钻石品质要素

钻石
钻石规格齐全、品质多样,能够满足每一位顾客的需要。

几乎大部分人都了解的一个事实是,并非所有钻石都“生”来平等。 事实上,每颗钻石都独一无二。 钻石具有各种尺寸、形状、颜色,并具有不同的内部特征。
 
所有已打磨的钻石都非常珍贵。 这一价值是多种因素的组合。 稀有性便是其中的一个因素。 具有某些特性的钻石比其他普通钻石更为少见,当然也更具价值。
 
珠宝专业人士使用系统的方法来评估和讨论这些因素。 否则将无法将两颗钻石相互比较。 并且,我们也无法评估和讨论个别钻石的品质。 专业人士使用的是由 GIA 在 20 世纪 50 年代创立的钻石分级系统,该系统确立了描述和分类钻石的四个重要因素:净度、颜色、切工和克拉重量。

形状不一的钻石
钻石可以被加工成各种形状,并且同样美丽。
 

人们称之为 4C。 这些因素被称 4C,共同用来描述成品钻石的品质。 成品钻石的价值取决于 4C 的组合。

钻石的价值往往由 4C 中一个或多个因素的稀有性决定。 无色钻石非常稀缺 - 大多数钻石带有淡淡的黄色或褐色。 因此,在颜色等级表中,无色钻石的级别高于浅黄色钻石。 价值和稀有性密切相关:在这种情况下,无色钻石的颜色比浅黄色钻石更稀有,价值也更高。 净度、切工和克拉重量的稀有性和钻石价值遵循同样的关系。
 
4C 描述了钻石的品质,钻石的价值就取决于这些品质。 人们讨论 4C 时用到的术语已经成为珠宝专业人士描述和评价钻石的国际通用语言。
 
如今,钻石行业对于“4C”中每个“C”的描述都十分精确,几乎比任何其他消费产品的品质描述都更精确。 它们的历史非常悠久。 其中有三个因素(颜色,净度和克拉重量)早在 2000 年前,就已经是印度的第一个钻石分级系统的基础。
 

颜色

颜色的细微差别会极大地影响钻石的价值。 两颗钻石拥有相同的净度、重量、切工的钻石,仅颜色的不同就能使其价值千差万别。 即使是非常细微的差别,也会让钻石的价值有戏剧性的不同。

无色钻石
这颗祖母绿式切磨钻石呈无色,属于 D 级成色。 — Lazare Kaplan 钻石公司友情提供
钻石的颜色和价值图
在正常颜色范围内,钻石越接近无色,每克拉价格越高。 无色钻石极为罕见,其价格也比其他钻石更为昂贵。

钻石有多种颜色。 钻石的一般颜色范围,其实是指从无色到浅黄色或浅褐色。 在这个颜色范围内的无色钻石是最罕见的,所以也最为珍贵。 在一般颜色范围内,其他钻石也有相应的评级和定价标准。

GIA 钻石成色等级范围示例
这些钻石(E 级、K 级和 Z 级)代表位于 GIA 颜色等级表顶部、中间和底部的钻石成色。 - © GIA & Tino Hammid

在 GIA 鉴定所,钻石将在严格受控的条件下与称为比色石的圆形明亮式钻石进行比对,对钻石颜色进行分级。

钻石颜色
为了消除在钻石颜色分级时的无谓猜测,分级师会将钻石与 D-Z 已知成色的比色石做比较。 - © GIA & Tino Hammid

GIA 的 D-Z 颜色等级表是钻石颜色分级的行业标准。 每个字母代表了基于钻石色调和色度所确定的特定颜色范围。

有些钻石在紫外光线 (UV) 的照射下会发出可见光。 虽然肉眼无法看到,但紫外线无处不在。 阳光中含有紫外线。 荧光灯也能发出紫外线。 在适当条件下,您可以在约 35% 的宝石级钻石中看到荧光。
 
蓝色是宝石级钻石最常见的荧光色。 在少数情况下,荧光可以是白色、黄色、橙色或许多其他颜色。
 
强烈的蓝色荧光可以使一颗浅黄色的钻石在阳光的照射下更接近无色。 蓝色和黄色是互补色,往往可以相互抵消,所以蓝色荧光可以掩盖钻石的黄色。 如果荧光太强,会让钻石呈现混浊或“油状”外观,从而降低其价值。 

