装饰艺术的永恒魅力


Placeholder Alt Text
缤纷琳琅的什锦宝石(通过雕刻宝石呈现强烈的色彩反差)闪耀在手链、胸针及 Mauboussin 领夹手表上。 珠宝由 Kathryn Bonanno 友情提供。
咆哮的二十年代 — 这是一个仍然让我们着迷的时代。

汽车、收音机、电话和电影成为文化载体。 大城市里的摩天大楼拔地而起。 哈莱姆地下酒吧的爵士乐大行其道。 Charles Lindbergh 完成了首次中途无停歇跨越大西洋的飞行壮举。 弗朗西斯·斯科特·菲茨杰拉德、欧内斯特·海明威、可可·香奈尔、艾灵顿公爵、贝比鲁斯和查理·卓别林引领着文化舞台,在他们的影响下,大众传媒蓬勃兴起。

女性的角色也经历着转变。 大批女性在一战期间涌入职场,1920 年她们获得了选举权。 年轻女郎 — 穿短裙、留短发的女性 — 是时尚的全新代言人,她们的叛逆行为震惊了社会。 她们想要一种全新的风格,与爱德华时代和新艺术运动时期的镶褶边传统珠宝风格迥异。

这标志着彰显机械时代特点的装饰艺术风格的诞生。 豪华的远洋客轮、流线型火车和高耸的摩天大楼都是这一风格所钟爱的图像:它们象征着繁荣和进步,相信技术是包治百病的灵丹妙药。

“装饰艺术 (Art Deco)”一词 — 20 世纪 20 年代至 30 年代 — 源自 Exposition Internationale des Arts Decoratifs et Industrials Modernes,1925 年在巴黎举行的装饰艺术展览。 珠宝是其中的特色展出项目之一,评审们甄选出代表现代工业的几何、线型设计作品。

这些火车装饰艺术海报传达了技术与进步的力量。
为了使物体呈现未来主义的观感,装饰艺术艺术家们以重复图案的方式使用垂直线条和几何形状(圆弧、圆、三角形、方形、矩形等)。 曼哈顿克莱斯勒大厦是装饰艺术建筑的经典范例,运用了多种诸如此类的设计元素。

克莱斯勒大厦是装饰艺术的杰作。
珠宝设计师正是装饰艺术运动的重要组成部分。 与早前新艺术运动兴盛的有机曲线不同,这些设计师推崇垂直线条和简单、重复的几何图案, 旨在将优雅与精密淋漓尽致地体现出来。

装饰艺术珠宝商使用铂金和白金、几何形状及鲜艳的色彩,对比鲜明,体现出时代精神。 钻石切割成几何形状,如长方形、三角形、梯形和半月形,在装饰艺术中大行其道。

装饰艺术风格的吊灯式耳环采用铂金、祖母绿、蓝宝石和钻石制作而成。
宝石切割技术的进步让珠宝商能够制作设计复杂的作品,如这件铂金、蓝宝石及钻石打造的吊坠/胸针(如下所示)。


胸针由加利福尼亚州洛杉矶 Frank Goodman & Son 友情提供。
装饰艺术运动时期的著名事件是 1922 年发掘埃及法老图坦卡蒙的陵墓。 埃及的艺术和建筑充满了异域风情 — 为接受传统艺术大师(如米开朗基罗和伦勃朗)教育的艺术家们带来了新的灵感,而装饰艺术从业者们则欣然借鉴其图案以及尚未发掘的其他古代文明精髓。


皮带扣由 Ginger Moro 友情提供。
装饰艺术风格的艺术家们秉承传统,亦展望未来。 这是一种无可比似的完美组合,缔造出一种紧扣公众想象力的独特风格。
Robert Ackermann,GIA 卡尔斯巴德珠宝制造艺术导师。
装饰艺术的永恒之美及其充满希望的美好未来有着让时髦女郎为之着迷的魅力 — 至今仍深深影响着我们。 在《了不起的盖茨比》中,弗朗西斯·斯科特·菲茨杰拉德以富有诗意的语言表达了这种情绪:“盖茨比一生的信念就寄托在这盏绿灯上,这个一年一年在我们眼前渐渐远去的极乐未来。 它曾经从我们身边溜走,不过没有关系 — 明天我们会跑得更快,手臂伸得更远。 . .. 因此,我们勇往直前,乘舟逆流而上,不断地被浪潮卷回到过去。”

设计及销售装饰艺术珠宝的秘诀

  • 装饰艺术被定义为垂直线条和重复的几何形状。 运用这些元素来设计装饰风格的作品。 让您的客户了解,这些设计元素如何打造出时尚、精致的外观。
  • 装饰艺术风格的珠宝往往呈现出强烈的色彩对比。 也许这是一种面向未来的乐观主义表现,或者是对新艺术运动时代的淡粉色彩及爱德华时代的大多数珠宝通常不采用有色宝石的欣然改变。 在您的作品中运用风格大胆、对比鲜明的有色宝石或珐琅能够将装饰艺术风格演绎得淋漓尽致。
  • 装饰艺术风格的艺术家们酣畅淋漓地借鉴了古代文化元素。 古今之震撼对比令作品散发出无法抵挡的吸引力。 客户很可能会觉得十分有趣。 您还可以融入古代图案,为您的设计增添魅力。

The Timeless Allure of Art Deco

Tutti Frutti (bold color contrasts using carved gemstones) dazzles in this bracelet, brooch, and lapel watch by Mauboussin. Jewelry courtesy of Kathryn Bonanno.
The Roaring Twenties – It’s a time that still fascinates us.

