site and use our products and services as well as download and use our mobile applications (collectively, our “Services”). Additional policies also may apply to your information; for example, student information also is governed by the GIA Educational Privacy Policy and kept in accordance with the provisions of the federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA). The policy is available for review by contacting GIA Education Records. For more information, see “Academic Records” in the Academic Policies and Procedures section on page 59 of the 2015 Education Catalog. In the event of a conflict between this Privacy Policy and the FERPA policy (or other educational policy that we may provide to you from time to time), that policy, not this one, will govern.


Information We Collect Directly From You: We collect information, including personal information, directly from you when you create an account with us, sign up for our online classes, request information from us, purchase products from us, and otherwise interact with our Site and our Services. The type of information that we collect from you varies based on your particular interaction with our Site, but may include: your name, email address, home / mailing address, telephone number, and, where applicable, payment information, and information relevant to your educational history, among other information. Please note that your educational account may not be used for certain purchases/other purposes on our Site, and you may be requested to create a secondary account.

Third Parties. On our Site, you may email a friend about Services that you believe would be of interest. We will collect your name, email address, as well as your friend’s name and email address. We use the information collected from you to complete your request, but we will not use that information for future marketing efforts.

Information We Collect Automatically:

  • Through our Site: We may use cookies, web beacons, and other automated devices to collect information about you, including your IP address, browser type, visitor domain name, referring URL (previous page visited), subsequent pages, and whether you are a first time visitor. We may use this information in the aggregate, and we also may combine this information with personal information that we have collected about you.
  • Through our Mobile Applications:
    • GIA 4Cs Guide for iPhone and iPad (English and Simplified Chinese): To provide the highest quality experience, GIA collects anonymous information about usage of our mobile applications. If you prefer not to participate in Flurry Analytics, our analytics data collection service, please follow the instructions provided at to opt-out.
    • Gems & Gemology for iPad: GIA uses Google Analytics to collect anonymous information about the use of the Gems & Gemology iPad application (app). This tool helps us to identify any recurring technical issues and to provide the most user-friendly experience to our readers. The only method for preventing Google Analytics from capturing your usage is to disable the internet connection on your device while reading the content. This method may, however, adversely affect the performance of the app and prevent it from functioning as expected.

Please see the section entitled “Cookies and Other Tracking Devices” below for additional information about our use of cookies.


We use the information that we collect about you:

  • To provide you with requested products and Services, including participation in our online learning program, to respond to your inquiries, and for other customer services purposes;
  • To enhance your experience using the GIA Site;
  • For marketing and advertising purposes, such as to send you emails about products and services that we believe would be of interest to you;
  • To communicate with you about your enrollment, including notifying you of upcoming classes that we believe would be of interest to you;
  • To solicit donations;
  • For research purposes;
  • To better understand how users access and use our Site and our Services, both on an aggregated and on an individualized basis;
  • To improve our Site and Services; and
  • To further your relationship with GIA.

GIA may enhance or merge your Personal Information with data from third parties for purposes of marketing GIA’s products or services to you.


We will not disclose your personal information with non-affiliated third parties for their own marketing purposes. We will, however, share your information, including personal information (collectively, “information”), to assist us in providing our Services to you and with the persons and for the purposes described below:

  • Special Notice to Students. If you participate in our online learning, we offer an opportunity for students to communicate with one another. Certain information that you post as part of that program will be available to other students and our faculty.
  • Service Providers. We may disclose the information that we collect about you to third party vendors, service providers, contractors, professional advisors or agents that perform functions on our behalf (together "service providers"). These service providers are contractually required to protect your information.
  • Affiliated Entities. We will share your information among our affiliated entities, as applicable, to facilitate your experience with GIA. For example, if you are enrolled in our online learning, then we will share your information with our affiliates located in the country in which you reside (if applicable), and/or with our affiliates that may be able to offer courses that are appropriate to your education. Where permitted by law, and unless you have requested otherwise, from time to time, our affiliates may send you email and/or postal mail regarding products and services (including courses and events) that they believe would be of interest to you based on your course of study.
  • Business Transfers. If we are acquired by or merge with another entity, if substantially all of our assets are transferred to another company, or as part of a bankruptcy proceeding, we may transfer the information we have collected from you to the acquiring entity.
  • In Response to Legal Process. We also may disclose the information we collect from you to comply with the law, a judicial proceeding, court order or other legal process, such as in response to a subpoena.
  • To Protect Us and Others. We also may disclose the information we collect from you where we believe it is necessary to investigate, prevent or take action regarding illegal activities, suspected fraud, situations involving potential threats to the safety of any person or violations of our Terms of Use or this Policy.
  • Aggregate and Anonymized Information. We may share aggregate or anonymized information about users with third parties for marketing, advertising, research or similar purposes.


    We may periodically send you electronic communications about GIA’s various products, services, newsletters or general updates. You may opt-out of some or all of these communications by using “unsubscribe” options or by sending a request to If you opt out of receiving marketing communications from us, please note that we will continue to communicate with you via email regarding your ongoing education and for customer service related purposes (e.g., to notify you about the status of a purchase that you have made with us).


    Your online transactions with GIA are designed to give you options concerning the privacy of your credit card information and any other personal information you provide. GIA is committed to data security with respect to Personal Information collected on our Site. If you would like to make a purchase, but do not want to provide your credit card information online, you may contact a GIA representative over the telephone.


    For your convenience, GIA may provide links to certain third party websites or referrals to certain third parties’ products or services. If you choose to visit a third party’s website or use its products or services, please be aware that the third party’s privacy policy, and not the GIA privacy policy, will govern your activities and any information you disclose while interacting with the third party.