净度

自然界中很少有东西是绝对完美的。 即便是钻石也如此。 钻石的内部特征称为内含物,而表面的不规则称为表面特征。 它们共同称为净度特征。 净度是由内含物和表面特征的多少决定的。
 
除了其他方面,表面特征包括钻石表面的划痕和小缺口。 内含物一般位于钻石内部,有的可能会触及钻石表面。 有时候,在钻石形成过程中,它可能会包含微小钻石或其他矿物晶体。 内含物所处位置不同,因而在切磨之后可能依然存在,并可以影响钻石的外观。
 
净度特征可以对钻石价值产生负面影响,也可以起积极作用。 首先,它们可以帮助宝石学家区分钻石和仿制品。 (有内含物的晶体比无瑕的晶体更易识别)。而且,没有任何两颗钻石具有完全相同的内含物,借助这点特性,可以帮助人们识别钻石。 此外,它们也可以为科学家提供钻石形成过程的有价值的信息。

钻石鉴定
没有两颗钻石在相同的位置恰好又有完全相同的净度特征。 这一事实有助于宝石学家识别单个的钻石。

和 4C 中另外三个因素一样,净度对钻石价值的影响与稀有程度息息相关。 无瑕是 GIA 净度分级系统的最高等级。 无瑕级钻石是指在 10 倍放大镜下,经验丰富的评级师观察不到钻石有任何的内含物或表面特征。

钻石净度和价值表
如果所有其他价值因素都相同,随着净度的增加,每克拉钻石的价格也会随之增加。

无瑕级的钻石非常的罕见,有些珠宝商一生也未必能有幸见到一颗,其价格也非常高。
 
而与之相对的最低等级则表示钻石含有可以用肉眼轻易看见的内含物。 最高和最低两类之间的钻石在 10 倍放大下才可以看见内含物。 目前零售市场上销售的绝大部分是处于中间范围的钻石。

GIA 净度分级系统有 11 个净度等级。 它们分别是无暇级、内无暇级、两个极轻微内含级、两个轻微内含级、两个微内含级、三个内含级。
净度特征对净度分级的影响主要取决于内含物的尺寸、数量、位置、本质以及可见度。

美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 净度等级表包括 11 个钻石净度等级。 品质等级越高范围越小,因为拥有较高净度等级的钻石数量非常少。

有时候,仅仅一个因素就可能使钻石的净度等级截然不同。 这个因素并非始终不变。 每个因素的相对重要性对不同钻石而言不尽相同。 例如,位于钻石一侧的内含物对净度的影响可能小于同样大小却位于桌面正下方的内含物。 在这种情况下,位置可能是决定性因素。

钻石净度等级
钻石净度等级由五方面的因素决定:尺寸、数量、位置、本质和可见度。 — Gary Roskin GG,FGA

有时,如果内含物对钻石具有潜在的危害,它也可以影响等级。 但是,这种情况极为少见,通常只适用于内含级 (“I”) 钻石。
 
钻石专业人士最初使用的术语包括:极轻微不完美,轻微不完美,微不完美不完美。 近年来,“不完美”一词已被“内含”取代。 (GIA 的净度分级系统使用内含。)
 
这些术语采用首字母缩写的形式,分别为 VVS、VS、SI 和 I。这些缩写词最终获得了整个国际钻石界的认可。 它们现在的使用非常广泛,无论被翻译成何种语言,它们表达的意思始终不变。 例如,即使在法语中翻译成TRES。在法国一个轻微内含的钻石仍然是 VS 级。 即使在俄罗斯这个采用完全不同的字母符号的国家,仍使用相同的缩写。

切工

精美的成品钻石让人眼花缭乱,每一个刻面都凝聚了工匠高超的技艺。 当钻石受到光线照射时,其每个角度、每个刻面都会影响光线反射回眼睛的总量, 影响钻石的正面外观。

1.54 克拉钻石
十年间,很多生产商按照严格的标准打磨钻石,一方面是因为对切磨精确度的要求不断提高,另一方面可以区分彼此的产品。 请看这颗 1.54 克拉钻石的精细箭头图案。

钻石的比例决定了光线进入钻石内部后的表现。 如果光线通过冠部进入,穿过亭部而出,钻石会显得暗淡而没有吸引力。  不同比例和良好磨光的钻石可以更好地利用光线,使得整体明亮、多彩、闪闪发光。

