版权和商标



版权和商标

最后更新时间:2015 年 12 月 22 日

跳转至:

版权和商标声明
名称、商标和版权
在广告中使用 GIA 名称
     允许的使用方式
     不允许的使用方式
认证
GIA 鉴定所证书使用准则
GIA 比色石证书
学业证书使用准则
     适用性
     一般使用
     文凭
     聘用引用
     名称、商标和版权
     未授权使用
GIA 超链接条款

 

版权和商标声明

版权所有 © 2002-2016 美国宝石研究院。 保留所有权利。 GIA、美国宝石研究院、GIA 印章、GIA 钻石鉴定精简版证书 (Diamond Dossier)、Facetware、《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology)、DiamondDock、GIA 印章徽标、研究宝石学家、DiamondCheck 徽标、GemKids 和 GemKids 徽标均为 GIA 的注册商标。

未经研究院的明确许可,GIA 不允许研究院以外的任何人使用其商标和徽标。

GIA 不反对您将其名称(并非徽标)用于描述性的非商标用途,前提是此使用不太可能造成混淆、错误、欺骗,或造成 GIA 与您或任何其他非 GIA 实体或其产品有隶属关系、有联系、有关联、由其批准或由其赞助的假象。

使用 GIA 校友会商标必须遵守使用条款以及此处和 GIA 校友会识别项目徽标和图形使用指南中描述的版权和商标使用要求。 如需索要指南副本,请发送电子邮件至 alumni@gia.edu

要请求使用知识产权作品,请写信给 GIA 或发送电子邮件至 guidelines@gia.edu

名称、商标和版权

与大多数组织一样,GIA 的名称和徽标亦具有法律效力且受法律保护,除非符合本文件所述,否则不能在您的广告宣传中使用。 此规则同样适用于我们的所有知识产权(包括所有 GIA 出版物、课程教材,以及由 GIA、GIA 鉴定所、GIA 仪器部门所印刷或拥有的其它资料),必须事先取得 GIA 的书面同意后才能使用。

GIA 为原创作者的版权作品由 GIA 所有,并由 GIA 提供许可,未经 GIA 事先书面同意,不得复制、转载、传播、展示、执行、分发、出租、再许可、修改、储存(供日后使用)或以其他方式全部或部分使用。

我们的商标具体包括(但不限于):GIA、美国宝石研究院、GIA 印章、GIA 钻石鉴定精简版证书 (Diamond Dossier)、Facetware、《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology)、DiamondDock、GIA 印章徽标、研究宝石学家、DiamondCheck 徽标、GemKids 以及 GemKids 徽标、“Quality, Precision and Innovation Since 1934”(品质、精准和创新,始于 1934 年)、“The World's Foremost Authority in Gemology”(世界上最重要的宝石学权威)和“Ensuring the Public Trust Through Nonprofit Service Since 1931”(自 1931 年以来确保通过非营利服务赢取公众信任)。

我们的版权作品具体包括(但不限于):GIA 教材、出版物、设计、文本和视觉图像、音频和视频记录、《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 杂志、Loupe GIA 国际新闻、GIA Insider、AlumConnect、钻石鉴定证书 (Diamond Grading Report)(含切工信息)、钻石鉴定证书(不含切工信息)、彩色钻石鉴定证书 (Colored Diamond Grading Report)、GIA 钻石鉴定精简版证书 (Diamond Dossier)(含切工信息)、GIA 钻石鉴定精简版证书 (Diamond Dossier)(不含切工信息)、鉴定证书 (Identification Reports)、彩色钻石色彩成因鉴定证书 (Colored Diamond Identification and Origin)、合成钻石鉴定证书 (Synthetic Diamond Grading Report)(含切工信息)、合成钻石鉴定证书 (Synthetic Diamond Grading Report)(不含切工信息)、合成彩色钻石分级报告 (Synthetic Colored Diamond Grading Report)、合成彩色钻石报告 (Synthetic Colored Diamond Report)、珍珠鉴定报告 (Pearl Identification Report)、珍珠分类报告 (Pearl Classification Report)、钻石类型证书 (Diamond Type Report)、高级分析报告 (Advanced Analysis Report)。