    Web cookies, web beacons (including clear GIFs), Flash LSOs, and similar technologies are used to track user activity and collect Site and mobile application data. We may combine this data with the personal information we have collected from you.

    Your Consent. By continuing to use our Site, you are agreeing to our placing cookies on your computer or electronic portable device in order to analyse the way you use our Site. Please read this cookie section carefully for more details about the information we collect when you use this Site.

    If you do not wish to accept cookies in connection with your use of this Site, you must stop using our Site.

    Cookies. Cookies allow a web server to transfer data to a computer for record keeping and other purposes. We and our third party service providers use “cookies” on our Site and similar devices designed for mobile applications, to, among other things, better serve you with tailored information and facilitate your ongoing access to and use of the Site. There are two types of cookies: session-based and persistent cookies.

    • Session Cookies. Session cookies exist only during an online session. They disappear from your computer when you close your browser or turn off your computer. We use session cookies to allow our systems to uniquely identify you during a session or while you are logged in to the Site. This allows us to process your online transactions and requests and verify your identity, after you have logged in, as you move through our Site.
    • Persistent cookies. Persistent cookies remain on your computer after you have closed your browser or turned off your computer. We use persistent cookies to track aggregate and statistical information about user activity, which may be combined with other user information.

    Disabling Cookies. Most web browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer you can edit your browser options to block them in future. The Help portion of the toolbar on most browsers will tell you how to prevent your computer from accepting new cookies, how to have the browser notify you when you receive a new cookie, or how to disable cookies altogether. Visitors to our Site who disable their web browsers’ ability to accept cookies will be able to browse the Site; however, many site features, such as the shopping cart will not function if you disable cookies.

    Local Storage Objects. We may use Flash Local Storage Objects (“Flash LSOs”) in order to store your Site preferences and to support individual applications. Flash LSOs are different from browser cookies because of the amount and type of data stored. In addition, you cannot control, delete or disable the acceptance of Flash LSOs through your browser. For more information on Flash LSOs, or to learn how to manage your settings for Flash cookies, go to the Adobe Flash Player Help Page, choose “Global Storage Settings Panel” and follow the instructions. To see the Flash LSOs currently on your computer, choose “Website Storage Settings Panel” and follow the instructions to review and, if you choose, to delete any specific Flash LSO.

    Web Beacons, Pixel Tags and Other Technologies. Our third party service providers use web beacons in HTML e-mails to our customers, to help us track e-mail response rates, measure the success of our marketing campaigns, identify when our e-mails are viewed and track whether our e-mails are forwarded.

    Site Analytics. We work with third party service providers who use the technologies described in this section to conduct website analytics to help us track and understand how visitors use our Site and our mobile application. For example, we use a variety of third party web analytics, to help us improve our Site and mobile application’s performance and user experiences.

    Additional Notice to EU Visitors. Withdrawing your consent. Once you have given us your consent to the use of cookies, we shall store a cookie on your computer or device to remember this for next time. This will expire periodically. If you wish to withdraw your consent at any time, you will need to delete your cookies using your internet browser settings.
    To find out more about cookies, including how to see what cookies have been set and how to manage and delete them, visit or


    Aside from the GemKids area of the site which is designed for minors and never asks for personal data, all other areas of the website are intended for users over the age of 18. GIA is committed to protecting the privacy of minors under 18 years of age. We do not knowingly collect personal data from minors. If we become aware that a child has submitted personal information to us through any part of the site, we delete such personal information as soon as reasonably practical after we discover it.


    We may transfer the information that we collect about you, including your personal information, whether collected through this Site, mobile application, or in person to locations worldwide, such as in each country in which GIA has an office. We also may transfer customer information to a third party service provider, which may use a cloud solution and store data in a country outside of your country of origin, such as in the United States. Please note that your information may be subject to access by law enforcement and other government entities, including courts and tribunals in accordance with laws applicable in those jurisdictions. GIA (and its affiliated entities) have procedures in place designed to safeguard your information.


    GIA will take reasonable steps to ensure the personal information it holds is accurate, complete and up to date. Please ensure you check your account regularly to ensure that we hold accurate personal information about you.

    You have the right to access and correct certain information that we hold about you. Any access request must be made in writing and where permitted by law, may be subject to a small fee to meet our costs in providing you with the details of the information that we hold about you. Please send any requests for access, questions, or comments regarding our privacy practices to the contact listed below.


    Certain portions of our Site may permit user generated content, such as blogs and forums. Any information that you post to a publicly facing blog or forum may be viewable by other visitors to our Site. Information that you submit through our student/educational blogs, will be available by other registered users of those services, at a minimum. We are not responsible for the privacy of any information that you choose to post to our Site, or for the accuracy of any information contained in those postings. Any information that you disclose becomes public information. We cannot prevent such information from being used in a manner that may violate this Policy, the law or your personal privacy.


    If you would like to contact us for any reason regarding our privacy practices, please write to the following address:
    Attn: Privacy Policy – MS 34
    Gemological Institute of America
    The Robert Mouawad Campus
    5345 Armada Drive
    Carlsbad, CA 92008

    You may submit your request concerning your Personal Information by sending it to the above address or email

    GIA reserves the right to modify this Privacy Policy as it deems appropriate from time to time. You may find the most current version of the Privacy Policy by visiting the GIA Site. Your continued use of the GIA Site will be subject to the then-current privacy policy. Thank you for visiting the GIA site.

    ©2015 Gemological Institute of America Inc.

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
GIA Museum - Generations of Mastery
Exhibit: Generations of Mastery
Learn More
G&G Summer 2015 Edition
Learn more