精心切割的钻石

精心切磨的钻石可凸显其美感,这也正是消费者所希望看到的。

精美的钻石处处散发着优雅的魅力,这主要因为三种光学效果:白光反射(亮度)、彩色闪烁(火彩)以及所呈现的明暗区域(闪光)。 图案是指钻石内部和外部反射形成的明暗区域的相对尺寸、排列和对比。 钻石的明暗区域必须有足够的对比,才可形成清晰利落的图案。



众所周知,钻石行业长久以来一直遵循一定比例组合,以便让光线更好的发挥作用,衬托钻石的精美绝伦。 然而近年来,GIA 研究部门和 GIA 鉴定所的科学家和研究人员已经证实,大量不同的比例组合也能最大限度地展现圆形明亮式切工钻石的亮光与火彩。  

钻石亮度

一般而言,切工的等级越高,钻石越亮。 在荧光灯下,这些钻石所呈现的亮度分别为:(左到右)高、中、低。
“切工”也可以指成品钻石的形状。 除标准圆形明亮式以外的所有形状都称为花式切磨 它们有时也被称为异形或异形钻石。 根据形状不同,花式形状也有各自的名称。 其中最著名的花式切磨式样包括马眼形、公主方形、梨形、椭圆形、心形和祖母绿式切磨。

各种钻石形状
花式形状的钻石以及经典的圆形钻石颇受现今珠宝消费的青睐。 由 Lazare Kaplan 钻石公司友情提供
 

克拉重量

许多商品都按重量出售,如以千克、盎司、磅或吨为单位计算。 即使从未真正购买钻石的人也会知道,其重量与价值密切相关。 他们明白,大的钻石可能比小的钻石更为昂贵。 但当人们真正了解钻石和克拉重量的相关知识之后,有两件事会让他们大吃一惊。
 
首先便是钻石称量精度。 钻石重量以克拉度量,缩写为“ct”。1 克拉是 1 克的十分之二(即0.2),刚刚超过 1 盎司的千分之七(即0.007)。 1 盎司约等于 142 克拉。 一枚小的回形针重约一克拉。

1 克拉分为 100 分。 1 分就是 1 克拉的百分之一。
 
钻石称重可以精确到 1 克拉的千分之一 (0.001),然后精确到最接近的百分位,或称“分”。 根据钻石的品质,1 克拉之差的钻石价格可能存在数百、甚至数千美元的差异。
 
对于超过一克拉的钻石,其重量通常以克拉和小数表示。 1.03 克拉的钻石只能用 “一点零三克拉” 或“103”来说明其重量。1 克拉以下的钻石通常以分为单位表示。 重为 0.83 克拉的钻石即称为重“ 83 分”,或称为“ 83 分的钻石”。

100.20 克拉 钻石
大颗高品质的钻石是稀有和珍贵的宝石。 这颗钻石拥有非常惊人的重量(100.20 克拉),为内无暇级。 - © GIA 和 Harold & Erica Van Pelt,The Steinmetz Group 友情提供

稀有性、重量和价值之间的关系有时会让人出乎意料。 众所周知,一磅白糖的价格是半磅白糖的两倍。 但钻石并不是像糖一样的商品。 它的价格取决于一系列变量,重量只是其中之一。 因此,有时候我们很难理解和解释,为什么一颗 1 克拉钻石的价格为 6,000 美元,而类似质量的 2 克拉钻石的价格却高达 15,000 美元。

这其实是一个非常简单的概念:体积大的钻石比小钻石更为罕见。 物以稀为贵。 因此,较大的钻石不仅价格更高。 每克拉的单价也更高。 一颗 1 克拉的钻石与四颗 0.25 克拉钻石的重量相等。 但即使其他所有品质要素相同,较大钻石的价值会比其他四颗较小的钻石的总和还高。



克拉重量也可以是象征性的。 一颗 0.98 克拉的钻石和一颗 1.01 克拉的钻石之间的视觉差异可以忽略不计,但是很多人会不惜以更高的价格购买较大的钻石。 有些克拉重量被认为是“神奇尺寸”,例如 0.5 克拉,0.75 克拉和 1.0 克拉 它们的重量没有很大的区别,但如果两者都是 D 成色的圆形明亮式钻石,且拥有相同的净度和切工,那么重量将起决定性作用。 它们看起来大同小异,但如果消费者的预期设定为一克拉,那么就可能产生极大的差异。 事实上,第二颗略重于“神奇”1 克拉的钻石虽然只重了 6 分,但价格可能高出 20%。

