柘榴石的历史与知识


Placeholder Alt Text
镁铝榴石古董发夹,国家自然历史博物馆史密森学会藏品 - 摄影师:Chip Clark,史密森尼学会友情提供
数千年前,埃及法老王脖子上戴着红色柘榴石项链作装饰,并作为来生的珍贵财产随着他们的木乃伊遗体一起下葬。 在古罗马,柘榴石雕刻的图章戒指用来印盖重要文件。
 
古时,术语红宝石常指红色柘榴石,虽然它也几乎指所有的红色宝石。 凸圆面红色柘榴石 (carbuncle) 被认为是神赐给所罗门王的四大宝石之一。
 
几个世纪以后,罗马学者普林尼时期(公元23〜79),红柘榴石是交易最广泛的宝石之一。 在中世纪(约 475 至 1450 年),红色柘榴石受到神职人员和贵族的喜爱。
 
1500 年左右,中欧发现了著名的波希米亚柘榴石矿床,红柘榴石的可得性也随之增加。 19 世纪末期,该产地成为区域性珠宝产业的核心,发展达到了顶峰。

Garnet History and Lore

Antique Pyrope Hairpin
Antique Pyrope Hairpin in the collection of the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History - Chip Clark, courtesy Smithsonian Institution
Thousands of years ago, red garnet necklaces adorned the necks of Egypt’s pharaohs, and were entombed with their mummified corpses as prized possessions for the afterlife. In ancient Rome, signet rings with carved garnets were used to stamp the wax that secured important documents.
 
The term carbuncle was often used in ancient times to refer to red garnets, although it was used for almost any red stone. Carbuncle was thought to be one of the four precious stones given to King Solomon by God.
 
Centuries later, in Roman scholar Pliny’s time (23 to 79 AD), red garnets were among the most widely traded gems. In the Middle Ages (about 475 to 1450 AD), red garnet was favored by clergy and nobility.
 
Red garnet’s availability increased with the discovery of the famous Bohemian garnet deposits in central Europe around 1500. This source became the nucleus of a regional jewelry industry that reached its peak in the late 1800s.

Learn More About Garnet

Why We Love
Explore garnet history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Spring 2016 Edition
Learn more