Autos, the radio, the telephone, and the motion picture became cultural fixtures. Skyscrapers sprung up in major cities. Jazz rang from speakeasies in Harlem. Charles Lindbergh made the first non-stop transatlantic flight. F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, Coco Chanel, Duke Ellington, Babe Ruth, and Charlie Chaplin commanded the cultural stage, their fame fueled by the rise of the mass media.

The role of women was also changing. Entering the workforce en masse during World War I, women gained the right to vote in 1920. Flappers – women who wore short dresses and short hair – were the new standard bearers of fashion, shocking society with their scandalous behavior. And they wanted a new style, something that was not like the frilly, traditional jewelry of the Edwardian and Art Nouveau eras.

Such was the setting for the arrival of Art Deco – a style that celebrated the machine age. Sleek ocean liners, streamlined trains, and towering skyscrapers were favorite images to express this: they symbolized prosperity, and progress, and the belief that technology was the cure for all ills.

The term “Art Deco” – the period lasted from the 1920s through the 1930s – came from Exposition Internationale des Arts Decoratifs et Industrials Modernes, an exhibition of decorative arts held in Paris in 1925. Jewelry was one of the featured items, and the judges selected geometric, linear pieces that celebrated modern industry.

This Art Deco poster of a train conveys the power of technology and progress.
To give objects a futuristic look, Art Deco artists used vertical lines and geometric shapes (arcs, circles, triangles, squares, rectangles, etc.) in repetitive patterns. The Chrysler Building in Manhattan is a classic example of Art Deco architecture, and features a number of these design elements.

The Chrysler Building is an Art Deco masterpiece.
Jewelry designers were very much a part of the Art Deco movement. Departing from the organic curvilinear flourishes that belonged to the earlier movement, Art Nouveau, these designers embraced the vertical line and simple, repetitive geometric patterns. The purpose was to evoke elegance and sophistication.

Art Deco jewelers used platinum and white gold, geometric shapes, and vivid color, contrasts to capture the spirit of the time. Diamond cuts in geometric shapes such as the baguette, triangle, trapeze, and half-moon became popular in Art Deco jewelry.

Art Deco chandelier earrings made with platinum, emeralds, sapphires, and diamonds.
Advances in stone cutting allowed jewelers to make complex pieces, like this platinum, sapphire, and diamond pendant/brooch shown below.


Brooch courtesy of Frank Goodman & Son, Los Angeles, CA.
A significant event in the Art Deco movement was discovery of King Tut’s tomb in 1922. Egypt’s art and architecture were exotic – fresh inspiration to artists schooled in old-world masters like Michelangelo and Rembrandt – and Art Deco practitioners readily borrowed motifs from it and other ancient civilizations that were being unearthed.


Buckle courtesy of Ginger Moro.
Art Deco artists were simultaneously taking from the past and looking to the future. This was a unique combination, and created a distinctive style that gripped the imagination of the public.
Robert Ackermann, instructor of Jewelry Manufacturing Arts, GIA, Carlsbad.
The timeless beauty of Art Deco and its promise of a bright future is what captivated the flappers – and it still speaks to us. F. Scott Fitzgerald poetically expressed this sentiment in The Great Gatsby: “Gatsby believed in the green light, the orgastic future that year by year recedes before us. It eluded us then, but that’s no matter—tomorrow we will run faster, stretch out our arms farther. . . So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”

Tips for designing and selling Art Deco jewelry

  • Art Deco was defined by the vertical line and repetitive geometric shapes. Use them to design Deco-inspired pieces. Let your customers know how these design elements create a sleek and sophisticated look.
  • Art Deco jewelry often has dramatic color contrasts. Perhaps this was an expression of optimism towards the future, or a welcome change from the pastels of the Art Nouveau era and the typical absence of colored stones in most Edwardian-Era jewelry. Use of bold, contrasting colored gemstones or enamel in your pieces can evoke the Art Deco style.
  • Art Deco artists freely borrowed design elements from ancient cultures. The contrast of the modern and the old made for fascinating works. Customers are likely to find this interesting. You can also incorporate ancient motifs to add pizzazz to your designs.

Jewelry Design & Technology

Learn the elements of the Art Deco style by enrolling in the Jewelry Design & Technology diploma program or the Jewelry Design course.
Learn More

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Summer 2016 Edition
Learn more