椭圆形钻石
这颗椭圆形钻石重 1.01 克拉,达到了 1.00 克拉神奇尺寸范围。 当钻石达到所谓的神奇尺寸时,每克拉的价值就会增加。 — 由 Lazare Kaplan 钻石公司友情提供

不要将钻石的“克拉” (carat) 与黄金的“K” (karat) 混淆。 K 是用来衡量纯黄金在合金中所占含量的单位。

如何选购钻石

钻石品质要素

您或许还会喜欢

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 2016 年春季刊
了解更多 (用英语)

Diamond Quality Factors

Diamond
Diamond is available in a range of sizes and qualities to fit every consumer's tastes.
One of the first things most people learn about diamonds is that not all diamonds are created equal. In fact, every diamond is unique. Diamonds come in many sizes, shapes, colors, and with various internal characteristics.
 
All polished diamonds are valuable. That value is based on a combination of factors. Rarity is one of those factors. Diamonds with certain qualities are more rare—and more valuable—than diamonds that lack them.
 
Jewelry professionals use a systematic way to evaluate and discuss these factors. Otherwise, there would be no way to compare one diamond to another. And there would be no way to evaluate and discuss the qualities of an individual diamond. Diamond professionals use the grading system developed by GIA in the 1950s, which established the use of four important factors to describe and classify diamonds: Clarity, Color, Cut, and Carat Weight.
Different Shaped Diamonds
Diamonds can be fashioned into a variety of shapes and still be beautiful.
 
These are known as the 4Cs. When used together, they describe the quality of a finished diamond. The value of a finished diamond is based on this combination.

A diamond’s value is often affected by the rarity of one or more of the 4Cs. Colorless diamonds are scarce—most diamonds have tints of yellow or brown. So a colorless diamond rates higher on the color grading scale than a diamond that is light yellow. Value and rarity are related: In this case a colorless diamond is more rare and more valuable than one with a slight yellow color. The same relationship between rarity and value exists for clarity, cut, and carat weight.
 
The 4Cs describe the individual qualities of a diamond, and the value of an individual diamond is based on these qualities. The terms that people use to discuss the 4Cs have become part of an international language that jewelry professionals can use to describe and evaluate individual diamonds.
 
Today, the descriptions of each of the 4Cs are more precise than those applied to almost any other consumer product. And they have a long history. Three of them—color, clarity, and carat weight—were the basis for the first diamond grading system established in India over 2,000 years ago.
 
Color
Subtle differences in color can dramatically af­fect diamond value. Two diamonds of the same clarity, weight, and cut can differ in value based on color alone. Even the slightest hint of color can make a dramatic difference in value.

Colorless Diamond
This emerald cut diamond is colorless and is a D color grade. – Courtesy Lazare Kaplan Diamonds
Diamond Color and Value Chart
In the normal color range, the closer a diamond gets to colorless, the higher its per-carat price. There’s an especially large leap in the price of a colorless diamond, which is extremely rare.
Diamonds come in many colors. Diamonds that range from colorless to light yellow and brown fall within the normal color range. Within that range, colorless diamonds are the most rare, so they’re the most valuable. They set the standard for grading and pricing other diamonds in the normal color range.

Diamond Examples on the GIA Color Scale
These diamonds—graded E, K, and Z—represent diamond colors near the top, middle, and bottom of the GIA Color Scale. - © GIA & Tino Hammid
At the GIA Laboratory, diamonds are color graded under controlled conditions by comparing them to round brilliant diamonds of known color, called masterstones.

Diamond Color
To eliminate the guesswork from grading a diamond’s color, graders compare it to masterstones that represent known colors in the GIA D-to-Z scale. - © GIA & Tino Hammid
The GIA D-to-Z scale is the industry standard for color-grading diamonds. Each letter represents a range of color based on a diamond's tone and saturation.

The GIA D-to-Z scale is the industry standard for color-grading diamonds. Each letter represents a range of color based on a diamond’s tone and saturation.
Many diamonds emit a visible light called fluorescence when they’re exposed to ultraviolet (UV) radiation. Although invisible to the human eye, UV radiation is everywhere. Sunlight contains it. Fluorescent lights emit it, too. Under the right conditions, you can see fluorescence in about 35 percent of gem diamonds.
 
Blue is the most common fluorescent color in gem-quality diamonds. In rare instances, fluorescence can be white, yellow, orange, or many other colors.
 
