祖母绿品质要素


Placeholder Alt Text
这颗产自巴西的 5.30 克拉祖母绿为略带蓝色的绿色。 — African, Brazilian, Colombian Gems, Inc. 友情提供
祖母绿具有许多特质,但有色宝石专业人士普遍认为祖母绿最重要的是颜色。 千百年来,祖母绿一直是有色宝石种类中标准的绿色宝石。
 
和其他有色宝石一样,它也需要训练有素的专业人士来鉴定其中的微妙变化,因为这些变化可以让价值产生显著差异。 较高品质的祖母绿尤其如此。
 
颜色
最珍贵的祖母绿成色为蓝绿色至纯绿色,拥有鲜艳的色彩饱和度,色调不会太暗。 最有价值的祖母绿是极度透明的。 它们色泽均匀,无肉眼可见的颜色区域。 如果色彩过黄或过蓝,这种宝石不是祖母绿,而是不同品种的绿柱石,其价值也会相应下降。

上等祖母绿呈现的饱和的绿色是自然界中其他物体无法与之媲美的。

铬、钒、铁等微量元素为祖母绿赋予了迷人的色彩。 每种元素的存在或缺失,以及在宝石中的相对含量都将决定祖母绿晶体的确切颜色。

祖母绿的外观有时与矿场位置密切相关。 据说哥伦比亚的祖母绿拥有偏暖色调、更饱和的纯绿色, 而赞比亚出产的祖母拥有偏冷色调的较深蓝绿色。 虽然有这些理论,但事实是,不同产地的祖母绿可能拥有相同外观。

净度

蓝绿色祖母绿
没有肉眼可见内含物的祖母绿皆为稀世珍宝。 — Tino Hammid (ICA) 友情提供
祖母绿通常含有肉眼可见的内含物。 正因如此,交易者和一些消费者了解并接受祖母绿中内含物的存在。 没有肉眼可见内含物的祖母绿极其罕见,因此也尤其珍贵。

祖母绿内含物通常被描述成“苔藓状”或“花园般”的。 他们有时也被称为“jardin”(在法语中指花园)。

达碧兹祖母绿
这颗 10.03 克拉的宝石是璀碧苣祖母绿。 其内含物形成星状图案的射线。 这种良好切割的凸圆形更呈现出其与众不同的特性。 - Colombian Emeralds Co. 友情提供
对彩色宝石而言,透明度和净度有着密切的联系。 祖母绿尤其如此。 业内普遍会接受含有肉眼可见内含物的顶级祖母绿。 但是,如果内含物可能降低亮度或透明度,它们也会降低祖母绿的价值。

GIA 祖母绿净度提升分类

早在 2000 年,GIA 鉴定所已开始提供祖母绿净度处理分类服务。 鉴定所检验了一块未镶嵌的宝石,提供了一​​份祖母绿证书,证书中包含了一份宝石的数字彩色图像。 该报告将净度等级描述为轻度、中度、显著。 GIA 鉴定所强调,使用分类系统的目的仅在于评价处理的水平,而不是为宝石提供整体净度等级。

切工
切割师选择切工时,必须考虑原石的颜色、坚固性和内含物。 错误切割可能导致重量损失,让原本价值连城的宝石大打折扣。

祖母绿晶体的四个特点给切割带来巨大难度。 首先,几乎所有的祖母绿都拥有明显的裂缝(行业中有时也称之为龟裂纹)。 切磨师必须精心设计切工过程,尽量降低这些裂缝对宝石成品的影响。

第二个因素部分是由于固有的裂隙:祖母绿比刚玉之类的宝石更易碎。 这使得他们很容易在切工、抛光和镶嵌过程中受到损坏,甚至不够谨慎细心的日常佩戴也会导致损坏。 祖母绿切工有助于帮助防止损害,因为易碎的边角经过刻面,可以为镶爪提供一个相对平稳的位置。

第三,颜色是决定祖母绿价值的首要因素,因此切工须最大限度地衬托出宝石的色调、色彩和饱和度。 切磨师可以通过调整祖母绿的比例和刻面数量来影响色彩。 如果是颜色更浅的宝石,切磨工可以采用深切工、小桌面和更少刻面来加深其颜色;与此对应,颜色更深的宝石可通过浅切工、大桌面和更多刻面来减淡颜色。

祖母绿式切磨戒指
正如其名称所暗示的,祖母绿切工是最常见的祖母绿宝石切割方式。 — Ronald Ringsrud Co. 友情提供
第四,大量祖母绿晶体拥有的蓝绿色至黄绿色二色性要求切磨工调整桌面,使之与晶体长边垂直。 这样一来,宝石呈现的更多是蓝绿色,这大大迎合了祖母绿​爱好者的需求。

哥伦比亚原石的切工最具挑战性,因为成形期间染色剂会分散。 越靠近表面,颜色越饱和。 如果没有一丝不苟的规划和切工,宝石成品会比原材料的颜色浅得多。

克拉重量
成型祖母绿拥有各种不同的尺寸。 博物馆和私人藏品中有重达数百克拉的祖母绿。 而与此相对的另一个极端则是重量还不足一克拉的祖母绿。

津巴布韦的 Sandawana 矿场以出产微小而颜色鲜艳的有色宝石而闻名世界。 这里出产的祖母绿小至1 毫米见方,但它们依然拥有十分饱和的绿色。 该矿场切工钻石的平均重量约为 0.05 至 0.25 克拉,很少超过 1.50 克拉。 流行饰品的大小通常介于这两者之间。

61 克拉 祖母绿项链
这条祖母绿项链的主石重 61 克拉。 — Ronald Lee Schultz 友情提供
最小的尺寸范围为 1 毫米至 5 毫米,重量从 0.02 到 0.50 克拉不等。而 1 至 5 克拉的宝石通常用作主石,广受消费者欢迎。  一些奢华珍贵的珠宝可能使用重达 20 克拉的祖母绿。

在品质相同的情况下,祖母绿的价格随着尺寸增加而显著上升。

Emerald Quality Factors

5.30-carat Emerald
This 5.30-carat emerald from Brazil has a slightly bluish green color. - Courtesy African, Brazilian, Colombian Gems, Inc.
Emerald has many special qualities, but colored stone professionals generally agree that emeralds are, most of all, about color. Emerald has been the standard for green among colored stones for thousands of years.
 