如需请求使用知识产权,请写信给 GIA 或发送电子邮件至 guidelines@gia.edu

要使用来自 GIA 网站的内容,请仔细阅读我们的使用条款


在广告中使用 GIA 名称

允许的使用方式

如果引用行为不会造成混淆、错误、欺骗或暗示 GIA 与引用资料的组织或其产品有隶属关系、有联系、有关联,则任何人都可以如实按原文引用 GIA 及其教育、研究、鉴定所服务、学业证书、分级和鉴定证书的内容。

GIA 允许公司声明其出售的某些宝石曾送交 GIA 进行鉴定或分级。 公司亦可声明自己允许客户在购买前检查 GIA 证书,且在客户购买后向其提供证书,当然,此类声明不得有假、不得有误导性或欺骗性。


不允许的使用方式

以下这些例子是一些曾经在报纸、电话黄页广告文字、信纸的信头或名片中出现过的不允许使用的文字:

  • GIA 估价师

  • GIA 认证

  • GIA 认证钻石估价师

  • GIA 认证钻石

  • GIA 钻石

  • GIA 估价认证

  • GIA 认证估价师

  • 认证研究宝石学家

  • 美国宝石研究院会员

  • GIA 鉴定所会员


以上所有示例都表示 GIA 以某种形式批准或参与了这些个人或公司的业务,或者虚假和/或错误地描述了 GIA 所提供的服务。

认证

声明学生、毕业生、业务或特定宝石已获得 GIA 的“认证”是错误的说法。

GIA 不对任何人或任何事物进行认证。 获得 GIA 证书或文凭的学生或毕业生,或由 GIA 分级或鉴定的宝石均不得被视为已由 GIA “认证”。

GIA 鉴定所证书的使用准则

购买评级和鉴定服务的 GIA 客户和销售具有鉴定证书的产品的终端销售商,都可以复印其所拥有的产品证书。 这些复印件必须包含实际证书的全部组成部分和内容, 且不得进行任何形式的编辑或修改。

对于客户/销售商拥有的产品,您可以对它们的实际证书进行电子扫描,然后上传到网站上,或通过电子邮件传送。 图片必须包含实际证书的全部组成部分和内容, 且不得进行任何形式的编辑或修改。
 

GIA 比色石证书

可以推荐个人或组织使用由 GIA 分级的比色石颜色比较钻石来确定颜色等级。 本条款仅适用于由 GIA 分级并在“GIA 比色石证书 (GIA Master Diamonds Report)”中评定的钻石。

不得声称自己是依据 GIA 钻石鉴定证书 (GIA Diamond Grading Report) 或 GIA 钻石鉴定精简版证书 (Diamond Dossier®) 中的 GIA 颜色等级结果对钻石进行颜色分级。 在广告中使用时,参考钻石应描述为“由 GIA 分级作为比色石”。

学业证书的使用准则

适用性

使用准则适用于美国宝石研究院及其相关实体(统称为 GIA)当前和以前的所有学生。

全世界的宝石和珠宝专业人士都尊重 GIA 颁发的学业证书。 在宝石学、珠宝制造工艺和珠宝业务等领域,GIA 的证书和文凭象征着国际公认的最高教育标准。

GIA 文凭获得者在姓名后面添加相关学术头衔来表明自己的成就,是一种合理的惯例。 但是请注意,GIA 校友必须遵守特定的使用标准。

尽管以下示例没有引用研究院提供的任何文凭,但应该可帮助您确定如何遵守 GIA 学业证书的使用准则。

一般使用

您可以完整地复制和展示您的 GIA 文凭、证书或学业完成信。 请注意,在广告中使用 GIA 学业证明时,必须用于学业证明获颁者,且广告绝对不得以任何方式声明或暗示该刊登与 GIA 有关或受 GIA 认可。