Strong blue fluorescence can make a light yellow diamond look closer to colorless in sunlight. Blue and yellow are color opposites and tend to cancel each other out, so blue fluorescence masks the yellow color. If the fluorescence is too strong it can make the stone look cloudy or “oily,” which can lower the value of the diamond. 

Clarity
Few things in nature are absolutely perfect. This is as true of diamonds as anything else. Diamonds have internal features, called inclusions, and surface irregularities, called blemishes. Together, they’re called clarity characteristics. Clarity is the relative absence of inclusions and blemishes.
 
Among other things, blemishes include scratches and nicks on a diamond’s surface. Inclusions are generally on the inside, and some might break the surface of the stone. Sometimes, tiny diamond or other mineral crystals are trapped inside a diamond when it forms. Depending on where they’re located, they might remain after the stone has been cut and polished, and they can affect a diamond’s appearance.
 
Clarity characteristics might have a negative influence on a diamond’s value, but they can have positive effects as well. For one thing, they help gemologists separate diamond from imitations. (This is easier with included diamonds than with flawless ones.) And because no two diamonds have exactly the same inclusions, they can help identify individual stones. They can also provide scientists with valuable information about how diamonds form.

Identifying Diamonds
No two diamonds have exactly the same clarity characteristics in exactly the same locations. This fact helps gemologists identify individual diamonds.
Like the rest of the 4Cs, clarity’s influence on value is directly related to the concept of rarity. Flawless is the top grade in the GIA Clarity Grading System. Diamonds graded Flawless don’t have visible inclusions or blemishes when examined under 10-power (10X) magnification by a skilled and experienced grader.

Diamond Clarity and Value Chart
As clarity increases, and if all other value factors are equal, diamond price per carat also increases.
Flawless diamonds are very rare—so rare, in fact, that it’s possible to spend a lifetime in the jewelry industry without ever seeing one, and they command top prices.
 
At the other end of the scale are diamonds with inclusions that can be easily seen by the unaided eye. Between the two extremes are diamonds with inclusions visible only under 10X magnification. Stones in the middle range make up the bulk of the retail market.

There are 11 clarity grades in the GIA clarity grading system. They are Flawless, Internally Flawless, two categories of Very, Very Slightly Included, two categories of Slightly Included, and three categories of Included.
The effect of a clarity characteristic on the clarity grade is based on its size, number, position, nature, and color or relief.

The GIA clarity scale includes eleven diamond clarity grades. The scale narrows at the top because there are very few diamonds in the higher clarity grades.
Sometimes, one factor makes more difference to the clarity grade than the others. But it’s not always the same one. The relative importance of each factor varies from diamond to diamond. For example, an inclusion off to the side of a stone would have less impact on clarity than the same size inclusion located directly under the table. In this case, the position is probably the determining factor.

Diamond Clarity Grade
A clarity characteristic's effect on a diamond's clarity grade is determined by five factors: size, number, position, nature, and color or relief. - Gary Roskin GG, FGA
Occasionally, if an inclusion has the potential to cause damage to a stone, it can affect the grade. But this is rare, and usually applies only to Included (“I”) diamonds.
 
Diamond professionals use a set of terms that originally included very very slightly imperfect, very slightly imperfect, slightly imperfect, and imperfect. In recent years, the term imperfect has been replaced with included. (GIA uses included in its clarity grading system.)
 
These terms were shortened to the initials VVS, VS, SI, and I. The abbreviations eventually gained acceptance throughout the international diamond community. Their use is now widespread regardless of how the words they stand for translate into various languages. Very may translate to tres in French, for instance, but in France a very slightly included diamond is still a VS. Even a country like Russia, with a completely different alphabet, uses the same abbreviations.

Cut
A beautifully finished diamond is dazzling, with every facet displaying the craftsman’s skill and care. When a diamond interacts with light, every angle and every facet affects the amount of light returned to the eye. This is what gives it its face-up appearance.

1.54 Ct Diamond
In efforts to differentiate themselves, and because of increasing demand for precision in cutting, many manufacturers fashioned diamonds to exacting standards throughout the decade. Note the precise arrow pattern in this 1.54 ct diamond.
A diamond’s proportions determine how light performs when it enters the diamond. If light enters through the crown and goes out through the pavilion, the diamond will look dark and unattractive.  Diamonds with different proportions and good polish make better use of the light, and will be bright, colorful, and scintillating.

Well-cut Diamond
A well-cut diamond displays the beauty consumers expect to see in a diamond.