As with other colored stones, it requires a well-trained eye to recognize the sometimes subtle variations that make significant differences in emerald value. This is especially true in the higher qualities.
 
Color
The most desirable emerald colors are bluish green to pure green, with vivid color saturation and tone that’s not too dark. The most-prized emeralds are highly transparent. Their color is evenly distributed, with no eye-visible color zoning. If the hue is too yellowish or too bluish, the stone is not emerald, but a different variety of beryl, and its value drops accordingly.

The intensity of the green in the finest emeralds might not be equaled by anything else in nature.

Chromium, vanadium, and iron are the trace elements that cause emerald’s color. The presence or absence of each and their relative amounts determine the exact color of an emerald crystal.

Emerald appearance is sometimes associated with its mine location. Colombian emeralds are said to have a warmer and more intense pure green color. Zambian emeralds are said to have a cooler, more bluish green color. In spite of these theories, the truth is that emerald appearance overlaps between sources.

Clarity

Bluish Green Emerald
Emeralds that have no eye-visible inclusions are very rare. - Tino Hammid, courtesy ICA
Emeralds typically contain inclusions that are visible to the unaided eye. Because of this, trade members and some consumers understand and accept the presence of inclusions in emeralds. Eye-clean emeralds are especially valuable because they’re so rare.

Emerald inclusions are often described as looking mossy or garden-like. They’re sometimes called “jardin,” which is French for garden.

Trapiche Emerald
This 10.03-carat stone is a trapiche emerald. Its inclusions form rays in a star-like pattern. This well-executed cabochon cut shows off this unusual arrangement. - Courtesy Colombian Emeralds Co.
In colored stones, transparency and clarity are closely linked. This is especially true for emeralds. The trade generally accepts eye-visible inclusions in higher-quality emeralds. But when the inclusions have a negative effect on transparency and clarity, they also dramatically reduce value.

GIA Emerald Clarity-enhancement Classifications

In early 2000, the GIA Laboratory began offering a classification service for emerald clarity treatments. The laboratory examines a loose stone and provides an Emerald Report that includes a digitally generated color image of the stone taken at the time it’s examined. The report describes the level of clarity enhancement as minor, moderate, or significant. The GIA Laboratory emphasizes that it uses the classification system only to evaluate the level of treatment, and not to offer an overall clarity grade for the stone.

Cut
The cutter must consider the rough’s depth of color, durability, and inclusions when making cutting decisions. Mistakes cause weight loss, which greatly reduces the value of a potentially valuable gem.

Four characteristics of emerald crystals make them difficult to cut. First, almost all emeralds have significant fractures (sometimes called fissures in the trade). A cutter must design the cut to minimize the effect of those fractures on the finished stone.

The second factor is due partly to those inherent fractures: Emeralds are more brittle than a gem like corundum. This makes them vulnerable to damage during cutting, polishing, and setting, or even during careless daily wear. The emerald cut can help protect against damage because the vulnerable corners are faceted and provide a comparatively safe place for prongs.

Third, because color is so important in establishing an emerald’s value, the cut must maximize the effect of hue, tone, and saturation. The cutter can affect color by adjusting an emerald’s proportions and number of facets. The cutter can darken a pale stone with a deep cut, a small table, and fewer facets, or lighten a dark stone with a shallow cut, a large table, and additional facets.

Emerald Cut Ring
As the name suggests, the emerald cut is the most common cut for emeralds. - Courtesy Ronald Ringsrud Co.
Fourth, the bluish green to yellowish green dichroism of many emerald crystals encourages the cutter to orient the table so it’s perpendicular to the crystal’s length. That way, the more apparent color in the cut gem is the bluish green that so many emerald lovers prize.

Colombian rough is especially challenging due to the distribution of coloring agents during formation. Its color is more intense closer to the surface. Without careful planning and cutting, the finished stone might be much lighter in color than the original material.

Carat Weight
Fashioned emeralds come in a wide range of sizes. There are emeralds in museums and private collections that weigh hundreds of carats. At the other extreme are tiny emeralds that weigh fractions of a carat.

The Sandawana emerald mine in Zimbabwe is known for its tiny, yet vividly colored stones. Its emeralds are as small as 1 mm square, but they’re still intensely green. The mine’s cut stones average about 0.05 to 0.25 carat, and rarely weigh more than 1.50 carats. Popular jewelry sizes are usually somewhere in between.

61 Ct. Emerald Stone Necklace
The emerald center stone of this necklace weighs 61 carats. - Courtesy Ronald Lee Schultz
The smallest sizes range from 1 mm to 5 mm, with weights from 0.02 to 0.50 carat, while 1 to 5 carat stones are popular as center stones.  Prestigious pieces of jewelry can include emeralds that weigh over 20 carats.

Quality-for-quality, the price of emerald can rise dramatically as the size increases.

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Starry Night Sapphire
Learn More
G&G Summer 2014 Edition
Learn more