仅可将 GIA 认可的文凭或学位列于名片之上。 已完成但未获得文凭的个别课程最好列在简历和履历中。

文凭

以下示例适用于研究宝石学家 (GG)、专业珠宝家 (AJP)、宝石学家、珠宝设计和技术 (JDT) 以及研究珠宝学家 (GJ) 等文凭:

  • John Doe(约翰·多伊),GIA 研究宝石学家;或者 John Doe(约翰·多伊),GIA GG

  • Jane Doe(简·多伊),GIA 专业珠宝家;或者 Jane Doe(简·多伊),GIA AJP

  • John Doe,GIA 宝石学家

  • Jane Doe(简·多伊),GIA 珠宝设计与技术;或者 Jane Doe(简·多伊),GIA JDT

  • John Doe(约翰·多伊),GIA 研究珠宝学家;或者 John Doe(约翰·多伊),GIA GJ

  • Jane Doe,GIA GG, GJ

以下示例适用于钻石文凭、有色宝石文凭和珍珠文凭:

  • Jane Doe,GIA 钻石文凭

  • John Doe,GIA 有色宝石文凭

  • Jane Doe,GIA 珍珠文凭


以下示例适用于应用珠宝艺术 (AJA) 文凭和珠宝业务管理 (JBM) 文凭:

  • John Doe(约翰·多伊),GIA 应用珠宝艺术;或者 John Doe(约翰·多伊),GIA AJA

  • Jane Doe(简·多伊),GIA 珠宝业务管理;或者 Jane Doe(简·多伊),GIA JBM

聘用声明

公司可以声明自己的员工队伍中包括 GIA 研究宝石学家、专业珠宝家、宝石学家、研究珠宝学家或珠宝设计与技术毕业生,但必须确保此类声明是准确的,且公司同意应 GIA 或其他人员要求来配合对此进行任何核验。

名称、商标和版权

与大多数机构的名称和徽标一样,GIA 的名称和徽标是有效的商标,因此不得在您的广告中使用,除非此处另有说明。 此规定同样适用于印刷或在线形式的 GIA 版权资料(包括所有 GIA 出版物、课程资料、第三方出版物中的文章和 GIA 使用的某些印刷资料)。 这些仅可在获得 GIA 事先书面批准后方可使用。

未经事先书面同意,不得在您的广告中使用的 GIA 商标和版权材料的部分具体实例包括:

  • GIA(美国宝石研究院)及其徽标

  • GIA 分级和鉴定证书,包括但不限于 GIA 钻石鉴定证书、GIA 钻石鉴定精简版证书®、GIA 鉴定证书和 GIA 彩色钻石色彩成因鉴定证书。 如果证书针对的是客户/销售商拥有的产品,则允许使用此类证书

  • GIA Facetware® 徽标

  • 任何媒介的 GIA 教育资料和出版物,包括但不限于出版物、网页、视频或音频

  • 印刷或在线形式的《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology®) 季刊及其徽标

未经授权的使用

此类行为是指在未授权的情况下使用 GIA 的名称,暗示 GIA 和/或其附属机构直接或间接地认证、赞助或批准了任何个人或私营业务,包括其雇员、产品、服务和定价。 声明学生、毕业生、业务或特定宝石已获得 GIA 的“认证”是错误的说法。 美国宝石研究院不对任何人或任何事物进行认证。 获得 GIA 证书或文凭的学生或毕业生,或由 GIA 分级或鉴定的宝石均不得被视为已由 GIA“认证”。

不被接受的使用包括:GIA 认证、GIA 认证钻石估价师、 GIA 认证钻石、GIA 钻石、GIA 估价认证、认证研究宝石学家、美国宝石研究院会员、GIA 鉴定所会员。

GIA 是教育和研究机构,并未获准参加或支持私营业务。 GIA 亦必须避免给人留下从事此类活动的印象,避免自己在监管和认证部门的形象受损。

GIA 不允许在第三方域名中使用其任何商标。 任何在钻石、珠宝、教育和相关领域的网站域名中使用 GIA 的行为,都将构成对 GIA 商标的侵犯。

不允许使用 Facetware® 徽标。 希望通过引用 GIA Facetware® 切工评估仪来评估切工等级的人员可以作出如下声明:“切工等级使用 GIA Facetware® 切工评估仪确定。”完整信息请查看 Facetware 使用条款