A beautiful diamond looks the way it does because of three optical effects: white light reflections called brightness, flashes of color called fire, and areas of light and dark called scintillation. Pattern is the relative size, arrangement, and contrast of bright and dark areas that result from a diamond’s internal and external reflections. There must be enough contrast between the bright and dark areas to give the pattern a crisp, sharp look.
The diamond industry has long known that some proportion combinations make light perform better than others. In recent years, however, scientists and researchers in GIA’s Research Department and the GIA Laboratory have shown that there are many variations and combinations of proportions that will maximize brilliance and fire in round brilliant cut diamonds.  

Brightness in a Diamond
As a general rule, the higher the cut grade, the brighter the diamond. Under fluorescent lighting, these diamonds (left to right) display high, moderate, and low brightness.
The term “cut” also can describe a fashioned diamond’s shape. Shapes other than the standard round brilliant are called fancy cuts. They’re sometimes called fancy shapes or fancies. Fancy shapes also have names of their own, based on their shapes. The best known are the marquise, princess, pear, oval, heart, and emerald cut.

Various Diamond Shapes
Fancy-shape diamonds, along with the classic round diamonds, are popular choices for today’s jewelry consumer. Courtesy Lazare Kaplan Diamonds
 
Carat Weight
Many goods are sold by weight—by the kilogram, ounce, pound, or ton. Even people who have never bought a diamond are used to the idea that weight and price are related. They understand that a larger diamond is probably more valuable than a smaller one. But there are two things that often surprise people when they start learning about diamonds and carat weight.
 
The first is the precision with which diamonds are weighed. Diamond weights are stated in metric carats, abbreviated “ct.” One metric carat is two-tenths (0.2) of a gram—just over seven thousandths (0.007) of an ounce. One ounce contains almost 142 carats. A small paper clip weighs about a carat.

The metric carat is divided into 100 points. A point is one hundredth of a carat.
 
Diamonds are weighed to a thousandth (0.001) of a carat and then rounded to the nearest hundredth, or point. Fractions of a carat can mean price differences of hundreds—even thousands—of dollars, depending on diamond quality.
 
Over a carat, diamond weights are usually expressed in carats and decimals. A 1.03-carat stone, for example, would be described as “one point oh three carats,” or “one oh three.” Weights for diamonds that weigh under a carat are usually stated in points. A diamond that weighs 0.83 carat is said to weigh “eighty-three points,” or called an “eighty-three pointer.”

100.20 Ct. Diamond
Large high quality diamonds are rare and valuable gems. This diamond weighs a remarkable 100.20 carats and is internally flawless. - © GIA and Harold & Erica Van Pelt, courtesy The Steinmetz Group
The relationship between rarity, weight, and value can be surprising. People know that a pound of sugar costs twice as much as a half-pound of sugar. But diamonds aren’t a commodity like sugar. Their price depends on a number of variables—weight is just one of them. So it’s not always easy to understand, or explain, why a 1-carat diamond is worth, say, $6,000, while a 2-carat diamond of similar quality might be worth $15,000.

It’s really a simple concept: Large diamonds are more rare than small diamonds. The more scarce something is, the more it is worth. So a larger stone doesn’t just cost more. It also costs more per carat. A 1-carat diamond weighs the same as four 0.25-carat diamonds. But even if all the other quality factors are equal, the larger diamond is worth much more than the sum of the four smaller diamonds.

Carat weight can also be symbolic. While the visual difference between a 0.98-carat diamond and a 1.01-carat diamond is negligible, many people will opt for the larger stone—even at a much higher price. Some weights are considered “magic sizes”: half carat, three-quarter carat, one carat, etc. There’s not much difference in their weights, but if both are D-color round brilliants with identical clarity and cut, the size makes all the difference. They really don’t look much different, but if a consumer’s heart is set on the one-carat size, the difference is enormous. The fact that the second stone is slightly over the “magic” one-carat size can give it as much as a 20 percent difference in price with only a 6-point difference in weight.

Oval Shape Diamond
This oval shape diamond weighs 1.01 carats and made the 1.00 carat magic size range. When diamonds reach the so called magic sizes the value per carat increases. – Courtesy Lazare Kaplan Diamonds
Don’t confuse the term carat with karat. Karat is a unit of measure used to describe how much pure gold there is in an alloy.

Learn More About Diamond

Why We Love
Explore diamond history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

How to Choose a Diamond

Diamond Quality Factors

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Summer 2016 Edition
Learn more