菊石:时尚的化石


几块类似彩色玻璃的菊石。由 Korite International(克里特国际)友情提供。

如果您喜欢产地明确的宝石,那么您一定会喜欢菊石,这种产自加拿大阿尔伯塔省南部的宝石,是带有虹彩的石化菊石壳体。

在地球还是一整块大陆、没有森林或哺乳动物的时候,菊石群就已经在特提斯洋中捕食了。这种类似鱿鱼的生物,长着锋利的喙状嘴巴,这些嘴巴隐藏在环状触角中,随时准备捕食猎物。


然而,跟恐龙一样,大约在 6600 万年前,菊石便灭绝了。究其原因,可能是小行星撞击地球和气候变冷造成的。
数千年之后,米克糕菊石 (Placenticeras meeki) 和交替糕菊石 (P. intercalare) 这两个菊石物种,便慢慢演变成带有惊艳颜色的化石,即“菊石”。美国原住民为菊石绚丽的颜色所着迷,他们将菊石佩戴在身上,希望在猎捕水牛时能给他们带来好运。

嵌在岩石中的菊石。 
由 Korite International(克里特国际)捐赠

菊石大多为绿色和红色。蓝色和紫色的菊石非常罕见,因此往往价格也更高。菊石常被描述为断裂的、或呈片状的。断裂的菊石酷似彩色玻璃;而片状菊石则为颜色连续的一整块。这样多样性的外观得到了许多令人回味的名字:龙皮(图案类似鳞片)、鹅卵石(图案类似鹅卵石路)、月光(带条纹或裂痕的发光体)、以及画笔(如同画笔笔触)。

Carolyn Tyler(卡罗琳·泰勒)设计的菊石胸针

片状菊石通常用聚合物灌注,以稳定其薄薄的表层。由于表层很薄,因此大多时候菊石会被制成二层石或三层石。菊石在制成二层石时,通常以页岩、黑玛瑙或玻璃等物质衬底。有时还会在顶层添加合成尖晶石或石英,制成三层石。

菊石常常被制成吊坠、胸针和耳饰,有时也作为艺术品出售。其摩氏硬度仅为 3.5,并非坚硬的宝石,易受刮擦。此外,热量和化学物质(如酸、香水和发胶)也会对它造成破坏。因此,强烈建议大家仅使用湿润、柔软、不会带来划痕的布清洁菊石。

Ammolite: The Fashionable Fossil

Pieces of Ammolite resemble stained glass. Courtesy of Korite International.

If like gemstones with provenance, then you’re going to love ammolite - iridescent fossilized ammonite shells found in Southern Alberta, Canada.

When the earth had only one continent with no forests or mammals, schools of ammonites hunted in the Tethys Ocean. Squid-like creatures with sharp, beak-like jaws buried in a ring of tentacles, ammonites ate what they could catch.

View Gallery

Ammonites suffered the same fate as the dinosaurs – they became extinct about 66 million years ago. An asteroid striking the earth and the cooling climate likely caused their demise.
As countless millennia passed, two species of ammonites – Placenticeras meeki and P. intercalare – slowly turned into stunningly colored fossils called Ammolite. Their brilliant colors enchanted Native Americans who wore them to bring good luck while hunting buffalo.

Ammolite embedded in rock. 
Gift of Korite International

Most Ammolite is green and red. Blue and violet Ammolite is more unusual, and typically more valuable. It is described as either fractured or sheet. Fractured Ammolite resembles stained glass; sheet Ammolite is an unbroken piece where the colors are continuous. Evocative names are used to describe its diversity of appearance: dragon skin (patterns resembling scales), cobblestone (patterns resembling a cobblestone road), moonglow (luminescent with few lines or fractures), and paint brush (looks like strokes of paint).

An Ammolite broach by Carolyn Tyler

Sheet Ammolite is typically impregnated with a polymer to stabilize its thin surface layer. Because the layers are thin, Ammolite is almost always assembled into a doublet or triplet. Ammolite is often backed with a material like shale, black onyx, or glass to form a doublet. Sometimes a top layer of synthetic spinel or quartz is added to form a triplet.

Ammolite is often fashioned into pendants, brooches, and earrings, and sometimes sold as objet d’art. It is not a hard stone, 3.5 on the Mohs scale, which means it can scratch easily. Heat and chemicals, like acid, perfume, and hairspray, can also damage it. It’s highly recommended that you use only a damp, soft, non-abrasive cloth to clean it.

Graduate Colored Stones

Explore the beauty of fantasy cuts with the Graduate Colored Stones
diploma program.
 
Learn More

Downton Abbey Jewelry

Negative space is a design technique that’s in style. Here’s how to add
it to your toolbox.
 
Read More

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Summer 2016 Edition
Learn more