要请求使用此处未述及的知识产权作品,请发送电子邮件至 guidelines@gia.edu
 

GIA 超链接条件

上次更新时间:2013 年 2 月 4 日

如果您同意下述链接条件,则可在其他网站上提供指向本网站的链接。 建立指向 GIA 网站的链接即表明您同意以下链接条件:

  1. 该链接由超文本链接组成,或者使用“了解有关 GIA 的更多信息”链接按钮(带有 GIA 提供的图像和文本);

  2. 您确认 GIA 随时可能会修改图像和文本;

  3. 除了为提供指向 GIA 网站的超链接而在您的网站上使用链接按钮的有限、非独家、不可转让、免版税的许可外,您确认并同意 (i) GIA 的商标、名称和链接按钮(包括但不限于熟悉的“GIA”标志和“GIA trio 徽标”(统称“标志”))、GIA 的网站及其内容仍然是 GIA 的专有财产;(ii) 这些条件中的任何内容均不赋予您对标志、链接按钮或 GIA 网站的所有权;(iii) 您现在和将来均不得质疑标志的有效性;(iv) 您不得采取任何有损于与标志、链接按钮或 GIA 形象和信誉相关联的价值和商誉的行动;(v) 您不得以任何可能具有误导性的方式使用链接按钮;

  4. 您不会使用链接或链接按钮来贬损 GIA 及其服务;

  5. 链接按钮的外观、位置和其他方面不得失实表示您与 GIA 的关系,或表示有关 GIA 及其服务的虚假或误导性印象;

  6. 链接按钮的外观、位置和其他方面不得造成您或任何非 GIA 实体或任何非 GIA 产品或服务与 GIA 相关联或受其认可或赞助的假象;

  7. 链接在被用户激活时必须全屏显示本网站而不是显示在所链接网站的“框架”中,也不得使用会改动 GIA 网站视觉表现形式或内容的其他技术,例如强行显示浏览器窗口或第三方内容;

  8. 链接按钮只能在您的网站上使用,而不能用于任何其他目的,包括但不限于对您网站的推广、广告或宣传;

  9. 链接按钮必须显示在提及 GIA 的位置附近或同一页的底部;

  10. 您不得以任何方式修改或变更链接按钮,包括颜色、大小、比例等, 或以动画显示或变更其角度;

  11. 您不得偏离或编辑按钮附带的任何技术代码;

  12. 链接网站不能包含可能被理解为不雅或令人不快的材料,而且应该适合所有年龄的人群;

  13. GIA 有权随时有理由或无理由终止本协议,并且可以随时修改本协议而不另行通知;

  14. 您同意捍卫、保护和保障 GIA、其受托人、高管、员工和代理在因您违反本协议或您指向 GIA 网站的超链接而造成的任何索赔、要求、损害、起诉理由、损失或判决中免受损失。

您明确同意自行承担使用 GIA 的材料、标志、链接按钮和网站的风险。 GIA 对其服务将不中断或无错误不做任何保证,GIA “按现状”提供此访问而不做任何保证。 GIA 明确免除所有明示或默示的保证,包括但不限于对适销性的默示保证、对具体用途的适用性的默示保证和对非侵权的保证。 在任何情况下,GIA 都不会对任何直接、间接、偶然、特殊或后果性损害承担责任,包括但不限于因本协议或使用本协议项下的任何材料、标志或链接按钮或访问本协议中所述的任何服务而引起或造成的利润损失、数据损失、业务损失或其他损失,即使 GIA 已被告知可能发生此类损害。 无论 GIA 是否有过失,也无论此类责任是在合同、疏忽、侵权或任何理论责任方面,上述条款均应适用。

