祖母绿的历史与知识


Placeholder Alt Text
75.47 克拉的胡克祖母绿由阿卜杜勒·哈米德二世(Ottoman Sultan Abdul Hamid II)所拥有,他是奥斯曼帝国最后的哈里发(最高统治者的称号)。 —感谢国家自然历史博物馆,史密森学会( Smithsonian Institution) Chip Clark 友情提供
自古以来,祖母绿青翠欲滴,能够抚慰心灵、激发想像。 它的名字来自古希腊语中的 “smaragdus”(绿色)一词。在公元一世纪罗马老普林尼编写的《自然史》一书中,他曾这样描述祖母绿,“…没有什么比它更绿了”。 他还描述了宝石鉴定家对祖母绿的使用,“如果要放松眼睛,没有什么比凝视祖母绿更好的方式了,它温和而碧绿的颜色可以抚慰和消除他们的疲劳和精神不振。”即使在今天,绿色依然是用来缓解压力和眼睛疲劳的颜色。

虽然还有其他宝石,如碧玺和橄榄石,但祖母绿始终是与繁茂的风景和饱和的绿色息息相关的宝石。 爱尔兰被称为祖母绿岛。 美国华盛顿州的西雅图被称为祖母绿城。 泰国最神圣的宗教图标称为玉佛(Emerald Buddha),尽管它是使用绿色的硬玉雕刻而成的。

第一个被发现的祖母绿矿山在埃及,至少可追溯到公元前 330 年到公元 1700 年代。 埃及艳后 Cleopatra 钟情于祖母绿,并用其作为装饰。

十六世纪西班牙探险者入侵新大陆期间,现在的哥伦比亚出产的祖母绿就是他们疯狂抢夺的资源之一。 印加人在珠宝和宗教仪式中使用祖母绿已有 500 年历史。 西班牙,对黄金和白银的重视远远超过宝石,他们用祖母绿来交易贵金属。 他们的贸易让祖母绿在欧洲和亚洲的皇室贵族中逐渐风靡。

祖母绿是绿柱石家族中最有名的成员。 传说中,祖母绿的佩戴者只要将宝石放在舌头下面,便可以预见未来,除此以外,它还可以揭示真理并保护佩戴者免遭邪恶法术。 祖母绿一度被认为可以治愈霍乱和疟疾等疾病。 甚至,人们认为佩戴祖母绿可以辨别爱人誓言的真伪,还可以令人巧舌如簧。

传说还指出,祖母绿是神赐给所罗门王的四大宝石之一。 据说,这四块宝石可以赋予国王掌管世间万物的权力。

其绿色代表着春天般的复苏生长,因而是五月诞生石的最佳选择。 同时它也是结婚二十周年和三十五周年的纪念石。

Emerald History and Lore

75.47-carat Hooker Emerald
The 75.47-carat Hooker Emerald was worn by Ottoman Sultan Abdul Hamid II, the last sultan of the Ottoman Empire. - Chip Clark, courtesy Smithsonian Institution, National Museum of Natural History.
Emerald’s lush green has soothed souls and excited imaginations since antiquity. Its name comes from the ancient Greek word for green, “smaragdus.” Rome’s Pliny the Elder described emerald in his Natural History, published in the first century AD: “…nothing greens greener” was his verdict. He described the use of emerald by early lapidaries, who “have no better method of restoring their eyes than by looking at the emerald, its soft, green color comforting and removing their weariness and lassitude.” Even today, the color green is known to relieve stress and eye strain.

There are other green gems, like tourmaline and peridot, but emerald is the one that’s always associated with the lushest landscapes and the richest greens. Ireland is the Emerald Isle. Seattle, in the US state of Washington, is the Emerald City. Thailand’s most sacred religious icon is called the Emerald Buddha, even though it’s carved from green jadeite.

The first known emerald mines were in Egypt, dating from at least 330 BC into the 1700s. Cleopatra was known to have a passion for emerald, and used it in her royal adornments.

Emeralds from what is now Colombia were part of the plunder when sixteenth-century Spanish explorers invaded the New World. The Incas had already been using emeralds in their jewelry and religious ceremonies for 500 years. The Spanish, who treasured gold and silver far more than gems, traded emeralds for precious metals. Their trades opened the eyes of European and Asian royalty to emerald’s majesty.

Emerald is the most famous member of the beryl family. Legends endowed the wearer with the ability to foresee the future when emerald was placed under the tongue, as well as to reveal truth and be protected against evil spells. Emerald was once also believed to cure diseases like cholera and malaria. Wearing an emerald was believed to reveal the truth or falseness of a lover’s oath as well as make one an eloquent speaker.

Legend also states that emerald was one of the four precious stones given by God to King Solomon. These four stones were said to have endowed the king with power over all creation.

Its color reflects new spring growth, which makes it the perfect choice of a birthstone for the month of May. It’s also the gemstone for twentieth and thirty-fifth wedding anniversaries.

Learn More About Emerald

Why We Love
Explore emerald history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

A Greco-Roman Emerald Necklace

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Summer 2016 Edition
Learn more