GIA 保留自行决定随时通过修改这些超链接条件来撤销同意该链接的权利。

您同意,由这些条款引起或与这些条款和 GIA 网站上发布的任何内容(包括副本及其再发布)相关的任何争议,无论是基于合同、侵权、法令还是其他法律,除了与法律规定冲突之处以外,均由加利福尼亚州的法律管辖。 您进一步同意,位于加利福尼亚州圣迭戈县 (SAN DIEGO) 并为该地区服务的联邦和州法院拥有属人管辖权,其专属场地是解决所有此类争议的法律论坛。

使用链接按钮或文字建立指向 GIA 网站的链接,即表明您同意 GIA 链接条件。




 

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 2016 年春季刊
了解更多 (用英语)

Copyrights and Trademarks

Copyrights and Trademarks

Last Updated 6/27/2014

COPYRIGHTS AND TRADEMARK NOTICES

Copyright © 2014 Gemological Institute of America. All rights reserved. GIA, Gemological Institute of America, the GIA seal, GIA Diamond Dossier, Facetware, and the GIA trio logo are the registered trademarks of GIA.

GIA does not permit anyone outside of the Institute to make trademark use of its trademarks and logos.

GIA does not object to your making descriptive, non-trademark use of its name (but not logos), provided that the use is not likely to cause confusion, mistake, deception, or create the false impression that you or any other non-GIA entity or its product is affiliated with, connected to, associated with, approved by, or sponsored by GIA.

Use of GIA Alumni Association trademarks must comply with the terms of use and copyrights and trademarks usage described herein and in the GIA Alumni Association Identity Program Logo and Graphic Usage Guidelines. To request a copy of the guidelines, email alumni@gia.edu

NAMES, TRADEMARKS AND COPYRIGHTS

GIA's names and logos, like those of most organizations, are valid trademarks and service marks and as such may not be used in your advertising except as described here. The same is true for all of our intellectual property (including all GIA publications, our educational course materials and certain reports and other materials created and/or owned by GIA, the GIA Laboratory, and GIA Instruments) which may be used only by obtaining prior written consent from GIA and by giving copyright credit to GIA.

Copyrighted works of GIA authorship are owned or licensed by GIA, and may not be copied, reproduced, transmitted, displayed, performed, distributed, rented, sublicensed, altered, stored for subsequent use or otherwise used in whole or in part in any manner without GIA's prior express written consent.

Some specific examples of our trademarks include, but are not limited to: GIA, Gemological Institute of America, the GIA seal, GIA Diamond Dossier, the GIA Trio logo, Gems & Gemology, Facetware, DiamondDock, Gem Trade Laboratory, the Gem Trade Laboratory Trio logo, the Gem Trade Laboratory seal, "The Hallmark of Integrity Since 1949," GTL, GEM, the Gem Instruments Trio logo, the Gem Instruments seal, "Quality, Precision and Innovation Since 1934," "The World's Foremost Authority in Gemology," and "Ensuring the Public Trust through Nonprofit Service since 1931.” 

Some specific examples of our copyrighted works include, but are not limited to: GIA Educational Materials, Publications, Design, Text and Visual Images, Audio and Video Recordings, Gems & Gemology journal, The Loupe GIA World News, GIA Insider, AlumConnect, Diamond Grading Report with Cut, Diamond Grading Report No Cut, Colored Diamond Grading Report, GIA Diamond Dossier with Cut, GIA Diamond Dossier No Cut, Identification Reports, Colored Diamond Identification and Origin, Synthetic Diamond Grading Report with Cut, Synthetic Diamond Grading Report No Cut, Synthetic Colored Diamond Grading Report, Synthetic Colored Diamond Report, Pearl Identification Report, Pearl Classification Report, Diamond Type Report, Advanced Analysis Report.

FOR INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY USAGE REQUESTS, please write to GIA or email guidelines@gia.edu


USING THE GIA NAME IN ADVERTISING

Acceptable Usage

Anyone is free to make truthful and factual textual references to GIA and its education, research, laboratory services, academic credentials, and grading and identification reports, provided such references are not likely to cause confusion, mistake, or deception, or imply an affiliation with, connection to, or association between GIA and the organization making the references or its products.

It is permissible for a company to state that some of the gems it sells have been sent to GIA for identification or grading. Companies may also state that GIA reports are available for customers' inspection prior to purchase and given to them upon purchase, provided, of course, that such statements are in no manner false, misleading, or deceptive.


Unacceptable Usage

The following are examples of unacceptable usage which have appeared, either in newspapers, in telephone yellow pages advertising text, on stationery letterhead, or on business cards:

  • GIA Appraiser
  • GIA Certified
  • GIA Certified Diamond Appraiser
  • GIA Certified Diamonds
  • GIA Diamond
  • Certified GIA Appraisals
  • Certified GIA Appraiser
  • Certified Graduate Gemologist
  • Member, Gemological Institute of America
  • Member, GIA Laboratory


Each of the above examples implies some form of GIA approval of or GIA involvement in the business of the individual or firm using the statements or falsely and/or erroneously describes the services offered by GIA.

CERTIFICATION

It is incorrect to state that students, graduates, their businesses, or particular gemstones are "certified" by GIA.

The Gemological Institute of America does not certify anyone or anything. Neither a student nor a graduate who has been awarded a certificate or diploma, nor a gem which has been graded or identified by GIA has been "certified" by GIA.

USAGE GUIDELINES FOR GIA LABORATORY REPORTS

GIA clients who purchase grading and identification services and end users who may sell products with such reports may reproduce an actual report for a product the client/seller owns. It must represent the composition and content of the actual report. It may not be edited or altered in any manner.

You may electronically scan and mount on your website or transmit via email an actual report for a product the client/seller owns. The image must represent the composition and content of the actual report. It may not be edited or altered in any manner.
 

GIA MASTER DIAMONDS REPORT

It is acceptable to promote that an individual or organization is using master color comparison diamonds graded by GIA for color grading. This provision applies only to diamonds graded by GIA and referenced in a "GIA Master Diamonds Report." It is not acceptable to claim that color grading is being conducted against a diamond based on GIA's color grade finding in a GIA Diamond Grading Report or a GIA Diamond Dossier®. When used for advertising, the reference diamonds should be described as "Graded as Master Stones by GIA."
 

USAGE GUIDELINES FOR ACADEMIC CREDENTIALS 

Applicability

Usage guidelines apply to all current and former students of the Gemological Institute of America, Inc. and its related entities (collectively referred to as GIA).

Academic credentials earned at GIA are respected by gem and jewelry professionals around the world. They are the internationally recognized symbol of the highest standard of education in the fields of gemology, jewelry manufacturing arts, and jewelry business.

It is appropriate and customary for recipients of GIA diplomas to signal their achievement by appending the relevant academic designation to the end of their name. It should be noted, however, that GIA alumni are required to abide by specific standards of usage.

Although the following examples do not reference every diploma offered by the Institute, they should help you determine how GIA’s Usage Guidelines for Academic Credentials apply to you.

General Usage

You may reproduce and display your GIA diploma, certificate, or letter of completion in its entirety. Note that when a credential is advertised, it must be used in association with the recipient’s name, and the advertisement must not in any way state or imply an affiliation with, or endorsement by GIA.

Only the acknowledgement of a diploma or degree from GIA should be placed on business cards. Individual coursework that is completed but does not result in a diploma is best listed on résumés and curriculum vitae.

Diplomas

The following examples refer to the Graduate Gemologist (GG), Accredited Jewelry Professional (AJP), Gemologist, Jewelry Design & Technology ( JDT), and Graduate Jeweler (GJ) diplomas:

  • John Doe, GIA Graduate Gemologist, or John Doe, GIA GG
  • Jane Doe, GIA Accredited Jewelry Professional, or Jane Doe, GIA AJP
  • John Doe, GIA Gemologist
  • Jane Doe, GIA Jewelry Design & Technology, or Jane Doe, GIA JDT
  • John Doe, GIA Graduate Jeweler, or John Doe, GIA GJ
  • Jane Doe, GIA GG, GJ

The following examples refer to the Graduate Diamonds, Graduate Colored Stones, and Graduate Pearls diplomas:

  • Jane Doe, GIA Diamonds Graduate
  • John Doe, GIA Colored Stones Graduate
  • Jane Doe, GIA Pearls Graduate


The following examples refer to the Applied Jewelry Arts (AJA) diploma, the Jewelry Business Management ( JBM) diploma and the Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) degree:

  • John Doe, GIA Applied Jewelry Arts, or John Doe, GIA AJA
  • Jane Doe, GIA Jewelry Business Management, or Jane Doe, GIA JBM
  • John Doe, Bachelor of Business Administration, or John Doe, BBA
     

Employment Citations

Companies may state that they have GIA Graduate Gemologists, Accredited Jewelry Professionals, Gemologists, Graduate Jewelers, or Jewelry Design & Technology graduates on staff, provided that such statements are accurate and companies agree to cooperate with any verification that may be requested by GIA or others.

Names, Trademarks, and Copyrights

GIA’s names and logos, like those of most organizations, are valid trademarks and as such may not be used in your advertising except as described herein. The same is true for GIA’s copyrighted materials that appear in print or online, including all GIA publications, course materials, articles appearing in third party publications, and certain printed forms used by GIA. These may be used only by obtaining prior written consent from GIA.

Some specific examples of GIA’s trademarks and copyrighted material that may NOT be used in your advertising without prior consent are:

  • GIA (Gemological Institute of America) and its logo
  • GIA Grading and Identification Reports, including but not limited to GIA Diamond Grading Report, GIA Diamond Dossier®,GIA Identification Report, and GIA Colored Diamond Identification and Origin Report. Use is acceptable if the report is for a product that the client/seller owns
  • GIA Facetware®logo
  • GIA educational materials and publications in any medium including but not limited to print, web, video, or audio
  • Gems & Gemology® quarterly journal and its logo, in print or online

Unauthorized Usage

It is an unauthorized use of GIA’s name to imply that GIA and/or its subsidiaries directly or indirectly certify, sponsor, or approve any individual or private business including its employees, products, services, and pricing. It is incorrect to state that students, graduates, their businesses, or particular gemstones are “certified” by GIA. The Gemological Institute of America does not certify anyone or anything. Neither a student nor a graduate who has been awarded a certificate or diploma, nor a gem that has been graded or identified by GIA has been “certified” by GIA.

Examples of unacceptable usage include: GIA Certified; GIA Certified Diamond Appraiser; GIA Certified Diamonds; GIA Diamond; Certified GIA Appraisals; Certified Graduate Gemologist; Member, Gemological Institute of America; Member, GIA Laboratory.

Because GIA is an educational and research institution, it is not allowed to participate in, or endorse, private business. GIA must also avoid the appearance of doing so, or its standing with the regulating and accrediting authorities could be jeopardized.

GIA does not permit the use of any of its trademarks in third-party domain names. Any use of GIA in a website domain name in the fields of diamonds, jewelry, education and related fields would constitute infringement of the GIA marks.

The use of the Facetware® logo is not permitted. Those who wish to reference the use of the GIA Facetware® Cut Estimator in estimating a cut grade may reference it by stating the following: “Cut grade was formulated using the GIA Facetware® Cut Estimator.” For complete information, please see the Facetware terms of use.

For intellectual property usage requests that are not covered here, please email guidelines@gia.edu
 

GIA HYPERLINK CONDITIONS      

Last Updated 02/04/2013

You may provide a link to this website on another website, provided you agree to the Link conditions described below. By establishing a link to a GIA website you agree to these link conditions.

  1. that the link consists of a hypertext link or a link using the "To learn more about GIA" link button with image and text supplied by GIA;
  2. that you acknowledge that GIA may modify images and text at any time;
  3. that except for a limited, non-exclusive, non-transferable, royalty-free license to use the link button on your website solely for the purpose of providing a hyperlink to GIA's website, you acknowledge and agree that (i) GIA's trademarks, name and linking button, including, but not limited to, the familiar "GIA" mark and "GIA trio logo" (collectively, the "Marks"), GIA's website and its contents are and shall remain the sole property of GIA, (ii) nothing in these conditions shall give you any right of ownership in the Marks, link button or GIA's website; (iii) you shall not now or in the future contest the validity of the Marks; and (iv) you shall not take any action that would impair the value or goodwill associated with the Marks, link button or GIA's image or reputation; (v) you shall not use the link button in any way that might be misleading;
  4. that you will not use the link or link button to disparage GIA and its services;
  5. that the appearance, position and other aspects of the link button may not be such as to misrepresent your relationship with GIA, or present false or misleading impressions about GIA or its services;
  6. that the appearance, position and other aspects of the link button may not create the false appearance that you or any non-GIA entity or any non- GIA product or service is associated with, or endorsed, or sponsored by GIA;
  7. that the link, when activated by a user, must display this website full-screen and not with a "frame" on the linked website or with other techniques which alter the visual presentation or content of GIA's website, such as the imposition of browser windows or third party content;
  8. that the link button may only be used on your website, and not for any other purpose including, but not limited to promotion, advertising or publicity for your website;
  9. that the link button must be displayed adjacent to a reference to GIA or at the bottom of that same page;
  10. that you may not alter or change the link button in any way, including color, size, proportions, etc. or animate or change its perspective;
  11. that you may not deviate or edit any of the technical code that accompanies the button;
  12. that the linking website may not contain materials that may be interpreted as distasteful or offensive and should be appropriate for all age groups;
  13. that GIA has the right to terminate this Agreement with or without cause at any time, and may amend this Agreement without notice at any time;
  14. that you agree to defend, indemnify and hold GIA, its trustees, officers, employees and agents from and against any claims, demands, damages, causes of action, loss or judgments arising from your breach of this Agreement or your hyperlink to GIA's website.

YOU EXPRESSLY AGREE THAT THE USE OF GIA'S MATERIALS, MARKS, LINK BUTTON AND WEB SITE IS AT YOUR SOLE RISK. GIA DOES NOT WARRANT THAT ITS SERVICE WILL BE UNINTERRUPTED OR ERROR FREE, GIA PROVIDES THIS ACCESS "AS IS" WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND. GIA DISCLAIMS ALL WARRANTIES, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE IMPLIED WARRANTY OF MERCHANTABILITY, IMPLIED WARRANTY OF FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND WARRANTY OF NONINFRINGEMENT. IN NO EVENT WILL GIA BE LIABLE FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, LOSS OF PROFIT, LOSS OF DATA, LOSS OF BUSINESS OR OTHER LOSS ARISING OUT OF OR RESULTING FROM THIS AGREEMENT OR THE USE OF ANY OF THE MATERIALS, MARKS OR LINK BUTTON UNDER THIS AGREEMENT OR ACCESS TO ANY OF THE SERVICES DESCRIBED IN THIS AGREEMENT EVEN IF GIA HAS BEEN ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES. THE FOREGOING SHALL APPLY REGARDLESS OF THE NEGLIGENCE OF GIA AND REGARDLESS OF WHETHER SUCH LIABILITY IS FOUND IN CONTRACTS, NEGLIGENCE, TORT OR ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY.

GIA reserves the right to revoke its consent to the link at any time in its sole discretion by amending these Hyperlink conditions.

You agree that any dispute arising out of or relating to these Terms or any content posted to the GIA website including copies and republication thereof, whether based in contract, tort, statutory or other law, will be governed by the laws of the State of California, excluding its conflicts of law provisions. You further consent to the personal jurisdiction of and exclusive venue in the federal and state courts located in and serving SAN DIEGO County, California as the legal forum for any such dispute.

By establishing a link to the GIA website, either with a link button or text, you agree to the GIA Link conditions.



 

Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Starry Night Sapphire
Learn More
Koi Fish Wallace Chan
G&G Spring 2014 Edition
Learn more